ARC Review: Rogue Rider by Larissa Ione

ARC Review: Rogue Rider by Larissa Ione
Book 4 of Lords of Deliverance series
Release Date: November 20, 2012
Book provided by NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing

Synopsis from Goodreads:
They’re here.
They ride.
The Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse.
Born of a match between good and evil, four siblings stand between hell’s minions and everything they want to destroy. They are the Lords of Deliverance, and they have the power to ward off Doomsday . . . or let it ride . . .ROGUE RIDERJillian Cardiff came to this remote mountain town to forget the demon attack that almost killed her. Instead, she rescues-and falls for-a gorgeous stranger who has no memory of anything other than his name. Handsome, charming, and protective, Reseph seems like the kind of man whom Jillian can trust. But with hints of a troubling history of his own, he’s also the kind of man who can be very dangerous . . .Reseph may not know why he mysteriously appeared in Jillian’s life, but he knows he wants to stay. Yet when Jillian’s neighbors are killed, and demon hunters arrive on the scene, Reseph fears that he’s putting Jillian in danger. And once it’s revealed that Reseph is also Pestilence, the Horseman responsible for ravaging the world, he and Jillian must face the greatest challenge of all: Can they forget the horrors of a chilling past to save the future they both desire?

AH’s Review – 4 stars – A-

Never thought that I would get to love Reseph. Lots of action, hot & steamy sex, and a seriously hot horseman of the apocalypse.

Larissa Ione’s Lords of Deliverance series is great fun to read. Where else can you find the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse portrayed as gorgeous, hunky, smexy specimens of men (or woman)? Each book tells the story of one of the Four Horsemen. Book 4 focuses on Reseph (Pestilence). Ever since I read Lethal Rider, I have been dying to read Reseph’s story.

In Lethal Rider, Reseph (Pestilence) was over the top evil. At one point, I even rolled my eyes and wondered just how much more mayhem and destruction a single being could create. Just how bad could a being become? Was there any remorse for his actions? It just felt like a little too much. In this book, we are treated to another side of Pestilence – Reseph, and he really is someone I could fall in love with. Can you even imagine a kind, charming, adorable, and oh, so sexy Reseph?

Part of the charm of this series is the women that change the Horsemen and reduce them to domestic mates and lovers. Jillian Cardiff discovers Reseph stark naked in the snow. He has no memory, doesn’t have a clue who he is, and hasn’t got an idea how he got to a remote corner of Colorado. Oh, there are plenty of comments about his remarkable physique and what a perfect specimen of a man he is.

Jillian left her life in Florida after she had a run in with demons that left her scarred. She moved to remote Colorado to be as far from the chaos as possible. Jillian is perfect for Reseph and the attraction is mutual. Jillian is fearful that Reseph will leave her when he finds out who he is.

We also get more of Harvester and Reaver in this book, which makes me very impatient waiting for more of Reaver’s story. And holy moly, what interesting revelations in this book!

The other Horsemen – Ares, Limos, Thanatos and their wives also appear in the story. It’s always so nice to see these guys so domesticated and so very protective of their families.

Did I mention just how much I love the world that the author has created? The Lords of Deliverance series builds upon the author’s Demonica series. This is a world full of angels, demons, and humans. Each set of beings has its own hierarchy of power. The Biblical references are fascinating and fit very well into the narrative. The author writes her characters with an amusing sense of humor and some of the dialogue had me chuckling.

While it is not necessary to read the Demonica series prior to reading the Lords of Deliverance series, it is highly recommended. The Lords of Deliverance series should be read in order.

Rogue Rider is an entertaining read. I love losing myself in this world. I can’t wait for the next book in the series – Reaver’s story.

Rating:  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Series Reading Order:

1. Eternal Rider
2. Immortal Rider
3. Lethal Rider
4. Rogue Rider

Thank you to NetGalley and Grand Central Publishing for a review copy of this book.


© 2012, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved.

Comments 1