Category «Young Adult»

A Badass Read-Along: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

Welcome to our first Badass Read-Along discussion! If you’ve read the book, feel free to join the discussion in the comment section.  We’re looking forward to seeing what you liked and didn’t like about the first Lunar Chronicles book, Cinder. We’ve decided not to list the short stories as part of the read along, but …

Review: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: October 18th, 2011 Publisher: Scholastic   Synopsis from Goodreads: It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die. At age nineteen, …

Release Day Group Review: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace Genre: YA Paranormal Publication Date: January 26th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Katherine Tegen Books Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes …

New Release Review: Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan Book #1 in Sword and Verse Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: January 19th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Harper Teen Synopsis from Goodreads: Raisa was just a child when she was sold to work as a slave in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father …

New Release Review: The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and  Margaret K. McElderry Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli …

Early Review: The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin

The Year We Fell Apart by Emily Martin Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: January 26th, 2015 ARC provided by Edelweiss and Simon Pulse Synopsis from Goodreads: Few things come as naturally to Harper as epic mistakes. In the past year she was kicked off the swim team, earned a reputation as Carson High’s easiest hook-up, and …

Blog Tour: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway for Strange Girl by Christopher Pike

Strange Girl by Christopher Pike Genre: Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: November 17th, 2015 Physical copy provided by Simon Pulse Synopsis from Goodreads: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Christopher Pike comes a brand-new fascinating and seductive new novel about a girl with a mysterious ability—but one that carries an unimaginable cost. From the moment Fred meets Aja, he knows …

New Release Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken Book #1 in Passenger Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy, Time Travel Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: passage, n. i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes. ii. A journey by water; a voyage. iii. The transition from one place …

Genre Book Showdown: This is Where it Ends vs Violent Ends

I’ve been sitting on This Is Where It Ends for a long time.  I requested it months ago, but wanted to put my review out closer to it’s release date.  While I waited Violent Ends came out, and I thought it was interesting that the two were very similar.  Not only were both books about school shootings, both …

Early Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: December 29th, 2015 Publisher: Kensington Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: On his own Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect. Not …

New Release Review & Giveaway: Wild Sky by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie Brockmann

Wild Sky by Suzanne Brockmann and Melanie Brockmann Book #2 in Night Sky Genre: Young Adult/Paranormal Publication Date: October 6th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Synopsis from Goodreads: Skylar Reid is slowly adjusting to the powers that make her a Greater-Than; it’s the rest of her ”normal” life that’s too hard to handle. Her boyfriend …

New Release Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness Genre: YA Magical Realism Publication Date: October 6th, 2015 Publisher: HarperTeen   Synopsis from Goodreads: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and …

Review: The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: January 1st, 2014 Publisher: Elephant Rock Productions, Inc   Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s 1993, and Generation X pulses to the beat of Kurt Cobain and the grunge movement. Sixteen-year-old Maggie Lynch is uprooted from big-city Chicago to a windswept town on the Irish Sea. Surviving on …

New Release Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell Genre: YA Fantasy M/M Publication Date: October 6th, 2015 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin   Synopsis from Goodreads: Rainbow Rowell continues to break boundaries with Carry On, an epic fantasy following the triumphs and heartaches of Simon and Baz from her beloved bestseller Fangirl. Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last …

Early Review: Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman

Illuminae by Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufman The Illuminae Files #1 Genre: YA Sci-Fi Dystopia Publication Date: October 20th, 2015 Publisher: Knopf Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded. The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at …

Review: None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 07th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer & Bray   Synopsis from Goodreads: A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex… and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above …

Review: The Betrayal of Renegade X by Chelsea M. Campbell

The Betrayal of Renegade X by Chelsea M. Campbell #3 in Renegade X Genre: YA Superhero Fantasy Publication Date: June 20th, 2015 Publisher: Golden City Publishing   Synopsis from Goodreads: Damien thinks he has the whole hero thing figured out—he’s getting good grades at Heroesworth and acing all his missions—at least until he zaps an unarmed bad guy …

Review Hodgepodge (#1)

Sometimes I get so caught up in the joy of reading, I forget I’m also supposed to (hopefully) be helpful and informative to other people when they’re choosing books or if they just want to compare notes. Today, I have some books I’ve read, but been so gung-ho to start my next read that I’ve …

New Release Review: Living With the Fall by Hannah Thompson

Living with the Fall by Hannah Thompson Genre: M/M YA Post-Apocalyptic Dystopian Publication Date: August 6th, 2015 Publisher: Harmony Ink Press   Synopsis from Goodreads: In a dystopian future ravaged by a zombie virus, teenaged Flo dreams of becoming a hunter. Instead, he becomes infected, and while plagued by hunger, he is able to control his urges. Hoping …

New Release Review: Mad About the Hatter by Dakota Chase

Mad About the Hatter by Dakota Chase Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Publication Date: August 20th, 2015 Publisher: Harmony Ink Press Synopsis from Goodreads: This isn’t his sister’s Wonderland…. Henry never believed his older sister, Alice’s, fantastic tales about the world down the rabbit hole. When he’s whisked away to the bizarre land, his best chance for …