Early Review: The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

Reluctant DuchessThe Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen
Genre: Historical Romance
Publication Date: November 10th, 2015
Publisher: Loveswept
 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations.

Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her dull provincial life by her cousin’s murder. Now that the killer seems to be targeting her, Sara seeks help from the man who was once her cousin’s fiancé, Gabriel Ferguson, Duke of Rossmoyne. With his towering frame and fiery personality, Ross cuts an intimidating figure. Living under his protection, however, has its own hazards—like the sudden urge Sara feels to take their relationship in new, exquisitely inappropriate directions.

Dazzled by the social graces of his betrothed, Ross never noticed her shy, blushing cousin. Looking at Sara now, though, he’s drawn to her lovely eyes and calm disposition. Funny how a year away from the hustle and bustle of the tonchanges a man. But Ross has no intention of allowing a woman to interfere with his plan to return overseas. He will simply capture the murderer and set sail once again. The problem is, with her beguiling lips and heavenly touch, Sara makes him never want to leave home—or his bed—again.

page break

Wendy’s Review

I’m not normally a fan fancy dress covers, in any genre, but there was something about this one that made me pause.  It’s a really beautiful picture, so pretty that I didn’t even really care about the synopsis and that’s not usually my M.O.

The plot was just okay.  It’s not unfortunate, and it’s not fortunate.  It’s bland.  It was just okay.  There aren’t any spectacular reveals, nothing that I didn’t see coming, and everything that I predicted.  I wish I had more to say that was profound, but the story wasn’t really profound at all.

It was cute, though, sometimes.  Sara was sweet and innocent, and only slightly annoying.  The relationship between Sara and Ross hit all the notes it was supposed to but nothing pushed it over the edge into something spectacular.  I didn’t swoon or giggle in glee even once, but I never felt turned off enough to put the book down.

The Reluctant Duchess made sure to shoot straight down the lane, without veering.  Unfortunately great reward is usually preceded by great risk, and this book took no risk at all.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  1/2 = C-

Thank you to Loveswept and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

© 2015, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.