Category «Historical Fiction»

Early Review: In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier

In the Eye of the Storm by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #2 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: Unknown   Synopsis from Goodreads: In the desert, an instant turns life into death and hate into love. In the desert, everything is different. Boundaries break down, and you find yourself doing things that you would never, ever have …

New Release Review: Storm and Silence by Robert Thier

Storm and Silence by Robert Thier Storm and Silence #1 Genre: Historical Fiction/Romance Publication Date: March 19th, 2016   Synopsis from Goodreads: Freedom – that is what Lilly Linton wants most in life. Not marriage, not a brood of squalling brats, and certainly not love, thank you very much! But freedom is a rare commodity in …

Review: Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee

Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee Genre: YA Historical Fiction Publication Date: March 17th, 2015 Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers Synopsis from Goodreads: Missouri, 1849: Samantha dreams of moving back to New York to be a professional musician—not an easy thing if you’re a girl, and harder still if you’re Chinese. But a …

From Page to Screen: Outlander, Episode 10

Outlander: Episode 10 Episode 10 was a lot of filler, I thought.  That doesn’t necessarily mean that it wasn’t good.  It was still very good, it was just that it was an episode that’s purpose was to hop through the time spent at Leoch, before everything that goes down with the Witch Trial. We got …

February Mini Reviews: The Good, The (Not So) Bad, and The Ugly

Because of the amount of books I read most months, I don’t get to review everything for the blog. The Mini Review Catch Up is my place to give you a little information about some of my other reads and whether or not I would recommend them without going into tons of detail. This time …

Review: Night of a Thousand Stars by Deanna Raybourn

Night of a Thousand Stars by Deanna Raybourn Genres: Historical Fiction Publication Date: September 30th 2014 ARC Provided by Harlequin MIRA and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: On the verge of a stilted life as an aristocrat’s wife, Poppy Hammond does the only sensible thing—she flees the chapel in her wedding gown. Assisted by the handsome curate who calls himself Sebastian …

Review: Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey  Genre: Realistic Fiction/Mystery Publication Date: March 31, 2009 Publisher: Allen & Unwin   Synopsis from Goodreads: Late on a hot summer night in 1965, Charlie Bucktin, a precocious and bookish boy of thirteen, is startled by an urgent knock on the window of his sleep-out. His visitor is Jasper Jones, an outcast in the …

Group Review: Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper

New Release Group Review: Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper Release date: September 23, 2014 Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Historical Fiction Book provided by NetGalley and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Synopsis from Goodreads: A sweeping historical romance about a witch who foresees her own murder–and the one boy who can help change her …

New Release Review: Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

Maplecroft by Cherie Priest Book #1 in The Borden Dispatches Genres: Historical Horror Fantasy Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Roc Trade and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Lizzie Borden took an axe and gave her mother forty whacks; and when she saw what she had done, she gave her father forty-one…. The people of …

Release Day Review: Forest of Whispers by Jennifer Murgia

Forest of Whispers by Jennifer Murgia Genres: Young Adult Fantasy Publication Date: September 9th 2014 ARC Provided by Spencer Hill Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Raised by an old fortune-teller within the dark veil of the Bavarian Black Forest, Rune has learned two valuable lessons: only take from the forest that which you can use, …

Early Review: Henna House by Nomi Eve

Early Review: Henna House by Nomi Eve Release date: August 12, 2014 Book provided by NetGalley and Scribner Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis from Goodreads: An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family …

New Release Review: Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed

New Release Review: Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed Book 2 in At Somerton series Release date: January 7, 2014 Genre: Young Adult, Historical Romance Book provided by NetGalley and Disney Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: One house, two worlds…book two in our sumptuous and enticing YA series about the servants and gentry at Somerton Court. …

Badass Best of 2013: YA & NA Contemporary, Historical, and Romance

Today’s Badass Best of 2013 is getting away from the fantasical and moving back into reality. Below you will find our five favorite Young Adult and New Adult novels in the Conteporary, Historical, and Romance genres.     If You Find Me by Emily Murdoch || Published March 26th 2013 by St. Martin’s Griffin || …

Badass Best of 2013: Mystery, Romance, and Historicals

Next up on the Badass Best of 2013 are our favorite Mystery, Romance, and Historical novels! Take a look below for our seven favorite novels from each of these genres and be sure to let us know what we missed in the comments.       The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith || Published April 30th …

Review: The Angel Stone by Juliet Dark

Review: The Angel Stone by Juliet Dark (Carol Goodman) Book 3 in the Fairwick Chronicles series Release date: September 3, 2013 Genre: Paranormal Romance, Contemporary, Historical, Fantasy Book provided by Edelweiss and Ballantine Books Synopsis from Goodreads: A can’t-miss read for fans of Deborah Harkness and Karen Marie Moning, The Angel Stone weaves a tale …

Michelle’s Badass Bundle of Books

Reading is my passion. It is my escape from the real world. You would think that reading being an escape for me would mean I would read more when real life was not at its best. Thus, the need for an escape. That is not how my brain works. Nope, not me. I seem to …

Review: The Ghost Bride by Yangsze Choo

In honor of Halloween this month, we will be featuring reviews of some new and upcoming spine-tingling reads. From ghosts to zombies and everything in between, look for the Frightening Fall Reads banner when you are ready for something spooky this month! A month of creepy reads wouldn’t be complete without a ghost story and …

Early Review: Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein

Early Review: Rose Under Fire by Elizabeth Wein Book 2/Companion Book to Code Name Verity Release date: September 10, 2013 Genre: Historical, Young Adult, New Adult Book provided by NetGalley and Disney Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: While flying an Allied fighter plane from Paris to England, American ATA pilot and amateur poet, Rose Justice, is …

Badass Hidden Gems vol. III

  Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card, Special 20th Anniversary Edition Audiobook edition Why do I have the very popular Enders Game on a list of badass hidden gems? Because I just found the audiobook version of this wonderful book and it IS a gem. The 20th anniversary audiobook edition of Enders Game is an experience …