Category «Reviews by Genre»

Urban Fantasy to Chic-Lit

Early Review: On Broken Wings by Chanel Cleeton

On Broken Wings was the culmination of events that happened in the first book, along with a love carried over the entire trilogy. I figure if you’re reading this review then you probably read the synopsis, so I don’t feel like it’s a spoiler for me to say this is the story of a widow learning to find love again. That’s a plot full of landmines, for sure.

Early Review : Beyond Surrender by Kit Rocha

Okay, so the Beyond books are an erotic/dystopian series that takes place over the course of 9 interlinking books. Beyond Surrender is the final book in this particular series, although there are a set of spin-off books coming up in the next year. Throughout the years, the stories have featured couples, a menage, a foursome, and the sexuality is fluid.. so if polyamorous relationships or bisexuality is not your thing, well… these may not be the books for you.

New Release Review: A Sure Thing by Marie Harte

A Sure Thing was just…OK. Although I really liked the cocky hero and his family, the heroine left me cold with all her psychobabble. In general, I don’t have objections to main characters from particular professions but I think “therapist MC” will become a no-no for me.

Early Review: Hooked by Brenda Rothert

The best thing about Hooked is the cover.

The premise was great but it just fizzled. The pacing was off, the characterization was weak, love scenes were meh and both conflicts were undeveloped and solved WAY to easily. There wasn’t anything exciting about this book with the exception of Jake, who was as hot as they come. But a hot hero does not a romance make.

New Release Review: Ruled by Elle Kennedy

I’ve been with the Outlaws series since the beginning, and I have been a huge supporter of it. Claimed was one of my Top Reads of 2015, and Addicted is definitely a contender for my 2016 list. I love the idea of ‘outlaws’ in a dystopian world, and the sex scenes have been amazing. Sadly, this installment did not measure up to the first two.

Review: Managed by Kristen Callihan

I’m not that big of a rock star fan, it’s not a trope or story that I particularly like or am drawn to… and Managed actually focuses on the band’s manager, Gabriel Scott, aka Scottie, and their newest hire, photographer turned social media expert, Sophie Darling.

Early Review: Trophy Wife by Noelle Adams

I enjoyed “Trophy Wife” a lot more than I thought I would.

Neither the title nor the cover inspired much confidence that this would be up my alley but I like heroines who take charge of their lives and work for what they want. And that was Alison to a T. The description makes her sound brash but she’s really very brave. She divorces her husband, leaving the luxury she’s known all her life because she wants to find herself and stop being the kind of woman who depends on her husband for everything.

Release Day Review: Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I love Neal Shusterman. I mean, honestly. I wish I could poke around in his brain in an attempt to figure out how he comes up with these things. I remember reading something once about how Stephen King is amazing because he just has all these bizarre stories marinating in his head, just waiting to be plucked out and put on paper. It’s true of King, it’s also very true of Neal Shusterman. He just has this way of taking real world topics and approaching them in such new and thought provoking ways.

A Year of Sarah Dessen | That Summer

I just can’t push myself to finish. There was absolutely nothing going on here. Haven is tall. Her parents are divorced. Her dad just got remarried. Her sister is getting married in a few weeks. That’s the bare bones of this story, and I feel like that’s all there is to this – bare bones.

Early Review: Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan

I’m totally anti-Holidays. Not because I’m against the sentiment behind them, but because of how commercial they are in the U.S. (I’ve never put up a tree in my life.) That means that I seldom read Holiday romances but “Miracle on 5th Avenue” called out to me because it’s set in NYC. Even with the Holiday theme, I enjoyed it more than I thought.

New Release Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver

I’ve been leery of Ms. Oliver ever since she ruined the Delirium series (I loved the first book and hated the second so much that I didn’t finish the series) but I was curious about the gimmick in Replica. You see, Replica can be read in various ways. You can read Lyra’s story first and Gemma’s second or viceversa or you can read it in alternating chapters (although the latter takes a bit of work as each story is separate.) I started with Gemma’s, read a few chapters, switched to Lyra’s, read a few chapters and would continue one narrative or the other depending on which story was more interesting at the time. It made for a unique listening experience.

Review: Love, Lucas by Chantele Sedgwick

This book deals with grief over the death of an immediate family member, so if that’s not your cuppa, you’re probably better off staying away for the time being. That being said, I thought the subject of Oakley’s brother, Lucas, was handled with sensitivity and realism. The book is basically a series of letters to Oakley, written to her by Lucas (now deceased). Oakley uses them to help her grieve over his death as well as taking his advice and wishes for her to heart.

Review: In Her Defense by Julianna Keyes

I picked “In Her Defense” from the library without reading the first book in the series. (This was a conscious decision as the hero of the first book is an ex-con which is a real stretch for me.) Reading some reviews, I found out that Caitlin, the heroine here, was actually the villain of the first book. Not having read it, I didn’t know the extent of her villainy, but I was curious how Ms. Keyes would redeem her.

Soon enough I found out that Caitlin’s reputation was well deserved. She’s aggressive, cutthroat, ambitious, impatient, confident and simply the best at her job. The best part? Ms. Keyes didn’t make any excuses to justify or explain Caitlin’s personality. There wasn’t any kind of trauma in her life, that’s just the way she was. And I just loved that characterization. Why is it that women cannot be ball-busters in romance without some sort of ordeal involving their mommys or past boyfriends?

New Release Review: The Sexy One by Lauren Blakely

“The Sexy One” was Ms. Blakely’s attempt to do a more romantic book instead of her usual, uproarious, slightly dirty stories told from the guy’s POV. The whole “I can’t date the nanny” conflict could have been resolved with an honest conversation: “I like you, you like me. What should we do about it?” Instead, these two hem and haw throughout most of the book: “dating the nanny is a cliche!” (who cares), “it’s a forbidden relationship!” (it isn’t – they are both adults), “my life is too complicated!” (it really isn’t).

Audiobook Review: Spiral of Need by Suzanne Wright

Maybe it’s semantics, but I feel like The Mercury Pack should be called a ‘companion’ to the The Phoenix Pack series as opposed to a spin-off. Spin-off, to me, indicates that while there may be similarities, there’ll be something new and fresh. I didn’t get that here at all. This was mostly a mash-up of The Phoenix Pack scenes, and it used to be that all the females in these series were interchangeable, but it’s gotten to the point where the characters act so much alike, they’re all interchangeable.

Early Review: Junior Hero Blues by J.K. Pendragon

The idea of an LGBT main character, is what drew me to “Junior Hero Blues”. Javi was an unpopular gay kid at his school, starting to date an extremely popular kid, and in addition he’s dealing with having superpowers and working as a Junior Hero for the Legion.

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Admittedly, while I have grown a bit tired of the Psy-Changeling books, I still feel very compelled by Singh’s Guild Hunter series. I think part of this is due to the structure of the books and how they feel more Urban Fantasy than Paranormal Romance. Elena and Raphael’s relationship is now well established and the arcs are more focused on developments that are external in nature.

Release Day Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Lean Konen Genre: YA Romance Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 Publisher: Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ …

Review: Barely Breathing by Pamela Clare

“Barely Breathing” is the first book in Pamela Clare’s new “Colorado High Country” series. It was a good solid story but it was missing the usual excitement that I’m used to from Ms. Clare books. There was a bit of action but it was a definite secondary plot that came in too late.

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

“The Hating Game” is a hilarious mix of romance and chick-lit. And you’ll ask…what’s the difference? Isn’t there always some sort of love interest in chick-lit? Well, yes, but I feel that in chick-lit, everything is about the female character. In The Hating Game, the story is really about both of them, even though it’s told in first person from Lucy’s POV. And then there’s the sexy love scene, who puts it squarely in the romance category (there’s just one but it’s a SCORCHER!) *fans self*