Review: Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) by Karina Halle


Review: Lying Season (Experiment in Terror #4) by Karina Halle

Regina’s Rating 5 stars/Grade A+

Book Summary:

Ama­teur ghost-hunter Perry Palomino has bat­tled ghosts, fought off skin­walk­ers and skirted the fine line between life and death. But can she sur­vive bunk­ing down in Seat­tle for a week with her partner (and man she secretly loves) Dex and his perfect girl­friend, Jennifer? And can she do so while being tor­mented by a mali­cious spirit from Dex’s increas­ingly shady past? With love and life in the bal­ance, Perry must dis­cover the truth among the lies or risk los­ing every­thing she’s ever cared about.

So you know I am a fan of the Experiment in Terror series.  My reviews of Red Fox and Dead Sky Morning did little to conceal the fact this fact.  Lying Season is the 4th book in the Experiment in Terror series and is a game changer.  This review does not contain spoilers.  Author Karina Halle brought readers along for a great ride in the first three books, but we all knew (and desperately hoped) that certain situations would be confronted.  Well Karina Halle does that for her readers in Lying Season.  Perry goes to Seattle for a week.  The network that she works for and hosts her internet show is having its holiday party so Dex convinces her to attend. But where will Perry stay?  With Dex, his fat dog, and his girlfriend of course! It is also a working trip, Dex identified a new location to film their show — an abandoned wing of a mental institution.  Could anything be more terrifying than an abandoned wing of a mental institution?  Dex and Perry’s filming of the mental institution is an obvious confrontation with both Perry and Dex’s own troubled mental illness past.  Through this, readers learn more about both Dex and Perry and their personal struggles.  Perry continues to have terrifying nightmares and everything points to Dex’s past as the cause.  Perry begins to learn more about Dex’s past but in a terrifying way.

Lying Season broke my heart.  It broke my heart.  Broke it.  Okay, I just really needed to emphasize that.  Readers should be warned, it ends with a cliff hanger and so you MUST Have On Demon Wing’s nearby if you want to preserve your sanity.  The cliff hanger is not cruelly inserted as some authors do.  I promise that the ending makes sense within the storyline and I applauded that damned cliffhanger.

Perry and Dex encounter some serious baggage both their pasts and the action and horror element is taken up another notch.

It was moments like this I wish we had some theme song.

One of the frustrating parts of this series is Perry’s immaturity.  Yes she is only 22, but not many 22 year olds still live with their parents and follow their parents rules.  Not many parents are as cruel and controlling to their 22 year olds:

If that gets your weight down [Perry], I’m all the more for it,” my mother had to add.

Whose mom says that shit?! If nothing else, EiT serves as a parenting-not-to-do guide.  But Perry does grow some in Lying Season. Despite her parents desire for her not to do something, she does it.  She takes her career in hand and decides she needs to focus on certain aspects and learn certain skills.  Readers get to see Perry interact with other people besides Dex, and Perry is damned funny; and appears to be confident.  Readers get to see in Lying Season Dex’s emotional and psychological weaknesses.  This aspect of Dex is not surprising, given the back and forth between Dex and Perry and given what we learned about him in Red Fox.  But, I still found it immensely disappointing.  Isn’t this what is great about EiT though?  That the characters are far from perfect; that the characters sometimes make flawed decisions because they are afraid — like people who are afraid do.  Experiment in Terror is full of sexual tension, horror and ghosts and characters that sometimes go in to the dark abandoned second floor on their own.

Please read this series, start with #1.  Darkhouse may be a little slow, but then continue on with Red Fox and I promise you will be hooked.    June 23rd Karina Halle releases the seventh book in the Experiment in Terror series: Come Alive.  So in celebration of my obsession, I will be reviewing each of the books in this series leading up to the release date.


Series Reading Order for Experiment in Terror:

1. Darkhouse (#1)
2. Red Fox (#2)
3. The Benson (#2.5)
4. Dead Sky Morning (#3)
5. Lying Season (#4)
6. On Demon Wings (#5)
7. Old Blood (#5.5)
8. Dex Files (#5.7)
9. Into the Hollow (#6)
10.Come Alive (#7) Release Date 6/23/13





© 2013, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.

Comments 1