Category «Literary Fiction»

Early Review: In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters

In the Shadow of Blackbirds by Cat Winters Genre: Historical Fiction Publication Date: 2 April 2013 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: In 1918, the world seems on the verge of apocalypse. Americans roam the streets in gauze masks to ward off the deadly Spanish influenza, and the government ships young …

Release Date Review: Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson

Release Date Review: Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson Book 1 in Strands of Bronze and Gold series Release Date: March 12, 2013 Book provided by NetGalley and Random House Synopsis from Goodreads: The Bluebeard fairy tale retold. . . . When seventeen-year-old Sophia Petheram’s beloved father dies, she receives an unexpected letter. …

Interview and Givewaway of Sophie Littlefield’s Garden of Stones

It is no secret that we at Badass love Sophie Littlefield’s books.  You can see our reviews of of her books here (Aftertime, Rebirth, Horizon, Bad Day for Pretty, Bad Day for Sorry, Bad Day for Scandal, Bad Day for Mercy, Blood Bond), our interview with her here and her guest blog post here.  Because we …

Genre Book Showdown: Dance of Shadows vs Dancing in the Dark

February 2013 marks the release of two very different YA novels that are both set around the world of ballet. Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black is a paranormal mystery set in a high-pressure, elite dance academy environment while Dancing in the Dark by Robyn Bavati is a contemporary novel set in the ultra-conservative Haredi …

Review: The Sleeping Night by Barbara Samuel

sleeping night

The Sleeping Night by Barbara Samuel **Best of 2012** Genres: Historical Romance, Interracial Book provided by NetGalley and Bell Bridge Books An unforgettable romance in an unforgiving time. They’ll need love and courage to see the dawn. He’s a hometown native, returning from the war, determined to change the world he’d fought to protect. She’s …

ARC Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd

ARC Review: The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd Book provided by Edelweiss and Harper Collins Children’s Release date: January 29, 2013 Synopsis from Goodreads: In the darkest places, even love is deadly. Sixteen-year-old Juliet Moreau has built a life for herself in London—working as a maid, attending church on Sundays, and trying not to think …

Review Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling *audio book purchased from audible.com* Regina’s Rating: 5 Stars/Grade A+ Blurb: When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is …

ARC Review: Princess Elizabeth’s Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal

Princess Elizabeth’s Spy by Susan Elia MacNeal Book #2 in the Maggie Hope Mystery series Publication Date: 16 October 2012 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Bantam Books [box]Synopsis from Goodreads: Susan Elia MacNeal introduced the remarkable Maggie Hope in her acclaimed debut, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary. Now Maggie returns to protect Britain’s beloved royals against an …

ARC Review: The Map of the Sky by Felix J. Palma

ARC Review: The Map of the Sky by Felix J. Palma Book 2 in Triologia Victoriana Book provided by Edelweiss and Atria Books Release date: September 4, 2012   [box color=grey]Synopsis from Goodreads: The New York Times bestselling author of returns with a mesmerizing novel casting H.G. Wells in a leading role, as the extraterrestrial invasion featured in The …

Review: Kindred by Octavia Butler

Kindred by Octavia Butler *bought e-book from Amazon* Rating: 5 Skulls/Grade A++ Blurb: [box=blue]Dana, a modern black woman, is celebrating her twenty-sixth birthday with her new husband when she is snatched abruptly from her home in California and transported to the antebellum South. Rufus, the white son of a plantation owner, is drowning, and Dana …

Arc Review: Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt *Thanks to Edelweis and Random House for a copy of this book* Rating:  5 stars/Grade A+ Blurb: [box=blue]An unforgettable literary debut for fans of Aimee Bender and Charles Baxter, Tell the Wolves I’m Home is the story of an unlikely friendship between two lost souls-a lonely …

ARC Review: Gilt by Katherine Longshore

Gilt by Katherine Longshore ARC provided by Netgalley Release Date: May 15, 2012 [box color=black]In the court of King Henry VIII, nothing is free–and love comes at the highest price of all. When Kitty Tylney’s best friend, Catherine Howard, worms her way into King Henry VIII’s heart and brings Kitty to court, she’s thrust into …

ARC Review: Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

ARC Review: Code Name Verity Book provided by NetGalley and the publisher Release date: May 15, 2012   [box color=gray]Synopsis from Goodreads: I have two weeks. You’ll shoot me at the end no matter what I do. That’s what you do to enemy agents. It’s what we do to enemy agents. But I look at …

ARC Review: The Wicked and the Just by J. Anderson Coats

The Wicked and the Just by J. Anderson Coats Book provided by Netgalley Release Date: April 17, 2012 [box color=white] Cecily’s father has ruined her life. He’s moving them to occupied Wales, where the king needs good strong Englishmen to keep down the vicious Welshmen. At least Cecily will finally be the lady of the …

Audiobook Review: 11/22/63

11/22/63 by Stephen King Unabridged Audiobook purchased at audible.com Book Release Date: November 08,2011 Audio Book Release Date: November 08,2011 [box color=white] On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in Dallas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed forever. If you had the chance to change the course of history, would you? Would the …

ARC Review: Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers Book 1 in His Fair Assassin Release Date: April 3, 2012 Book received from Netgalley [box color=gray]Synopsis from Goodreads: Why be the sheep, when you can be the wolf? Seventeen-year-old Ismae escapes from the brutality of an arranged marriage into the sanctuary of the convent of St. Mortain, where the …

Review: Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones E-book purchased at Amazon Regina’s Review – 5 Stars – Grade A+ Silver Sparrow was chosen as one of the top 10 books of 2011 by Library Journal. Here is an NPR article about this wonderful gem. Here is a Washington Post about Silver Sparrow. What does the “other woman” …