ARC Review: Stolen by Shiloh Walker

ARC Review: Stolen by Shiloh Walker
Book provided by Edelweiss and Ballantine Books
Release date: October 30, 2012

[box color=blue]Synopsis from Goodreads: This thrilling and super sexy novel from bestselling romantic suspense author Shiloh Walker will appeal to fans of Allison Brennan and Linda Howard.

Shay Morgan has stayed hidden for a long time. Living a reclusive life in Earth’s End, Alaska, she’s as far away as she can get from the trauma of her childhood and the man who hurt her long ago. But terror takes over Shay’s life yet again when an unknown stalker steals away the fragile peace she’s built for herself—targeting not only her but the one man who’s ever managed to get past the walls she’s built around herself.

Elliot Winter has lived through being falsely accused before—it ruined his military career. Now it’s happening all over again. And this time, his accuser is a twisted impostor who’s targeting his ex-girlfriend, Shay. Despite a fierce mutual attraction, Shay and Elliot broke up because Shay couldn’t let her guard down, couldn’t let Elliot in. But now they both need to trust each other to confront a psycho who seems to know all their secrets.[/box]

 

AH’s Review – 4 Skulls – A-

Stolen is the first book I’ve read by Shiloh Walker *hangs head in shame*. It definitely won’t be my last.

Stolen is the story of a young author Shay Morgan and the man who loves her Elliot Winter. What’s nice about this story is that both the hero and heroine are damaged goods; each brings their own inner demons (or dragons, in Shay’s case) to the story. As Shay is introduced, she is so very skittish, fearful of everything around her and very much a recluse. She even writes her books under a pseudonym. Shay values her privacy so much that she has moved to the isolated Alaskan community of Earth’s End, probably the farthest one can be to get away from it all.

Shay’s damage comes from some sort of traumatic childhood experience that she barely remembers. In addition, she is recuperating from a pretty serious car accident where she was in a coma for several days. She is on a trip into town when she crosses paths with her ex-boyfriend Elliot.

I must admit that I was a little annoyed with both Shay and Elliot at first. So much angst! So little communication between them. I felt that there would be no way that these two could even be in the same room, let alone have a relationship. Both characters just seemed doomed to their boring lives and Shay’s damage seemed irreparable Luckily for Shay, her best friend Lorna was also Elliot’s sister.

Shay realizes that someone is using her name and masquerading as her writing alter-ego. She even finds some signed books in Elliot’s bookstore – books that she did not sign. All sorts of social media accounts are set up in her name, accounts that she did not authorize. Stolen is the story of a woman who gets her identity stolen in a most insidious manner, through the internet. The story raises some extremely scary questions: How can a person protect themselves from such a theft? What can you do once someone does this?

I did guess who the antagonist was very quickly but I was awed by the lengths this character went to terrorize Shay and even Elliot. This character was totally psycho.

I enjoyed how the relationship between Shay and Elliot developed. Shay had a lot of trust issues and Elliot was strong and patient with her, and very much worth the wait.

I’ll be on the lookout for more books by this author in the future.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Thank  you to Edelweiss and Ballantine Books for a review copy of this book.

© 2012, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.