New Release Review: Grave Visions by Kalayna Price

Grave VisionsGrave Visions by Kalayna Price
Book #4 in Alex Craft
Genre: Urban Fantasy
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
ARC Provider by Roc

Synopsis from Goodreads: Grave Visions by Kalayna Price is the much-anticipated fourth installment in the kick-ass urban fantasy series about Alex Craft, a grave witch who can communicate with the dead.

If you want to hear voices from the dead in Nekros City, you call Alex Craft. She’s a Grave Witch with reasonable rates and extraordinary powers, who specializes in revealing the secrets of the dead. But now she’s the one fighting to keep her own secret. She’s not human—and her newly discovered heritage is causing havoc for her both in the human realm and in Faerie. But her status as an unaffiliated fae also makes her an ideal candidate to investigate a new street drug that has surfaced in several of the spaces between the human and fae worlds.

This glamour-infused drug causes hallucinations that turn real—at least for a while and often with deadly consequences. Searching for the source of this drug—and its purpose—lands Alex front and center in the conflict brewing in Faerie and she must find answers before she’s dragged so deep she loses her freedom.


Christal’s Review

So, it’s been about four years since the last Alex Craft book was published; was Grave Visions worth the wait? Ehhhh…


Don’t get me wrong, this wasn’t a bad book.  It just felt like Grave Visions was treading water a lot of the time.  There were a lot of things going on, but nothing happening… if that makes any sense?  I felt like the characters were all still pretty much in the same place when the book ended as they were in the beginning.

The reason that Grave Visions still worked for me at all was because of the characters.  I really like Alex and think her wyrd magic is completely intriguing.  I’m not as sold on her connection to fairyland and planeweaver abilities, but I love to see her raise a shade or two.  Falin also had a large role here and, after four years, my distaste for his previous lying ways has mellowed and I actually found him to be good support for Alex.  Death was in this very little which is a damn tragedy, but I really could use some reveals about who he is.  The mystery man shtick is starting to get annoying four books in and I think even Alex is realizing that.  Most of Alex’s friends are in this only briefly, but the fae court does play a big role.  I do not like the Winter Queen at all, even in a love-to-hate way like Andais from the Merry Gentry series.  She’s just completely off her rocker.  I did like the addition of Alex’s “betrothed” from the Shadow court; her father had to know that revelation wouldn’t go over well!

The storyline of Grave Visions has Alex and Falin looking into a drug case.  Someone is synthesizing fae glamour into a drug called Glitter that is causing humans who take it to basically burn out.  Alex is also dealing with the fact that not being tied to a fae court is causing her to fade.  She sees her chance to win independent status by solving the Glitter case, but instead ends up with some assassins on her tail.  I have to admit that I figured out most of the story way before the characters did, so it made some of the action and revelations feel redundant.  Alex and Falin were still investigating elements more than halfway through the book that were easy to deduce from the first few chapters.  Even the villain seemed pretty obvious to me.  The one thing that did surprise me was the lack of explanation for everything.  We know who did everything and how, but it’s still not really clear why.  It’s as if this was just the first part of the story… and it probably could have been condescended into half as many pages with the back half serving to complete the story.

While I wouldn’t quite consider Grave Visions a winner for the series, it was still an enjoyable visit back to the world of Alex Craft.  I wish there was more movement of the overarching story and development from Alex, Falin, and Death, but hopefully this is just the first part of the story and book #5 will fill in the blanks some time in 2017.

Thank you to the publisher, Roc Books, for providing an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 3 Stars = C

Series Reading Order:
1. Grave Witch
2. Grave Dance
3. Grave Memory
4. Grave Visions


© 2016, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.