Category «Chick Lit»

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

“The Hating Game” is a hilarious mix of romance and chick-lit. And you’ll ask…what’s the difference? Isn’t there always some sort of love interest in chick-lit? Well, yes, but I feel that in chick-lit, everything is about the female character. In The Hating Game, the story is really about both of them, even though it’s told in first person from Lucy’s POV. And then there’s the sexy love scene, who puts it squarely in the romance category (there’s just one but it’s a SCORCHER!) *fans self*

Release Day Review & Giveaway: Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton

Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton The Hudson Valley Series #2 Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 12th, 2016 Publisher: Gallery Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Alice Clayton brings her trademark blend of funny and sexy to this second contemporary romance in the brand-new Hudson Valley series! …

Early Review: The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder Genre: YA Contemporary Publication Date: June 7, 2016 Publisher: Simon Pulse   Synopsis from Goodreads: In this ode to all the things we gain and lose and gain again, seventeen-year-old Penelope Marx curates her own mini-museum to deal with all the heartbreaks of love, friendship, and growing up. Welcome to the …

Review: Finding Fraser by K.C. Dyer

Finding Fraser by K.C. Dyer Genre: Chick Lit/Romance Publication Date: February 26th, 2016 Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group   Synopsis from Goodreads: Escape to Scotland with the delightful new novel that readers have fallen in love with—inspired by Diana Gabaldon’s #1 New York Times bestselling Outlander series.   I met Jamie Fraser when I was nineteen years old. …

New Release Review: The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone

The Unfortunate Decisions of Dahlia Moss by Max Wirestone Genre: Mystery/Comedy Publication Date: October 20th, 2015 Publisher: Redhook Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of The Guild, New Girl, Scott Pilgrim, Big Bang Theory, Veronica Mars, or anyone who has ever geeked out about something. The odds of Dahlia successfully navigating adulthood are 3,720 to …

Review: None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio

None of the Above by I.W. Gregorio Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 07th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer & Bray   Synopsis from Goodreads: A groundbreaking story about a teenage girl who discovers she was born intersex… and what happens when her secret is revealed to the entire school. Incredibly compelling and sensitively told, None of the Above …

Review: Dirty Rowdy Thing by Christina Lauren

Dirty Rowdy Thing by Christina Lauren Book #2 in Wild Seasons Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: November 4, 2014 Publisher: Gallery Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: From the New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Bastard,Beautiful Stranger, and Beautiful Player, Book Two of the brand-new Wild Seasons series that started with Sweet Filthy Boy—a story of friends, love, …

Review: Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren

Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren Book #1 in Wild Seasons Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: May 13, 2014 Publisher: Gallery Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: One-night stands are supposed to be with someone convenient, or wickedly persuasive, or regrettable. They aren’t supposed to be with someone like him. But after a crazy Vegas weekend celebrating her …

New Release Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins Genre: YA Contemporary Romance Publication Date: August 14, 2014 Publisher: Dutton (Hardcover Purchased through Amazon.com)     Synopsis from Goodreads: Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on brooding artist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And, after a chance encounter in Manhattan over …

Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell *e-book purchased from Amazon* Regina’s Rating: 4.5 stars/Grade A Book Summary: Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now. Maybe that …

Early Review: The Sweetheart Secret by Shirley Jump

The Sweetheart Secret by Shirley Jump Book #3 in Sweetheart Sisters Genres: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: The Sweetheart Sisters are ready for some good ol’ matchmaking… Colton Harper, Rescue Bay’s resident physician, gave up his wild ways years ago, in exchange for a …

Early Review: Unstoppable by Shannon Richard

Unstoppable by Shannon Richard Book #3 in Country Roads Genres: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 29th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Forever Synopsis from Goodreads: Some things you don’t dare let go . . . Melanie O’Bryan knows life is too short to be afraid of taking chances. And former Air Force sergeant Bennett Hart is …

New Release Review: Fall From India Place by Samantha Young

Fall From India Place by Samantha Young Book #4 in On Dublin Street Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: June 3rd 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and NAL Synopsis from Goodreads: The New York Times bestselling author of On Dublin Street and Down London Road returns with a story about letting go of the past and learning to …

Early Review: The House on Blackberry Hill by Donna Alward

The House on Blackberry Hill by Donna Alward Book #1 in Jewell Cove Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: April 29th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and St. Martin’s Press Synopsis from Goodreads: When a young woman inherits a rundown mansion, the last thing she expects to find is the key to her heart… Abby Foster is …

New Release Review: The Sweetheart Rules by Shirley Jump

The Sweetheart Rules by Shirley Jump Book #2 in Sweetheart Sisters Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: April 1st 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: The Sweetheart Sisters are ready to give some old-school lessons in love… Rescue Bay veterinarian Diana Tuttle is a great single mom, but she has a harder time taking …

New Release Review: Undone by Shannon Richard

Undone by Shannon Richard Book #1 in Country Roads Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: February 25th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Forever Synopsis from Goodreads: Things Paige Morrison will never understand about Mirabelle, Florida: Why wearing red shoes makes a girl a harlot. Why a shop would ever sell something called “buck urine.” Why everywhere she …

New Release Review: Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed

New Release Review: Diamonds & Deceit by Leila Rasheed Book 2 in At Somerton series Release date: January 7, 2014 Genre: Young Adult, Historical Romance Book provided by NetGalley and Disney Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: One house, two worlds…book two in our sumptuous and enticing YA series about the servants and gentry at Somerton Court. …

Early Review: Before Jamaica Lane by Samantha Young

Book #3 in the On Dublin Street series Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: January 7th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and NAL Synopsis from Goodreads: One simple lesson in seduction between two friends can turn into so much more… Despite her outgoing demeanor, Olivia is painfully insecure around the opposite sex—usually, she can’t get up the nerve …

Novella Review: Castle Hill by Samantha Young

Castle Hill by Samantha Young Book #2.5 in the On Dublin Street series Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: December 3rd 2013 ARC Provided by Netgalley and NAL (Intermix) Synopsis from Goodreads: A Joss and Braden Novella Braden Carmichael never imagined he’d fall as hard and as fast as he did for Jocelyn Butler. He also could not have anticipated how …