New Release Review: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

PrintThe Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone
Genre: Mystery/Comedy
Publication Date: October 20th, 2015
Publisher: Redhook Books
 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something.

The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to 1. But never tell her the odds.

Meet Dahlia Moss, the reigning queen of unfortunate decision-making in the St. Louis area. Unemployed broke, and on her last bowl of ramen, she’s not living her best life. But that’s all about to change.

Before Dahlia can make her life any messier on her own she’s offered a job. A job that she’s woefully under-qualified for. A job that will lead her to a murder, an MMORPG, and possibly a fella (or two?).

Turns out unfortunate decisions abound, and she’s just the girl to deal with them.

page break

AH’s Review – 4 Skulls – B+

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss was a fun and light read. It’s perfect for when you don’t want something too deep or complicated, even though Dahlia’s life is a bit complicated. Dahlia is unintentionally hilarious. She’s a millennial, a college graduate, unemployed and living at a friend’s place. Her job prospects are horrible because she fails at every interview, and she often finds herself in strange and wacky situations. Since the entire story is told from Dahlia’s point of view, you kind of feel very sympathetic to her predicaments.

Dahlia is hired to find a spear in a computer game and stranger things happen. Someone is murdered and against police advice, Dahlia (aided by her even wackier roommate) puts her limited detection skills to use. She enters the virtual world of Zoth and tries to find the missing spear and the murderer.

Do I even need to tell you that there is a role playing convention complete with costumes?

Just the cultural references will get you chuckling. I mean, who wears a Jigglypuff hat?

Oh, Canadian history buffs should get a giggle at a seance scene. It always boils down to beer.

A perfect light and fluffy read. We all need them.

Recommended for millennials with a college degree and no job prospects, gamers, and anyone with an inner Geek.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠   = B+

Thank you to Redhook Books and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

© 2015, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.