Category «D Reviews»

Early Review: Vicious Cycle by Katie Ashley

Vicious Cycle by Katie Ashley Book #1 in Vicious Cycle Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Trade Synopsis from Goodreads: Deacon Malloy’s life is dedicated to the Hell’s Raiders motorcycle club. Tough, hard, and fast with his fists, he serves the group as sergeant at arms. But his …

Review: The Professional by Kresley Cole

The Professional by Kresley Cole Series: The Game Maker #1 Genre: Erotic Romance, BDSM Release Date: May 6, 2014 He makes the rules…Mafiya enforcer Aleksei “The Siberian” Sevastyan’s loyalty to his boss knows no bounds, until he meets the boss’s long-lost daughter, a curvy, feisty redhead who haunts his mind and heats his blood like …

March Mini Reviews: The Good, The (Not So) Bad, and The Ugly

Because of the amount of books I read most months, I don’t get to review everything for the blog. The Mini Review Catch Up is my place to give you a little information about some of my other reads and whether or not I would recommend them without going into tons of detail. These are a …

February Mini Reviews: The Good, The (Not So) Bad, and The Ugly

Because of the amount of books I read most months, I don’t get to review everything for the blog. The Mini Review Catch Up is my place to give you a little information about some of my other reads and whether or not I would recommend them without going into tons of detail. This time …

January Mini Reviews: The Good, The (Not So) Bad, and The Ugly

Because of the amount of books I read most months, I don’t get to review everything for the blog. The Mini Review Catch Up is my place to give you a little information about some of my other reads and whether or not I would recommend them without going into tons of detail. This time …

New Release Review: Toxic by Carol Ericson

Toxic by Carol Ericson Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: November 3, 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin Synopsis from Goodreads: “That’s the way I like it – hot and wet.” Not something I’d typically say in a job interview, but it just kind of slipped out. I blame Ronnie Tatethe woman is sin in stilettos. As …

Review: Branded by Laura Wright

Branded by Laura Wright Book #1 in The Cavanaugh Brothers Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: June 3rd 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Signet Synopsis from Goodreads: In the small town of River Black, Texas, sits the Triple C—a working cattle ranch that sustains the town. But it also holds painful memories and shocking secrets for the …

Genre Book Showdown: The Girl From the Well vs Servants of the Storm

I’ve been looking for a spooky read lately and my perusal of Netgalley and Edelweiss turned up The Girl From the Well and Servants of the Storm.  While neither turned out to be the creeptastic read I was hoping for, I definitely preferred one book over the other.  Read on to see who won this …

Novella Review: Castle Hill by Samantha Young

Castle Hill by Samantha Young Book #2.5 in the On Dublin Street series Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: December 3rd 2013 ARC Provided by Netgalley and NAL (Intermix) Synopsis from Goodreads: A Joss and Braden Novella Braden Carmichael never imagined he’d fall as hard and as fast as he did for Jocelyn Butler. He also could not have anticipated how …

Mini Review Catch Up: YA/NA Contemporary Romances

I’m trying to finish off all my 2013 ARCs before the end of December so this month I tackled some of the Young Adult (YA) and New Adult (NA) contemporary romances I had waiting for me. I wasn’t super successful at finding a winner, but read on to see what I liked best out of …

Review: Torn by K.A. Robinson

Torn by K.A. Robinson Book #1 in the Torn series Genre: New Adult Romance Publication Date: May 7th 2013 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Atria Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: Chloe hasn’t had the best life. With a mother who is gone more often than not, she has had to raise herself. After graduating high school, …

Early Review: The Dominant by Tara Sue Me

Early Review: The Dominant by Tara Sue Me Book 2 in The Submissive Trilogy Genre: Erotica, BDSM Release date: August 6, 2013 Book provided by NetGalley and NAL/Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: The continuation of the tantalizing trilogy by Tara Sue Me that has captivated millions… Nathaniel West doesn’t lose control. As the playboy CEO of …

Review: Notorious Nineteen (Stephanie Plum #19) by Janet Evanovich

Notorious Nineteen (Stephanie Plum #19) by Janet Evanovich *audio book borrowed and downloaded from local library’s overdrive system* Regina’s Rating: 2.5 stars/Grade D Blurb: New Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum is certain of three truths: People don’t just vanish into thin air. Never anger old people. And don’t do what Tiki tells you to do. …

Read with Caution: Beautiful Bastard and Primal Law

Today’s “Read With Caution” features two different books in two different genres: Beautiful Bastard, a popular Twilight fan fiction previously known online as ‘The Office” and Primal Law, the first book in the “Alpha Pack” Paranormal Romance series. Read the Badass reviews to find out why you should proceed carefully with these books. Beautiful Bastard …

ARC Review: Release Me by J. Kenner

ARC Review: Release Me by J. Kenner Book provided by NetGalley, Edelweiss, and Random House Release Date: January 1, 2013 Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” …

Read with Caution: The Perfect Play and Urban Shaman

the perfect play

Today we start a new bimonthly feature in which we discuss two popular books that didn’t impress us much. Why? Because we think our job is not only to recommend you great books, but also to steer you away from not so great reads. At the same time, we know that different books appeal to …

ARC Review: City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte

City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte Publication Date: 27 Nov 2012 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Penguin Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Cosmically fast-paced and wildly imaginative, this debut novel is a perfect potion of magic and suspense!Once a city of enormous wealth and culture, Prague was home to emperors, alchemists, astronomers, and, as it’s …

ARC Review: Anything He Wants by Sara Fawkes

ARC Review: Anything He Wants by Sara Fawkes Release Date: November 27, 2012 Book provided by NetGalley and St. Martin’s Griffin Synopsis from Goodreads: First published as a five-part serial novel, Anything He Wants inflamed imaginations everywhere and became a national bestseller. Now available for the first time ever as a complete book, this edition …

ARC Review: Innocent Darkness by Suzanne Lazear

Innocent Darkness by Suzanne Lezear Book 1: The Aether Chronicles series Book provided by NetGalley and Flux Books Release date: August 8, 2012  [box color=yellow]Synopsis from Goodreads: Wish. Love. Desire. Live. Sixteen-year-old Noli Braddock’s hoyden ways land her in an abusive reform school far from home. On mid-summer’s eve she wishes to be anyplace but …