Category «Historical Romance»

Review: Do You Want To Start A Scandal

Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 27, 2016 Publisher: Avon Source: Reviewer Purchase Synopsis from Goodreads: On the night of the Parkhurst ball, someone had a scandalous tryst in the library. •Was it Lord Canby, with the maid, on the divan? •Or Miss Fairchild, with a rake, against the wall? •Perhaps the butler did it.All …

Interview, Review, + Giveaway: A Season of Ruin by Anna Bradley

It’s Release Day for Anna Bradley’s A Season of Ruin! As huge fans of Anna’s, Badass Book Reviews is happy to celebrate by picking her brain and getting answers to some of the questions that have been plaguing us since we first read about the Sutherlands and Somersets. Her alpha heroes are swoon-worthy, and we …

Review Hodgepodge (#5)

As you can see from my reviews below, I had some really good reads this month from historical romance. Again, it was contemporary romance that was lacking for me. (Insert heavy sigh here.) But I have to be honest; I’m done talking a good game. I can’t give this genre up, so yeah. I’ll be …

Early Review: In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier

In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #2 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: Unknown   Synopsis from Goodreads: In the desert, an instant turns life into death and hate into love. In the desert, everything is different. Boundaries break down, and you find yourself doing things that you would never, ever have …

Reviews: The Bedding Proposal & Happily Bedded Bliss by Tracy Anne Warren

The Bedding Proposal by Tracy Anne Warren Book #1 in The Rakes of Cavendish Square Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015 ARC Provided by Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: Lord Leo Byron is bored with the aristocratic company he keeps; he needs a distraction, preferably in the form of a beautiful new female companion. So …

New Release Review: Storm and Silence by Robert Thier

Storm and Silence by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #1 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: March 19th, 2016   Synopsis from Goodreads: Freedom – that is what Lilly Linton wants most in life. Not marriage, not a brood of squalling brats, and certainly not love, thank you very much! But freedom is a rare commodity in …

New Release Review: The Hunter by Kerrigan Byrne

The Hunter by Kerrigan Byrne Book #2 in Victorian Rebels Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: February 2nd, 2016 ARC provided by St. Martin’s Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads:  A scandalous proposal. As one of London’t most elite hunters, Christopher Argent never misses his mark and always gets his man. But when his latest target …

Audiobook Review: The Highwayman by Kerrigan Byrne

The Highwayman by Kerrigan Byrne Book #1 in Victorian Rebels Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 1st, 2015 Synopsis from Goodreads:  STEALING BEAUTY Dorian Blackwell, the Blackheart of Ben More, is a ruthless villain. Scarred and hard-hearted, Dorian is one of London’s wealthiest, most influential men who will stop at nothing to wreak vengeance on …

New Release Review: Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan Book #1 in Sword and Verse Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: January 19th 2016 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Harper Teen Synopsis from Goodreads: Raisa was just a child when she was sold to work as a slave in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father …

Early Review: A Seditious Affair by K.J. Charles

A Seditious Affair by K.J. Charles A Society of Gentleman #2 Genre: M/M Historical Romance Publication Date: December 15th, 2015 Publisher: Loveswept   Synopsis from Goodreads: K. J. Charles turns up the heat in her new Society of Gentlemen novel, as two lovers face off in a sensual duel that challenges their deepest beliefs.   Silas Mason has …

Early Review: A Lady’s Guide to Ruin by Kathleen Kimmel

A Lady’s Guide to Ruin by Kathleen Kimmel Book #1 in Birch Hall Romance Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: December 1st, 2015 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: Joan Price is a wanted woman. A thief and a fugitive from the mental hospital where she was falsely committed, she’s now on the run …

New Release Review: Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas

Cold-Hearted Rake by Lisa Kleypas Series: Ravenels  #1 Genre: Historical Romance Release Date: Oct. 27th, 2015 Audiobook Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells Devon Ravenel, London’s most wickedly charming rake, has just inherited an earldom. But his powerful new rank in society comes with unwanted responsibilities . . . and more than a few surprises. His …

Review: Duke of Scandal by Gaelen Foley

Duke of Scandal by Gaelen Foley Book #1 in Moonlight Square Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: October 13th, 2015 ARC provided by the author Synopsis from Goodreads: Jason Hawthorne, the Duke of Netherford, made it clear to the young, lovesick Felicity Carvel long ago that nothing could ever happen between them. He has earned his reputation as …

Early Review: The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: November 10th, 2015 Publisher: Loveswept  Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations. Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her …

Early Review: No Groom at the Inn by Megan Frampton

No Groom at the Inn by Megan Frampton Book #2.5 in Duke’s Behaving Badly Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: November 10th, 2015 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Avon Synopsis from Goodreads: What does a lady do when a man she’s never seen before offers his hand in marriage? Lady Sophronia Bettesford doesn’t scream and run away. …

Release Day Review: A Wicked Way to Win an Earl by Anna Bradley

A Wicked Way to Win an Earl by Anna Bradley Book #1 in Sutherland Scandals Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: November 3rd, 2015 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: England, 1811. Delia Somerset despises the privileged ton, but her young sister, Lily, is desperate to escape their family’s scandalous past and join high …

Early Review: Harlot by Victoria Dahl

Harlot by Victoria Dahl Genre: Historical Romance/Erotica Publication Date: October 26th, 2015 ARC provided by Victoria Dahl and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: HE CAME HOME TO MARRY AN ANGEL… After two years of work in the gold fields of California, Caleb Hightower has come home to marry his childhood sweetheart, Jessica Willoughby. But when he returns, …

Review: A Fashionable Indulgence by K.J. Charles

A Fashionable Indulgence by K.J. Charles Book #1 in Society of Gentlemen Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: August 11th, 2015 Publisher: Loveswept Synopsis from Goodreads: When he learns that he could be the heir to an unexpected fortune, Harry Vane rejects his past as a Radical fighting for government reform and sets about wooing his lovely cousin. But …

New Release Review: The Taming of Malcolm Grant by Paula Quinn

The Taming of Malcolm Grant by Paula Quinn Book #4 in The MacGregors: Highland Heirs Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 29th, 2015 ARC provided by Grand Central Publishing and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: AN ALLURING LASS Emmaline Grey spends her days with her beloved dog, dreaming of the sea-until a brawling Highlander shatters her quiet life …

New Release Review: One Moonlit Night by Gaelen Foley

One Moonlit Night by Gaelen Foley Book #0.5 in Moonlight Square Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 11th, 2015 ARC provided by the author Synopsis from Goodreads: At the ripe old age of two-and-twenty, Lady Katrina Glendon just can’t seem to snare a husband. Whether her frank tongue or slightly eccentric ways bear the blame, she faces …