Category «B reviews»

Early Review: On Broken Wings by Chanel Cleeton

On Broken Wings was the culmination of events that happened in the first book, along with a love carried over the entire trilogy. I figure if you’re reading this review then you probably read the synopsis, so I don’t feel like it’s a spoiler for me to say this is the story of a widow learning to find love again. That’s a plot full of landmines, for sure.

Early Review : Beyond Surrender by Kit Rocha

Okay, so the Beyond books are an erotic/dystopian series that takes place over the course of 9 interlinking books. Beyond Surrender is the final book in this particular series, although there are a set of spin-off books coming up in the next year. Throughout the years, the stories have featured couples, a menage, a foursome, and the sexuality is fluid.. so if polyamorous relationships or bisexuality is not your thing, well… these may not be the books for you.

New Release Review: A Sure Thing by Marie Harte

A Sure Thing was just…OK. Although I really liked the cocky hero and his family, the heroine left me cold with all her psychobabble. In general, I don’t have objections to main characters from particular professions but I think “therapist MC” will become a no-no for me.

Review: Managed by Kristen Callihan

I’m not that big of a rock star fan, it’s not a trope or story that I particularly like or am drawn to… and Managed actually focuses on the band’s manager, Gabriel Scott, aka Scottie, and their newest hire, photographer turned social media expert, Sophie Darling.

Early Review: Trophy Wife by Noelle Adams

I enjoyed “Trophy Wife” a lot more than I thought I would.

Neither the title nor the cover inspired much confidence that this would be up my alley but I like heroines who take charge of their lives and work for what they want. And that was Alison to a T. The description makes her sound brash but she’s really very brave. She divorces her husband, leaving the luxury she’s known all her life because she wants to find herself and stop being the kind of woman who depends on her husband for everything.

Early Review: Miracle on 5th Avenue by Sarah Morgan

I’m totally anti-Holidays. Not because I’m against the sentiment behind them, but because of how commercial they are in the U.S. (I’ve never put up a tree in my life.) That means that I seldom read Holiday romances but “Miracle on 5th Avenue” called out to me because it’s set in NYC. Even with the Holiday theme, I enjoyed it more than I thought.

New Release Review: Replica by Lauren Oliver

I’ve been leery of Ms. Oliver ever since she ruined the Delirium series (I loved the first book and hated the second so much that I didn’t finish the series) but I was curious about the gimmick in Replica. You see, Replica can be read in various ways. You can read Lyra’s story first and Gemma’s second or viceversa or you can read it in alternating chapters (although the latter takes a bit of work as each story is separate.) I started with Gemma’s, read a few chapters, switched to Lyra’s, read a few chapters and would continue one narrative or the other depending on which story was more interesting at the time. It made for a unique listening experience.

Review: Love, Lucas by Chantele Sedgwick

This book deals with grief over the death of an immediate family member, so if that’s not your cuppa, you’re probably better off staying away for the time being. That being said, I thought the subject of Oakley’s brother, Lucas, was handled with sensitivity and realism. The book is basically a series of letters to Oakley, written to her by Lucas (now deceased). Oakley uses them to help her grieve over his death as well as taking his advice and wishes for her to heart.

Review: In Her Defense by Julianna Keyes

I picked “In Her Defense” from the library without reading the first book in the series. (This was a conscious decision as the hero of the first book is an ex-con which is a real stretch for me.) Reading some reviews, I found out that Caitlin, the heroine here, was actually the villain of the first book. Not having read it, I didn’t know the extent of her villainy, but I was curious how Ms. Keyes would redeem her.

Soon enough I found out that Caitlin’s reputation was well deserved. She’s aggressive, cutthroat, ambitious, impatient, confident and simply the best at her job. The best part? Ms. Keyes didn’t make any excuses to justify or explain Caitlin’s personality. There wasn’t any kind of trauma in her life, that’s just the way she was. And I just loved that characterization. Why is it that women cannot be ball-busters in romance without some sort of ordeal involving their mommys or past boyfriends?

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Admittedly, while I have grown a bit tired of the Psy-Changeling books, I still feel very compelled by Singh’s Guild Hunter series. I think part of this is due to the structure of the books and how they feel more Urban Fantasy than Paranormal Romance. Elena and Raphael’s relationship is now well established and the arcs are more focused on developments that are external in nature.

Release Day Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Lean Konen Genre: YA Romance Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 Publisher: Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ …

Review: Barely Breathing by Pamela Clare

“Barely Breathing” is the first book in Pamela Clare’s new “Colorado High Country” series. It was a good solid story but it was missing the usual excitement that I’m used to from Ms. Clare books. There was a bit of action but it was a definite secondary plot that came in too late.

Early Review: Cast in Flight by Michelle Sagara

The world building is exquisite. Richly layered, with finely developed characters who always leave you wanting more. If the “Chosen One” mythos is not your ideal fantasy material, this may not be the series for you, as it does tend to structure the plot and arcs around Kaylin Neya, our heroine. There is no romance, although her partner Severn’s attraction to her is discussed in earlier books, but make no mistake….Kaylin is not ready for a romance, and her thoughts and actions reflect this. As a reader, I love it when the characters and their actions are consistent, and this is one of the series’ biggest strengths.

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Along for the Ride

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: June 16th, 2009 Synopsis from Goodreads:  It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming …

Review: Do You Want To Start A Scandal

Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: September 27, 2016 Publisher: Avon Source: Reviewer Purchase Synopsis from Goodreads: On the night of the Parkhurst ball, someone had a scandalous tryst in the library. •Was it Lord Canby, with the maid, on the divan? •Or Miss Fairchild, with a rake, against the wall? •Perhaps the butler did it.All …

Badass Hidden Gem: Fallen from Grace by Laura Leone

Horrible cover notwithstanding, “Fallen from Grace” is one of the best contemporary romances I’ve read in a long time. With a topic like this, you expect the book to be somewhat sordid but nothing farther from the truth. The story was romantic, tender and real enough that I was able to understand the circumstances of a person in the life. How the author was able to balance a real love story and a background of prostitution, rape and abuse is beyond me but she did a great job at it

New Release Review: Her Halloween Treat by Tiffany Reisz

Her Halloween Treat by Tiffany Reisz Book #1 in Men at Work Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 20th, 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin Synopsis from Goodreads: Trick…or wicked treat! It was a devastating dirty trick—Joey Silvia just found out her boyfriend of two years is married. What. A. Dick. Joey knows her best chance …

Early Review: The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker

The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker The Delphi Trilogy #1 Genre: YA Paranormal Publication Date: October 11th, 2016 Publisher: Skyscape Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s never wise to talk to strangers…and that goes double when they’re dead. Unfortunately, seventeen-year-old Anna Morgan has no choice. Resting on a park bench, touching the turnstile at the Metro station—she never knows …

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Keeping the Moon

Here I am keeping the momentum going with my latest Sarah Dessen read. As usual, she leaves me reflecting on and longing for those days from way back! Keeping the Moon by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: September 1st, 1999 Synopsis from Goodreads:  While her mother, aerobics queen Kiki Sparks, spends the summer …

Release Day Review: The Goal by Elle Kennedy

The Goal by Elle Kennedy Series: Off-Campus #4 Genre: New Adult Release Date: Sep 26, 2016 ARC provided by the author via Nina Bocci PR She’s good at achieving her goals… College senior Sabrina James has her whole future planned out: graduate from college, kick butt in law school, and land a high-paying job at …