Category «Fantasy»

Release Day Review: Wickedly Powerful and Wickedly Ever After by Deborah Blake

Wickedly Powerful by Deborah Blake Book #3 in Baba Yaga Genre: Paranormal Romance Publication Date: February 2nd 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Romance Synopsis from Goodreads: Known as the wicked witch of Russian fairy tales, Baba Yaga is not one woman, but rather a title carried by a chosen few. They keep the balance …

Review: The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: October 18th, 2011 Publisher: Scholastic   Synopsis from Goodreads: It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders live. Others die. At age nineteen, …

Review: The Assassins of Altis by Jack Campbell

The Assassins of Altis by Jack Campbell Series: The Pillars of Reality #3 Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction Release Date: Aug 25, 2015 Audiobook Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews Trapped within the dead city of Marandur, Master Mechanic Mari and Mage Alain must escape both merciless barbarians and the pitiless Imperial Legion. Beyond those dangers lie the mightiest …

Review: Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews

Sweep in Peace by Ilona Andrews Book #2 in The Innkeeper Chronicles Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: November 13th 2015 Synopsis from Goodreads: Dina DeMille doesn’t run your typical Bed and Breakfast. Her inn defies laws of physics, her fluffy dog is secretly a monster, and the only paying guest is a former Galactic tyrant with …

Release Day Group Review: Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace

Shallow Graves by Kali Wallace Genre: YA Paranormal Publication Date: January 26th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Katherine Tegen Books Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of Holly Black and Nova Ren Suma, a gripping, hauntingly atmospheric novel about murder, revenge, and a world where monsters—human and otherwise—lurk at the fringes. When seventeen-year-old Breezy Lin wakes …

New Release Review: Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan Book #1 in Sword and Verse Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: January 19th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Harper Teen Synopsis from Goodreads: Raisa was just a child when she was sold to work as a slave in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father …

New Release Review: The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine

The Impostor Queen by Sarah Fine Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and  Margaret K. McElderry Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Elli was a small child when the Elders of Kupari chose her to succeed the Valtia, the queen who wields infinitely powerful ice and fire magic. Since then, Elli …

Blog Tour: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway for Strange Girl by Christopher Pike

Strange Girl by Christopher Pike Genre: Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: November 17th, 2015 Physical copy provided by Simon Pulse Synopsis from Goodreads: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Christopher Pike comes a brand-new fascinating and seductive new novel about a girl with a mysterious ability—but one that carries an unimaginable cost. From the moment Fred meets Aja, he knows …

New Release Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken Book #1 in Passenger Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy, Time Travel Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: passage, n. i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes. ii. A journey by water; a voyage. iii. The transition from one place …

Blog Tour: Review of City of Light by Keri Arthur

City of Light by Keri Arthur Book #1 in Outcast Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Signet and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: The first in an all-new futuristic fantasy series from Keri Arthur—the New York Times bestselling author of the Souls of Fire novels. When the bombs that stopped the species war tore holes …

Early Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: December 29th, 2015 Publisher: Kensington Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: On his own Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect. Not …

Review: The Hidden Masters of Marandur by Jack Campbell

The Hidden Masters of Marandur by Jack Campbell Series: The Pillars of Reality #2 Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction Release Date: Feb 10, 2015 Audiobook Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews Someone wants to kill Mari, a young Steam Mechanic in the Guild that controls all technology. She has learned that her world of Dematr is headed for a …

Holiday Reads, courtesy of Riptide Publishing!

  Rebound Remedy by Christine d’Abo Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance Publication Date: November 9th, 2015 Publisher: Riptide Publishing   Synopsis from Goodreads: The last thing Cole expects to get for the holidays is dumped. But there he is, in the airport on his way to Banff for a romantic getaway, helplessly watching as his boyfriend’s ex declares …

New Release Review: Blood Kiss by JR Ward

Blood Kiss by JR Ward #1 in Black Dagger Legacy Genre: Paranormal Romance Publication Date: December 1st, 2015 Publisher: Signet   Synopsis from Goodreads: The legacy of the Black Dagger Brotherhood continues in a spin-off series from the #1 New York Times bestselling author… Paradise, blooded daughter of the king’s First Advisor, is ready to break free …

Review: Wolfsbane by Rhiannon Held

Wolfsbane by Rhiannon Held Book #4 in Silver Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: September 29th 2015 ARC Provided by Author Synopsis from Goodreads: When an envoy arrives from the secretive Russian werewolf pack, Roanoke alphas Silver and Andrew Dare are instantly suspicious. Tatiana claims she has been sent to locate an heirloom, lost by immigrants centuries ago, …

Review: A Red-Rose Chain by Seanan McGuire

A Red-Rose Chain by Seanan McGuire Book #9 in October Daye Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: September 1st, 2015 ARC Provided by DAW Synopsis from Goodreads: Things are looking up. For the first time in what feels like years, October “Toby” Daye has been able to pause long enough to take a breath and look at her …

Review: The High King’s Golden Tongue by Megan Derr

The High King’s Golden Tongue by Megan Derr Genre: M/M Fantasy Publication Date: July 13th, 2015 Publisher: Less Than Three Press   Synopsis from Goodreads: Prince Allen has trained his entire life to follow in the footsteps of his illustrious mother, who has made their kingdom one of the wealthiest and most influential in the empire. For the …

Blog Tour and Giveaway: Mercury Retrograde by Laura Bickle

Welcome to our blog tour stop for LAURA BICKLE‘s new book MERCURY RETROGRADE.  This is the second book in her DARK ALCHEMY series and it just keeps getting better and better.  We highly recommend these books for urban fantasy readers so keep reading below to find out more about this series and MERCURY RETROGRADE in …

New Release Review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness Genre: YA Magical Realism Publication Date: October 6th, 2015 Publisher: HarperTeen   Synopsis from Goodreads: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and …

New Release Review: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell Genre: YA Fantasy M/M Publication Date: October 6th, 2015 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin   Synopsis from Goodreads: Rainbow Rowell continues to break boundaries with Carry On, an epic fantasy following the triumphs and heartaches of Simon and Baz from her beloved bestseller Fangirl. Simon Snow just wants to relax and savor his last …