Jan 302013
 
Pinterest

ARC Review: The Water Witch by Juliet Dark (Carol Goodman)
Book 2 – Fairwick Chronicles
Book provided by Edelweiss and Random House
Release Date: February 12, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads: Perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Elizabeth Kostova, The Water Watch is a breathtakingly sexy and atmospheric new novel of ancient folklore, passionate love, and thrilling magic.

After casting out a dark spirit, Callie McFay, a professor of gothic literature, has at last restored a semblance of calm to her rambling Victorian house. But in the nearby thicket of the Honeysuckle Forest, and in the currents of the rushing Undine River, more trouble is stirring. . . .

The enchanted town of Fairwick’s dazzling mix of mythical creatures has come under siege from the Grove: a sinister group of witches determined to banish the fey back to their ancestral land. With factions turning on one another, all are cruelly forced to take sides. Callie’s grandmother, a prominent Grove member, demands her granddaughter’s compliance, but half-witch/half-fey Callie can hardly betray her friends and colleagues at the college.

To stave off disaster, Callie enlists Duncan Laird, an alluring seductive academic who cultivates her vast magical potential, but to what end? Deeply conflicted, Callie struggles to save her beloved Fairwick, dangerously pushing her extraordinary powers to the limit—risking all, even the needs of her own passionate heart.

AH’s Review – 4 Skulls – A-

Demon Lover made me a fan of Juliet Dark (Carol Goodman). I really enjoyed the dark, gothic romance of that book and I eagerly picked up a copy of The Water Witch. I was glad to be back in the Catskill town of Fairwick, back with Callie and her eccentric circle of friends.

The author sets the mood so well in the prologue. The writing is both beautiful and descriptive and it is easy to imagine yourself in that town watching all of the magic and action. The previous book is recapped well, without feeling repetitive.

In The Water Witch, Callie is trying to get over the loss of her incubus lover Liam however, he still appears to her in her dreams. And oh, what dreams…If she loves him, he’ll become a real man. In the meantime, the mysterious Bill the handyman appears as does Duncan, a visiting professor sent to train Callie to use her powers.

Callie is the doorkeeper to Faerie and as doorkeeper she must escort a group of undines back to Faerie. Something goes awry and the undine Lorelei wreaks havoc on the town of Fairwick. Meanwhile, Callie’s grandmother and The Grove with the help of IMP(Institute of Magical Professionals) campaign to close the doors to Faerie permanently. This action would have an immediate consequence for the town of Fairwick and its citizens as half the town would need to leave.

This was an action packed book, yet it had a laid back relaxing feel to it. Callie’s character is stronger in this book. She is coming into her powers and she has a lot of support from her neighbors and friends.

Callie’s grandmother is one scary lady. Almost as scary as the zombie beavers. (Yes! There are zombie beavers in this book! Really!)

If you haven’t tried Juliet Dark/Carol Goodman’s books yet, I recommend that you do. Especially if you enjoy dark, gothic books full of intriguing characters with all sorts of magical powers.

There is another book planned in the series: The Hallowed Door. I can’t wait!

Rating:  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

 

Series Reading Order:

1. Demon Lover
2. The Water Witch – Feb 12, 2013
3. The Hallowed Door (TBA)

 

Thank you to Edelweiss and Random House for a review copy of this book.

© 2013, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved. Please do not copy reviews or content from this site.

Bookmark and Share

AH

AHHi all! Bonjour! I’m AH and I am obsessed with reading. I read all kinds of books, but my favorites are paranormal romance and urban fantasy. What is it about those vampires and shape-shifters? Lately, I seem to be reading a lot of dystopian books as well. Are zombies the new vampire? I hope not. I have 3 boys – all reluctant readers so I tend to read a lot of young adult books aimed at boys. I want them to catch the reading bug too! I’m looking forward to sharing my thoughts about books with you. Hope we can discover some great reads together.
 Posted by on January 30, 2013 at 7:00 am

  2 Responses to “ARC Review: The Water Witch by Juliet Dark (Carol Goodman)”

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge