Dec 102012

ARC Review: Release Me by J. Kenner
Book provided by NetGalley, Edelweiss, and Random House
Release Date: January 1, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads: For fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You comes an erotic, emotionally charged romance between a powerful man who’s never heard “no” and a fiery woman who says “yes” on her own terms.

He was the one man I couldn’t avoid. And the one man I couldn’t resist.

Damien Stark could have his way with any woman. He was sexy, confident, and commanding: Anything he wanted, he got. And what he wanted was me.

Our attraction was unmistakable, almost beyond control, but as much as I ached to be his, I feared the pressures of his demands. Submitting to Damien meant I had to bare the darkest truth about my past—and risk breaking us apart.

But Damien was haunted, too. And as our passion came to obsess us both, his secrets threatened to destroy him—and us—forever.

Release Me is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

AH’s Review – 2 Skulls – D

Here we go again. Another romance book about a gorgeous billionaire businessman (who knew that there were so many of them?) and his lady love. Meet Damien Stark, a former tennis star and now rich entrepreneur. Damien is handsome, beautiful, magnificent – insert adjectives here. In fact, he is so stunning that the first third of the book is dedicated to waxing poetic about Damien’s good looks. I get it! He’s rich and powerful and gorgeous. Can we get on with the story, please?

I did like Damien’s love interest Nikki Fairchild. It was refreshing to see a character that was well educated with degrees in both electrical engineering and computer science. A former child beauty pageant participant, Nikki was a straight A student and earned a scholarship from Damien’s Fellowship committee. Nikki also knew that her looks were the reason she was hired as an assistant to the owner of a technology company. I liked that Nikki had plans for her future and those plans involved launching her own company.

OK, so why the 2 star rating? I kept getting that “déjà-lu” feeling when I read this book. Sure, the sexy scenes were hot and the characters had chemistry together. BUT – I feel like I’ve already read this book before which is a shame because it really is well written. I kind of wish it had been written before the hoopla that surrounds that other trilogy.

The book felt formulaic: Obscenely rich billionaire (are there any other kinds?) meets young college graduate, playful emails are exchanged, some hot and steamy moments ensue, a little kink is thrown in for good measure, a bad guy stalks the happy couple, there is a misunderstanding that causes a temporary breakup, they get back together, even more steamier sex scenes, and a happily ever after.

Basically, if you loved the Fifty Shades trilogy and are looking for something similar, then Release Me is a book you will most likely enjoy. If you are looking for a nice, well written romance with a touch of kink and didn’t mind Fifty Shades, you may also like this book. Personally, I am looking for something fresh and new.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Thank you to NetGalley, Edelweiss and Random House for a review copy of this book.

© 2012 – 2014, Badass Book Reviews. All rights reserved. Please do not copy reviews or content from this site.

Bookmark and Share


AH[suffusion-the-author display='description']
 Posted by on December 10, 2012 at 7:00 am

  4 Responses to “ARC Review: Release Me by J. Kenner”