Sep 202013
 
New Release Review: Maddaddam (MaddAddam Trilogy #3) by Margaret Atwood

MaddAddam (MaddAddam Trilogy #3) by Margaret Atwood *received early review copy from publisher and Edelweiss* Regina’s Rating: 4.5 stars/Grade A Release Date: 9/3/13 Book Summary: A man-made plague has swept the earth, but a small group survives, along with the green-eyed Crakers – a gentle species bio-engineered to replace humans. Toby, onetime member of the Gods Gardeners and expert in mushrooms and bees, is still in love with street-smart Zeb, who has an interesting past. The Crakers’ reluctant prophet, Snowman-the-Jimmy, is hallucinating; Amanda is in shock from a Painballer attack; and Ivory Bill yearns for the provocative Swift Fox, who [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 20, 2013 at 1:25 pm
May 102013
 
An Oldie but a Goodie: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

Today, we bring you a special review The Great Gatsby, just in time for the movie release. Even if you are not planning to watch it, we completely recommend the book.   The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald First Published: 1925 Genres: Classics, Literary Fiction Available in Paperback, Ebook, Audiobook and Film Jay Gatsby is the man who has everything. But one thing will always be out of his reach … Everybody who is anybody is seen at his glittering parties. Day and night his Long Island mansion buzzes with bright young things drinking, dancing and debating his mysterious character. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Feb 132013
 
Genre Book Showdown: Dance of Shadows vs Dancing in the Dark

February 2013 marks the release of two very different YA novels that are both set around the world of ballet. Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black is a paranormal mystery set in a high-pressure, elite dance academy environment while Dancing in the Dark by Robyn Bavati is a contemporary novel set in the ultra-conservative Haredi Jewish community. Both of these novels work the world of ballet and the beauty of dance throughout their plotlines, but I can only recommend one of them to you Badass readers. Read on to see which novel wins this ballet-based showdown!   Dance of Shadows [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on February 13, 2013 at 7:00 am
Jan 282013
 
ARC Mini Reviews: Season of the Wolf, Trickster, The Dinner, and The Best of All Possible Worlds

February will see the release of some very eclectic new books from both the smaller and larger publishing houses and today I am bringing you four mini reviews from four very different books – a mystery/thriller, an urban fantasy, a contemporary fiction, and a science fiction romance. Season of the Wolf by Jeffrey J. Mariotte Genre: Mystery/Thriller Publication Date: 26 Feb 2013 ARC Provided by Netgalley and DarkFuse Synopsis from Goodreads: When Alex Converse, heir to a coal company fortune, visits Silver Gap, Colorado to make an environmentally themed documentary film, he’s hoping to change some minds and to soothe his own [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 28, 2013 at 7:00 am
Dec 302012
 
Best of 2012: Post-Apocalyptic/Dystopia, Literary Fiction, New Series

Ashen Winter by Mike Mullin –D.G.: This is among the best second book in a trilogy I’ve ever read. It’s clear that Mr. Mullin really knew where he was going because this book was so exciting and action packed that I had my heart in my mouth for like 20 chapters straight. Post Apocalyptic is not one of my usual genres but I cannot get enough of this series! –Regina:  Mike Mullin writes maybe my favorite post-apocalyptic series.  Ever.  It is real, it has depth and has great action.  I cannot wait for the third book in this series. There [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on December 30, 2012 at 8:02 am
Oct 202012
 
Review Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling

Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling *audio book purchased from audible.com* Regina’s Rating: 5 Stars/Grade A+ Blurb: When Barry Fairbrother dies in his early forties, the town of Pagford is left in shock. Pagford is, seemingly, an English idyll, with a cobbled market square and an ancient abbey, but what lies behind the pretty façade is a town at war. Rich at war with poor, teenagers at war with their parents, wives at war with their husbands, teachers at war with their pupils…Pagford is not what it first seems. And the empty seat left by Barry on the parish council soon [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm
Aug 082012
 
Review:  Kindred by Octavia Butler

Kindred by Octavia Butler *bought e-book from Amazon* Rating: 5 Skulls/Grade A++ Blurb: [box=blue]Dana, a modern black woman, is celebrating her twenty-sixth birthday with her new husband when she is snatched abruptly from her home in California and transported to the antebellum South. Rufus, the white son of a plantation owner, is drowning, and Dana has been summoned to save him. Dana is drawn back repeatedly through time to the slave quarters, and each time the stay grows longer, more arduous, and more dangerous until it is uncertain whether or not Dana’s life will end, long before it has a [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 8, 2012 at 9:34 am
Jul 202012
 
Arc Review: Tell The Wolves I'm Home by Carol Rifka Brunt

Tell The Wolves I’m Home by Carol Rifka Brunt *Thanks to Edelweis and Random House for a copy of this book* Rating:  5 stars/Grade A+ Blurb:  [box=blue]An unforgettable literary debut for fans of Aimee Bender and Charles Baxter, Tell the Wolves I’m Home is the story of an unlikely friendship between two lost souls-a lonely girl and a mysterious stranger-and the ways in which their lives become intertwined as they each try to come to terms with their grief. There’s only one person who has ever truly understood fourteen-year-old June Elbus, and that’s her uncle, the renowned painter Finn Weiss. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 20, 2012 at 2:22 pm
Apr 172012
 
ARC Review: The Wicked and the Just by J. Anderson Coats

The Wicked and the Just by J. Anderson Coats Book provided by Netgalley Release Date: April 17, 2012 [box color=white] Cecily’s father has ruined her life. He’s moving them to occupied Wales, where the king needs good strong Englishmen to keep down the vicious Welshmen. At least Cecily will finally be the lady of the house. Gwenhwyfar knows all about that house. Once she dreamed of being the lady there herself, until the English destroyed the lives of everyone she knows. Now she must wait hand and foot on this bratty English girl. While Cecily struggles to find her place [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Mar 122012
 
Review: Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones

Silver Sparrow by Tayari Jones E-book purchased at Amazon Regina’s Review – 5 Stars – Grade A+ Silver Sparrow was chosen as one of the top 10 books of 2011 by Library Journal. Here is an NPR article about this wonderful gem. Here is a Washington Post about Silver Sparrow. What does the “other woman” represent in the nightmares of women everywhere? The mere thought of an “other woman” existing is terrifying, horrifying, humiliating and for many, beyond imagination. What if the “other woman” had a child? What if she lived in the same town and neighborhood? What if the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on March 12, 2012 at 12:00 pm