Category «Young Adult»

Release Day Review: Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I love Neal Shusterman. I mean, honestly. I wish I could poke around in his brain in an attempt to figure out how he comes up with these things. I remember reading something once about how Stephen King is amazing because he just has all these bizarre stories marinating in his head, just waiting to be plucked out and put on paper. It’s true of King, it’s also very true of Neal Shusterman. He just has this way of taking real world topics and approaching them in such new and thought provoking ways.

A Year of Sarah Dessen | That Summer

I just can’t push myself to finish. There was absolutely nothing going on here. Haven is tall. Her parents are divorced. Her dad just got remarried. Her sister is getting married in a few weeks. That’s the bare bones of this story, and I feel like that’s all there is to this – bare bones.

New Release Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver

I’ve been leery of Ms. Oliver ever since she ruined the Delirium series (I loved the first book and hated the second so much that I didn’t finish the series) but I was curious about the gimmick in Replica. You see, Replica can be read in various ways. You can read Lyra’s story first and Gemma’s second or viceversa or you can read it in alternating chapters (although the latter takes a bit of work as each story is separate.) I started with Gemma’s, read a few chapters, switched to Lyra’s, read a few chapters and would continue one narrative or the other depending on which story was more interesting at the time. It made for a unique listening experience.

Review: Love, Lucas by Chantele Sedgwick

This book deals with grief over the death of an immediate family member, so if that’s not your cuppa, you’re probably better off staying away for the time being. That being said, I thought the subject of Oakley’s brother, Lucas, was handled with sensitivity and realism. The book is basically a series of letters to Oakley, written to her by Lucas (now deceased). Oakley uses them to help her grieve over his death as well as taking his advice and wishes for her to heart.

Early Review: Junior Hero Blues by J.K. Pendragon

The idea of an LGBT main character, is what drew me to “Junior Hero Blues”. Javi was an unpopular gay kid at his school, starting to date an extremely popular kid, and in addition he’s dealing with having superpowers and working as a Junior Hero for the Legion.

Release Day Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Lean Konen Genre: YA Romance Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 Publisher: Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Along for the Ride

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: June 16th, 2009 Synopsis from Goodreads:  It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming …

Early Review: The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker

The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker The Delphi Trilogy #1 Genre: YA Paranormal Publication Date: October 11th, 2016 Publisher: Skyscape Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s never wise to talk to strangers…and that goes double when they’re dead. Unfortunately, seventeen-year-old Anna Morgan has no choice. Resting on a park bench, touching the turnstile at the Metro station—she never knows …

Review: The Forgetting by Sharon Cameron

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy Publication Date: September 13, 2016 Publisher: Scholastic Press Source – Reviewer Purchase Synopsis from Goodreads Nadia lives in the city of Canaan, where life is safe and structured, hemmed in by white stone walls and no memory of what came before. But every twelve years the city descends into the bloody chaos of …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Keeping the Moon

Here I am keeping the momentum going with my latest Sarah Dessen read. As usual, she leaves me reflecting on and longing for those days from way back! Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: September 1st, 1999 Synopsis from Goodreads:  While her mother, aerobics queen Kiki Sparks, spends the summer …

New Release Review: Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton

New Release Review: Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton Release Date: September 6, 2016 Book provided by Edelweiss and Balzer + Bray Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Synopsis from Goodreads: Aspiring reporter Piper Baird decides to write a scathing exposé on the overprivileged students at an elite Washington, DC, school, only for her life to change when …

Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becki Albertalli Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 7th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer + Bray Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust …

New Release Review: All We Have Left by Wendy Mills

All We Have Left by Wendy Mills Genre: YA Contemporary (with a dash of Historical) Publication Date: August 9th, 2016 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Synopsis from Goodreads: A haunting and heart-wrenching story of two girls, two time periods, and the one event that changed their lives—and the world—forever. Now: Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | This Lullaby

I am halfway through my ‘A Year of Sarah Dessen,’ and I have to say, this was a great place to start to make sure I get at least one YA read in a month. While I don’t always like everything about her books, I feel like the things I don’t care for are intentional …

New Release Review: Paper & Fire by Rachel Caine

New Release Review: Paper & Fire by Rachel Caine Release Date: July 5, 2016 Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk, Fantasy Book 2 in The Great Library Book provided by: NetGalley and NAL Synopsis from Goodreads:Ink and Bone introduced a world where knowledge is power, and power corrupts absolutely. Now, the story of those who dare to …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Dreamland

I’m still going strong with my Sarah Dessen reads! This month continues with Dreamland. While this book wasn’t able to capture me the way previous ones were, it was a decent read and hasn’t hindered my excitement for my next book from the author! Dreamland by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: May 11th, …

AH’s Mini Reviews

It’s summertime up here in the Great White North and when you live in a wintry climate, you learn to embrace summer and enjoy every precious moment of warmth and sunshine. I never complain when it’s hot and humid – I head out to my outdoor deck, lemonade (or glass of wine) in hand, and …

Early Review: Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally

Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally Genre: YA Contemporary/Sports Romance Publication Date: July 5th, 2016 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire   Synopsis from Goodreads: Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision—one …

New Release Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: June 7th, 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group Synopsis from Goodreads: Taylor Simmons is screwed. Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | The Truth About Forever

So far I’ve had a great experience with Sarah Dessen books. The Truth About Forever really upped the ante. I just can’t help but wonder what took me so long to dive into the Young Adult genre. The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: May 11th, 2004 Synopsis from Goodreads: A long, hot …