Spotlight on April’s New Releases

April Spotlight

Welcome to our monthly feature where we take a look at the books releasing in April and offer up our top picks and opinions. We have chosen 40 of our most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability. Now, on to the books!

 

1 Dorothy Must Die 1 Ghost Seer 1 Love Letters to the Dead 1 Silence for the Dead 1 Stolen Songbird

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige (#1 in Dorothy Must Die) – Expected Publication: April 14th 2014 by Pocket Star
Ghost Seer by Robin D. Owens (#1 in Ghost Seer) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Berkley
Love Letters to the Dead by Ava Dellaira – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Silence for the Dead by Simone St. James – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by NAL Trade
Stolen Songbird by Danielle E. Jensen (#1 in The Malediction Trilogy) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Strange Chemistry {Our Review}

*********************************************************************

1 Takes Me 1 The King 1 The Ophelia Prophecy 1 The Sweetheart Rules 1 This Side of Salvation

Every Part of You: Takes Me by Megan Hart (#5 in Every Part of You) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by St. Martin’s Griffin
The King by J.R. Ward (#12 in Black Dagger Brotherhood) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Penguin Group
The Ophelia Prophecy by Sharon Lynn Fisher – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Tor Books
The Sweetheart Rules by Shirley Jump (#2 in Sweetheart Sisters) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Berkley
This Side of Salvation by Jeri Smith-Ready – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Simon Pulse

*********************************************************************

1 Under Nameless Stars 1 Wild Wolf 8 Dreams of Gods and Monsters 8 Far From You 8 Rebel Belle

Under Nameless Stars by Christian Schoon (#2 in Zenn Scarlett) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Strange Chemistry
Wild Wolf by Jennifer Ashley (#6 in Shifters Unbound) – Expected publication: April 1st 2014 by Berkley
Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor (#3 in Daughter of Smoke & Bone) – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Little, Brown & Company
Far From You by Tess Sharpe – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins (#1 in Rebel Belle) – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Putnam Juvenile

*********************************************************************

8 The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf 8 The Will 8 The Word Exchange 8 Toxic Heart 10 Pointe

The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina (#1 in The Tribe) – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Candlewick Press
The Will by Kristen Ashley (#1 in Magdalene) – Expected publication: April 8th 2014
The Word Exchange by Alena Graedon – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Doubleday
Toxic Heart by Theo Lawrence (#2 in Mystic City) – Expected publication: April 8th 2014 by Delacorte Press
Pointe by Brandy Colbert – Expected publication: April 10th 2014 by Penguin

*********************************************************************

14 Silver Skin 15 Don't Look Back 15 Frozen 15 Hard Time 15 Her Best Laid Plans

Silver Skin by D.L. McDermott (#2 in Cold Iron) – Expected publication: April 14th 2014 by Pocket Star
Don’t Look Back by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Frozen by Erin Bowman (#2 in Taken) – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by HarperTeen
Hard Time by Cara McKenna – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by InterMix
Her Best Laid Plans by Cara McKenna – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by Cosmo Red Hot Reads

*********************************************************************

15 Nightmare Ink 15 Nova and Quinton No Regrets 15 Sunrise 15 The Forever Song 22 Expiration Day

Nightmare Ink by Marcella Burnard (#1 in Living Ink) – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by InterMix
Nova and Quinton: No Regrets by Jessica Sorensen (#3 in Nova) – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by Grand Central Publishing
Sunrise by Mike Mullin (#3 in Ashfall) – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by Tanglewood Press {Our Review}
The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa (#3 in Blood of Eden) – Expected publication: April 15th 2014 by Harlequin Teen
Expiration Day by William Campbell Powell – Expected publication: April 22nd 2014 by Tor Teen

*********************************************************************

22 meridian 22 The Forever Watch 22 The Furies 22 The Hunt 29 Burning Dawn

Meridian by Josin L. McQuein (#2 in Arclight) – Expected publication: April 22nd 2014 by Greenwillow Books
The Forever Watch by David Ramirez – Expected publication: April 22nd 2014 by Thomas Dunne Books
The Furies by Mark Alpert – Expected publication: April 22nd 2014 by Thomas Dunne Books
The Hunt by Stacey Kade (#2 in Project Paper Doll) – Expected publication: April 22nd 2014 by Disney-Hyperion
Burning Dawn by Gena Showalter (#3 in Angels of the Dark) – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by HQN Books

*********************************************************************

29 Flying 29 Once Bitten Twice Burned 29 Sleep No More 29 The House on Blackberry Hill 29 The Taking

Flying by Megan Hart – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by Harlequin MIRA
Once Bitten, Twice Burned by Cynthia Eden (#2 in Phoenix Fire) – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by Brava
Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by Harper Teen
The House on Blackberry Hill by Donna Alward (#1 in Jewell Cove) – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by St. Martin’s Paperbacks
The Taking by Kimberly Denting – Expected publication: April 29th 2014 by HarperTeen

*********************************************************************

 

AH: Trolls. Sexy Trolls. Can you believe it? Stolen Songbird by Canadian debut author Danielle Jensen was a fantastic read about a young woman who is abducted and sold to trolls who live under a mountain. I’m also anticipating some sequels – The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa is the final installment in her Blood of Eden series. I fell in love with the Jackal and you will, too. Laini Taylor fans are counting down the seconds for the the release of Dreams of Gods and Monsters. I can’t wait to read that book.

 

CHRISTAL: April is a busy month for me because there are so many new books I am excited for.  My most anticipated releases are Meridian by Josin L. McQuein, such a fascinating take on the dystopian genre, The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa, which has to be an epic ending for the Blood of Eden trilogy, Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins, because it sounds like a glass of sweet tea on a hot day in literary form, and Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige, because who doesn’t like a good spin on the classic Oz characters?  I’m also looking forward to trying a few new-to-me authors with The Ophelia Prophecy by Sharon Lynn Fisher, Far From You by Tess Sharpe,  Pointe by Brandy Colbert, and Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike.

 

DGDG: My most anticipated book of April is, without a doubt, Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor.  I’ve been stalking Audible daily to see if the audio is available for pre-order.  I’ve loved every previous book, even if they’ve made me cry buckets. I know the end to the Daughter of Smoke and Bone trilogy will be epic!!

 

Regina_smallREGINA: So many of my favorite authors have new releases this month including two new Cara McKenna releases! Hard Time is amazing, steamy and a great story. Megan Hart also has two new releases this month, with one of them completing her serial story, Every Part of YouTakes Me was a very fun and sexy read. I feel wrong for saying this in the same paragraph, but my favorite post-apoc series/trilogy concludes this month with Sunrise by Mike Mullin. Brutal but well done is a great description for Sunrise. I am pre-ordering and waiting on pins and needles for J.R. Ward’s new release, The King, and Laini Taylor’s Dreams of Gods & Monsters. It has been too long for those sequels! Both The Word Exchange and The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf are new to me in terms of authors and I look forward to reading them.

 

Wendy_smallWENDY: Despite a bumpier road with the last few books, my number one most anticipated book for April is The King by J.R. Ward. I will always love the Males in this series and I’m really hoping for maybe a bit more something between Blay and Qhuinn. After that, I think I’m most looking forward to Sunrise by Mike Mullen, the last book in the Ashfall series. I only recently discovered it, but I flew through the books so fast because they’re so darn good!

 

© 2014, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.