Category «Reviews by Author»

Currently working on this section

Early Review: On Broken Wings by Chanel Cleeton

On Broken Wings was the culmination of events that happened in the first book, along with a love carried over the entire trilogy. I figure if you’re reading this review then you probably read the synopsis, so I don’t feel like it’s a spoiler for me to say this is the story of a widow learning to find love again. That’s a plot full of landmines, for sure.

On the Hunt | Tracking an Epic Romance

  Isn’t there no better feeling than finding a book that’s like magic in your hands.  A story that, from page one, sucks you in and holds you hostage.  One that when you get to the end and you can feel your heart squeezing, and your soul aching, and you just clutch the book to your …

Early Review: Hooked by Brenda Rothert

The best thing about Hooked is the cover.

The premise was great but it just fizzled. The pacing was off, the characterization was weak, love scenes were meh and both conflicts were undeveloped and solved WAY to easily. There wasn’t anything exciting about this book with the exception of Jake, who was as hot as they come. But a hot hero does not a romance make.

New Release Review: Ruled by Elle Kennedy

I’ve been with the Outlaws series since the beginning, and I have been a huge supporter of it. Claimed was one of my Top Reads of 2015, and Addicted is definitely a contender for my 2016 list. I love the idea of ‘outlaws’ in a dystopian world, and the sex scenes have been amazing. Sadly, this installment did not measure up to the first two.

Early Review: Trophy Wife by Noelle Adams

I enjoyed “Trophy Wife” a lot more than I thought I would.

Neither the title nor the cover inspired much confidence that this would be up my alley but I like heroines who take charge of their lives and work for what they want. And that was Alison to a T. The description makes her sound brash but she’s really very brave. She divorces her husband, leaving the luxury she’s known all her life because she wants to find herself and stop being the kind of woman who depends on her husband for everything.

Release Day Review: Scythe by Neal Shusterman

I love Neal Shusterman. I mean, honestly. I wish I could poke around in his brain in an attempt to figure out how he comes up with these things. I remember reading something once about how Stephen King is amazing because he just has all these bizarre stories marinating in his head, just waiting to be plucked out and put on paper. It’s true of King, it’s also very true of Neal Shusterman. He just has this way of taking real world topics and approaching them in such new and thought provoking ways.

A Year of Sarah Dessen | That Summer

I just can’t push myself to finish. There was absolutely nothing going on here. Haven is tall. Her parents are divorced. Her dad just got remarried. Her sister is getting married in a few weeks. That’s the bare bones of this story, and I feel like that’s all there is to this – bare bones.

Review: Love, Lucas by Chantele Sedgwick

This book deals with grief over the death of an immediate family member, so if that’s not your cuppa, you’re probably better off staying away for the time being. That being said, I thought the subject of Oakley’s brother, Lucas, was handled with sensitivity and realism. The book is basically a series of letters to Oakley, written to her by Lucas (now deceased). Oakley uses them to help her grieve over his death as well as taking his advice and wishes for her to heart.

Audiobook Review: Spiral of Need by Suzanne Wright

Maybe it’s semantics, but I feel like The Mercury Pack should be called a ‘companion’ to the The Phoenix Pack series as opposed to a spin-off. Spin-off, to me, indicates that while there may be similarities, there’ll be something new and fresh. I didn’t get that here at all. This was mostly a mash-up of The Phoenix Pack scenes, and it used to be that all the females in these series were interchangeable, but it’s gotten to the point where the characters act so much alike, they’re all interchangeable.

Early Review: Junior Hero Blues by J.K. Pendragon

The idea of an LGBT main character, is what drew me to “Junior Hero Blues”. Javi was an unpopular gay kid at his school, starting to date an extremely popular kid, and in addition he’s dealing with having superpowers and working as a Junior Hero for the Legion.

Review: Archangel’s Heart by Nalini Singh

Admittedly, while I have grown a bit tired of the Psy-Changeling books, I still feel very compelled by Singh’s Guild Hunter series. I think part of this is due to the structure of the books and how they feel more Urban Fantasy than Paranormal Romance. Elena and Raphael’s relationship is now well established and the arcs are more focused on developments that are external in nature.

Release Day Review: The Romantics by Leah Konen

The Romantics by Lean Konen Genre: YA Romance Publication Date: November 1st, 2016 Publisher: Amulet Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Lauren Myracle and Rainbow Rowell, The Romantics will charm readers of all ages. Gael Brennan is about to have his heart broken when his first big relationship crumbles on the heels of his parents’ …

Review: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

“The Hating Game” is a hilarious mix of romance and chick-lit. And you’ll ask…what’s the difference? Isn’t there always some sort of love interest in chick-lit? Well, yes, but I feel that in chick-lit, everything is about the female character. In The Hating Game, the story is really about both of them, even though it’s told in first person from Lucy’s POV. And then there’s the sexy love scene, who puts it squarely in the romance category (there’s just one but it’s a SCORCHER!) *fans self*

A Year of Sarah Dessen | Along for the Ride

Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: June 16th, 2009 Synopsis from Goodreads:  It’s been so long since Auden slept at night. Ever since her parents’ divorce—or since the fighting started. Now she has the chance to spend a carefree summer with her dad and his new family in the charming …

Release Day Review: Friendly Fire by Cari Z

Friendly Fire by Cari Z Genre: M/M Romantic Suspense Publication Date: October 17th, 2016 Publisher: Riptide Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: Elliot McKenzie is the king of reinvention. Five years after losing his job and his lover and almost going to prison, his self-help program, Charmed Life, is more successful than he’d ever dreamed. He thinks he’s put …

Badass Hidden Gem: Fallen from Grace by Laura Leone

Horrible cover notwithstanding, “Fallen from Grace” is one of the best contemporary romances I’ve read in a long time. With a topic like this, you expect the book to be somewhat sordid but nothing farther from the truth. The story was romantic, tender and real enough that I was able to understand the circumstances of a person in the life. How the author was able to balance a real love story and a background of prostitution, rape and abuse is beyond me but she did a great job at it

New Release Review: Her Halloween Treat by Tiffany Reisz

Her Halloween Treat by Tiffany Reisz Book #1 in Men at Work Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 20th, 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin Synopsis from Goodreads: Trick…or wicked treat! It was a devastating dirty trick—Joey Silvia just found out her boyfriend of two years is married. What. A. Dick. Joey knows her best chance …

Release Day Review: Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta

Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil by Melina Marchetta Genre: Mystery Publication Date: October 11th, 2016 Publisher: Mulholland Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Bashir “Bish” Ortley is a London desk cop. Almost over it. Still not dealing with the death of his son years ago, as well as the break-up of his marriage. Across the channel, …

New Release Review: Well Hung by Lauren Blakely

“Well Hung” is without a doubt, Lauren Blakely’s best book to date. It was sexy, it was funny, it was romantic and finally, finally! There was a conflict. It wasn’t anything angsty – Ms. Blakely doesn’t write angst – or silly, or earth-shattering, but it MADE SENSE FOR THE CHARACTER.

Early Review: The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker

The Delphi Effect by Rysa Walker The Delphi Trilogy #1 Genre: YA Paranormal Publication Date: October 11th, 2016 Publisher: Skyscape Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s never wise to talk to strangers…and that goes double when they’re dead. Unfortunately, seventeen-year-old Anna Morgan has no choice. Resting on a park bench, touching the turnstile at the Metro station—she never knows …