Category «Literary Fiction»

Release Day Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Lean Konen Genre: YA Romance Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 Publisher: Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ …

Release Day Review: Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta Genre: Mystery Publication Date: October 11th, 2016 Publisher: Mulholland Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Bashir “Bish” Ortley is a London desk cop. Almost over it. Still not dealing with the death of his son years ago, as well as the break-up of his marriage. Across the channel, …

Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becki Albertalli Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 7th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer + Bray Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust …

New Release Review: All We Have Left by Wendy Mills

All We Have Left by Wendy Mills Genre: YA Contemporary (with a dash of Historical) Publication Date: August 9th, 2016 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Synopsis from Goodreads: A haunting and heart-wrenching story of two girls, two time periods, and the one event that changed their lives—and the world—forever. Now: Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living …

Early Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: June 7, 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse   Synopsis from Goodreads: In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up. Welcome to the …

Early Review: In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier

In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #2 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: Unknown   Synopsis from Goodreads: In the desert, an instant turns life into death and hate into love. In the desert, everything is different. Boundaries break down, and you find yourself doing things that you would never, ever have …

Re-Release Review: The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson Genre: YA LGBT Realistic Publication Date: May 31, 2016 Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux   Synopsis from Goodreads: David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth: David wants …

Review: The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis

The Sidekicks by Will Kostakis Genre: YA Realistic Publication Date: February 29th, 2016 Publisher: e-Penguin   Synopsis from Goodreads: The Swimmer. The Rebel. The Nerd. All Ryan, Harley and Miles had in common was Isaac. They lived different lives, had different interests and kept different secrets. But they shared the same best friend. They were sidekicks. And now …

New Release Review: Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman

Girls on Fire by Robin Wasserman Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publication Date: May 17th 2016 ARC Provided by Harper and Edelweiss Synopsis from Goodreads: Girls on Fire tells the story of Hannah and Lacey and their obsessive teenage female friendship so passionately violent it bloodies the very sunset its protagonists insist on riding into, together, at …

Review: Finding Fraser by K.C. Dyer

Finding Fraser by K.C. Dyer Genre: Chick Lit/Romance Publication Date: February 26th, 2016 Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group   Synopsis from Goodreads: Escape to Scotland with the delightful new novel that readers have fallen in love with—inspired by Diana Gabaldon’s #1 New York Times bestselling Outlander series.   I met Jamie Fraser when I was nineteen years old. …

Release Day Review: OCDaniel by Wesley King

OCDaniel by Wesley King Genre: Middle Grade Contemporary Fiction Publication Date: April 12th, 2016 Publisher: Simon & Schuster/Paula Wiseman Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: From the author of Incredible Space Raiders from Space! comes a brand-new coming-of-age story about a boy whose life revolves around hiding his obsessive compulsive disorder—until he gets a mysterious note that …

March Mini Reviews: The Good, The (Not So) Bad, and The Ugly

Because of the amount of books I read most months, I don’t get to review everything for the blog. The Mini Review Catch Up is my place to give you a little information about some of my other reads and whether or not I would recommend them without going into tons of detail. These are …

New Release Review: Storm and Silence by Robert Thier

Storm and Silence by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #1 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: March 19th, 2016   Synopsis from Goodreads: Freedom – that is what Lilly Linton wants most in life. Not marriage, not a brood of squalling brats, and certainly not love, thank you very much! But freedom is a rare commodity in …

Early Review: You Were Here by Cori McCarthy

You Were Here by Cori McCarthy Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: March 1st, 2016 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire   Synopsis from Goodreads: Grief turned Jaycee into a daredevil, but can she dare to deal with her past? On the anniversary of her daredevil brother’s death, Jaycee attempts to break into Jake’s favorite hideout—the petrifying ruins of an insane …

Early Review: She’s Not There by Joy Fielding

She’s Not There by Joy Fielding Genre: General Fiction Publication Date: February 23rd, 2016 ARC provided by Netgalley and Ballantine Books Synopsis from Goodreads:  A lifetime ago, every year Carole Shipley looked forward to her wedding anniversary. But then a celebratory trip to Mexico for the occasion with her husband and friends ended in the …

Genre Book Showdown: This is Where it Ends vs Violent Ends

I’ve been sitting on This Is Where It Ends for a long time.  I requested it months ago, but wanted to put my review out closer to it’s release date.  While I waited Violent Ends came out, and I thought it was interesting that the two were very similar.  Not only were both books about school shootings, both …

Early Review: Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer

Thicker Than Water by Brigid Kemmerer Genre: YA Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: December 29th, 2015 Publisher: Kensington Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: On his own Thomas Bellweather hasn’t been in town long. Just long enough for his newlywed mother to be murdered, and for his new stepdad’s cop colleagues to decide Thomas is the primary suspect. Not …

Release Day Review: Not if I See You First by Eric Lindstrom

Not If I See You First by Eric Lindstrom Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: December 1st, 2015 Publisher: Poppy   Synopsis from Goodreads: The Rules: Don’t deceive me. Ever. Especially using my blindness. Especially in public. Don’t help me unless I ask. Otherwise you’re just getting in my way or bothering me. Don’t be weird. Seriously, …

Review: The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley

The Carnival at Bray by Jessie Ann Foley Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: January 1st, 2014 Publisher: Elephant Rock Productions, Inc   Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s 1993, and Generation X pulses to the beat of Kurt Cobain and the grunge movement. Sixteen-year-old Maggie Lynch is uprooted from big-city Chicago to a windswept town on the Irish Sea. Surviving on …

Review: None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 07th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer & Bray   Synopsis from Goodreads: A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex… and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above …