Category «C Reviews»

New Release Review: Cold Fusion by Harper Fox

Cold Fusion by Harper Fox Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance Publication Date: January 5th, 2016 Publisher: Samhain Publishing   Synopsis from Goodreads: Their love is the catalyst that could save the planet…or cost their lives. As an environmental activist for Peace Warrior, Kier Mallory never hesitated to throw himself into dangerous situations. Until his hotheadedness costs the lives …

Blog Tour: Review, Excerpt & Giveaway for Strange Girl by Christopher Pike

Strange Girl by Christopher Pike Genre: Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: November 17th, 2015 Physical copy provided by Simon Pulse Synopsis from Goodreads: From #1 New York Times bestselling author Christopher Pike comes a brand-new fascinating and seductive new novel about a girl with a mysterious ability—but one that carries an unimaginable cost. From the moment Fred meets Aja, he knows …

New Release Review: Sweet Ruin by Kresley Cole

Sweet Ruin by Kresley Cole Series: Immortals After Dark #16 Genre: Paranormal Romance Release Date: Dec 1st, 2015 Audiobook Narrated by: Robert Petkoff A foundling raised in a world of humans ~ Growing up, orphaned Josephine didn’t know who or what she was—just that she was “bad,” an outcast with strange powers. Protecting her baby …

New Release Review: Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken Book #1 in Passenger Genre: YA Science Fiction/Fantasy, Time Travel Publication Date: January 5th 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Disney-Hyperion Synopsis from Goodreads: passage, n. i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes. ii. A journey by water; a voyage. iii. The transition from one place …

Genre Book Showdown: This is Where it Ends vs Violent Ends

I’ve been sitting on This Is Where It Ends for a long time.  I requested it months ago, but wanted to put my review out closer to it’s release date.  While I waited Violent Ends came out, and I thought it was interesting that the two were very similar.  Not only were both books about school shootings, both …

Holiday Reads, courtesy of Riptide Publishing!

  Rebound Remedy by Christine d’Abo Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance Publication Date: November 9th, 2015 Publisher: Riptide Publishing   Synopsis from Goodreads: The last thing Cole expects to get for the holidays is dumped. But there he is, in the airport on his way to Banff for a romantic getaway, helplessly watching as his boyfriend’s ex declares …

New Release Review: Chimera by Mira Grant

Chimera by Mira Grant Parasitology #3 Genre: Sci-Fi Horror Publication Date: November 24th, 2015 Publisher: Orbit Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: The final book in Mira Grant’s terrifying Parasitology trilogy. The outbreak has spread, tearing apart the foundations of society, as implanted tapeworms have turned their human hosts into a seemingly mindless mob. Sal and her …

Early Review: The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: November 10th, 2015 Publisher: Loveswept  Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations. Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her …

New Release Review: The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher The Cinder Spires #1 Genre: Sci-Fi Steampunk Publication Date: September 29th, 2015 Publisher: Roc   Synopsis from Goodreads: Jim Butcher, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Dresden Files and the Codex Alera novels, conjures up a new series set in a fantastic world of noble families, steam-powered technology, and …

Early Review: Blindsight by Adriane Leigh

Blindsight by Adriane Leigh Book #1 in Blindsight Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: October 26th, 2015 ARC provided by Adriane Leigh Synopsis from Goodreads: {blind·sight: the ability to see without knowing it} Sometimes a single touch is all it takes to spark a wildfire. Erin Warner learned that the day she bumped into the dashing, tattooed …

New Release Review: The Taming of Malcolm Grant by Paula Quinn

The Taming of Malcolm Grant by Paula Quinn Book #4 in The MacGregors: Highland Heirs Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 29th, 2015 ARC provided by Grand Central Publishing and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: AN ALLURING LASS Emmaline Grey spends her days with her beloved dog, dreaming of the sea-until a brawling Highlander shatters her quiet life …

Series Review: Panapolis by Cari Z

Panopolis Series by Cari Z Genre: M/M Superhero Romance Publisher: Riptide Publishing   Wendy’s Review: Boy do I get sucked in by a good cover.  I was just flipping casually through Negalley’s catalog when I came across that fierce cover of Where There’s Fire.  I mean, isn’t it so awesome?  The color of the title, the guy in the hoodie, the blue …

Review Hodgepodge (#1)

Sometimes I get so caught up in the joy of reading, I forget I’m also supposed to (hopefully) be helpful and informative to other people when they’re choosing books or if they just want to compare notes. Today, I have some books I’ve read, but been so gung-ho to start my next read that I’ve …

New Release Review: The Murderer’s Daughter by Jonathan Kellerman

The Murderer’s Daughter by Jonathan Kellerman Genre: Mystery Publication Date: August 18th, 2015 Publisher: Ballantine Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: A brilliant, deeply dedicated psychologist, Grace Blades has a gift for treating troubled souls and tormented psyches—perhaps because she bears her own invisible scars: Only five years old when she witnessed her parents’ deaths in a bloody …

Review: Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles

Leaving Paradise by Simone Elkeles Book #1 in Leaving Paradise Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: April 8th, 2007 Synopsis from Goodreads: Nothing has been the same since Caleb Becker left a party drunk, got behind the wheel, and hit Maggie Armstrong. Even after months of painful physical therapy, Maggie walks with a limp. Her social life is nil …

New Release Review: Tremaine’s True Love by Grace Burrowes

Tremaine’s True Love by Grace Burrowes Book #1 in True Gentlemen Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: August 4th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Synopsis from Goodreads:  Tremaine St. Michael is firmly in trade and seeks only to negotiate the sale of some fancy sheep with the Earl of Haddonfield. The earl’s sister, Lady Nita, …

New Release Review: Just a Summer Fling by Cate Cameron

Just a Summer Fling by Cate Cameron Book #1 in Sullivan Lake Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: August 4th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: Sullivan Lake, Vermont, has plenty of attractions for movie star Ashley Carlsen—pristine nature, local color, and a handyman with a bad reputation for all the right …

Review: Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter

Paper Aeroplanes by Dawn O’Porter Book #1 in Paper Aeroplanes series Genre: YA Contemporary Fiction Publication Date: May 2nd, 2013 Publisher: Hot Key Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s the mid-1990s, and fifteen year-old Guernsey schoolgirls, Renée and Flo, are not really meant to be friends. Thoughtful, introspective and studious Flo couldn’t be more different to ambitious, extroverted …

New Release Review: Flight from Death by Yasmine Galenorn

Flight from Death by Yasmine Galenorn Book #1 in Fly by Night Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: July 7th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: I’m Shimmer, a blue dragon shifter. Thanks to a mistake, I was exiled from the Dragon Reaches and sentenced to work for Alex Radcliffe, a vampire who …

Early Review: Breaking Her Rules by Jennifer Snow

Breaking Her Rules by Jennifer Snow Book #1 in Beyond the Cage  Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 21st, 2015 Publisher: NAL/Intermix   Synopsis from Goodreads: MMA fighters go the distance in this all-new series from Jennifer Snow, author of the Brookhollow novels. Walker Adams was supposed to follow in his lawyer father’s footsteps, but instead he’s training …