Spotlight on January’s New Releases

Welcome to 2014 and the newest edition of our monthly feature that looks at the books releasing this month and offers up our top picks and opinions. We have chosen 24 of the most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability. Also, check the Calendar to see when many of these books will be reviewed on the blog. Now, on to the books!

 (7) Before Jamaica Lane (7) Bitter Spirits (7) Cemetery Girl (7) Dark Duets (7) Diamonds & Deceit (7) Dreams of the Golden Age

Before Jamaice Lane by Samantha Young (#3 in On Dublin Street) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by NAL {Our Review}
Bitter Spirits by Jenn Bennett (#1 in Roaring Twenties) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Berkley {Our Review}
The Pretenders by Charlaine Harris and Christopher Golden (#1 in The Cemetery Girl Trilogy) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by InkLit
Dark Duets by Christopher Golden et. al – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by HarperCollins {Our Review}
Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed (#2 in At Somerton) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion {Our Review}
Dreams of the Golden Age by Carrie Vaughn (#2 in Golden Age) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Tor Books

*********************************************************************

(7) Erased (7) Forsaken (7) Fury of the Demon (7) Guilded Hearts (7) Iron Night (7) Pecan Pies and Homicides

Erased by Jennifer Rush (#2 in Altered) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Forsaken by Jacquelyn Frank (#3 in The World of the Nightwalkers) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Ballantine Books {Our Review}
Fury of the Demon by Diana Rowland (#6 in Kara Gillian) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by DAW
Gilded Hearts by Christine D’Abo (#1 in The Shadow Guild) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Forever Yours {Our Review}
Iron Night by M.L. Brennan (#2 in American Vampire) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Roc
Pecan Pies and Homicide by Ellery Adams (#3 in The Charmed Pie Shoppe Mysteries)- Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Berkley {Our Review}

*********************************************************************

(7) The Destiny of Violet & Luke (7) The Line (21) Avalon (21) Dirty Magic (21) Live (21) Snowblind

The Destiny of Violet & Luke by Jessica Sorensen (#3 in The Coincidence) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by Forever {Our Review}
The Line by J.D. Horn (#1 in Witching Savannah) – Expected publication: January 7th 2014 by 47North {Our Review}
Avalon by Mindee Arnett (#1 in Avalon) – Expected publication: January 21st 2014 by Balzer & Bray {Our Review}
Dirty Magic by Jaye Wells (#1 in Propero’s War) – Expected publication: January 21st 2014 by Orbit {Our Review}
Live by Mary Ann Rivers (#1 in Burnside) – Expected publication: January 21st 2014 by Loveswept {Our Review}
Snowblind by Christopher Golden – Expected publication: January 21st 2014 by St. Martin’s Press {Our Review}

*********************************************************************

(23) The Crane Wife (28) Into the Still Blue (28) Circle of Fire (28) The Unbound (28) Up From the Grave (28) Wakeworld

The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness – Expected publication: January 23rd 2014 by Penguin Press HC
Into the Still Blue by Veronica Rossi (#3 in Under the Never Sky) – Expected publication: January 28th 2014 by HarperCollins
Circle of Fire by Keri Arthur (#1 in Damask Circle) – Expected publication: January 28th 2014 by Dell {Our Review}
The Unbound by Victoria Schwab (#2 in The Archived) – Expected publication: January 28th 2014 by Hyperion
Up From the Grave by Jeaniene Frost (#7 in Night Huntress) – Expected publication: January 28th 2014 by Avon
Wakeworld by Kerry Schafer (#2 in The Between) – Expected publication: January 28th 2014 by Ace

*********************************************************************

[box color=grey] AHAH: My picks for January are Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed, a kind of Downton Abbey/Upstairs, Downstairs for YA readers; Forsaken by Jacquelyn Frank, book #3 in the World of the NightwalkersDirty Magic by Jaye Wells, a really cool, new, and fresh urban fantasy; and Circle of Fire by Keri Arthur, a new urban fantasy series by Keri Arthur.[/box]
[box color=grey]christalCHRISTAL: This year is starting off with a bang for me!  I’m super excited for the newest Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery, Pecan Pies and Homicides, and the long-awaited Cat & Bones novel from Jeaniene Frost, Up From the Grave.  Christopher Golden has his hands on three different books releasing this month that I will be checking out, Cemetery Girl, Dark Duets, and Snowblind.  I’ve already had the chance to read Dirty Magic, Avalon, and Before Jamaica Lane and they are all fab!  Look for reviews coming soon.  The new series books that I am most excited for are Wakeworld, The Line, and Gilded Hearts.[/box]
[box color=grey]reginaREGINA: I am very excited for a few January releases!  Live by Mary Ann Rivers – I loved Rivers’ novella The Story Guy. She writes in a witty way that makes me feel like I am reading about my friends.  I can’t wait to dig into this new series of hers.  Dark Duets by Christopher Golden et. al – This anthology has such a great line-up — Rachel Caine, Jonathan Maberry, Charlaine Harris (willing to give her another try!), Cassandra Clare, Sherrilyn Kenyon and many many others.  It is described as a tale of horror and dark fantasy — sign me up.  The Crane Wife by Patrick Nes – Basically anything Ness writes I want to read.  I love his Chaos Walking trilogy and I loved A Monster Calls.  Here, Ness ventures into a new arena writing about adults in a contemporary setting. The novel is based on a Japanese folk tail and infuses the story with the magical.  I cannot wait!  Cemetery Girl by Charlaine Harris and Christopher Golden – I sadly admit to being intrigued by this series.  Maybe because it is new and fresh and it is team written it will be better than the last few Sookie books?[/box]

© 2014, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.

Comments 2