Nov 212014
 
group-reviews
 
 
Symbiont by Mira GrantSymbiont 
Book #2 in the Parasitology Trilogy
Genre: Sci-Fi Horror
Publication Date: November 25, 2014
Publisher: Orbit
 

Synopsis from Goodreads:

THE SECOND BOOK IN MIRA GRANT’S TERRIFYING PARASITOLOGY SERIES.

THE ENEMY IS INSIDE US.

The SymboGen designed tapeworms were created to relieve humanity of disease and sickness. But the implants in the majority of the world’s population began attacking their hosts turning them into a ravenous horde.

Now those who do not appear to be afflicted are being gathered for quarantine as panic spreads, but Sal and her companions must discover how the tapeworms are taking over their hosts, what their eventual goal is, and how they can be stopped.

As huge fans of Mira Grant’s Newsflesh series, some of us at Badass Book Reviews are thrilled when we see one of her books available to read.  When Symbiont became available on Netgalley we freaked and immediately jumped on reading it as quickly as we could.  What you see below is a compiled conversation Regina and I had after reading Symbiont.

Please note that the conversation below does contain spoilers for anyone who has not read the first book, Parasite.

Wendy & Regina’s Reviewish-like Thoughts

Regina: I don’t know what to rate it.

Wendy: It’s a hard one.  I had the same issue that I did with the first book.  When reading, I enjoy it.  When I put it down, it’s forgettable.

Regina: Yes.  Agreed.  I think the writing is brilliant.  The characters are great.  But I hate the premise.  I hate it and I have a hard time buying into it.  Also there is a lot of discussion about what tapeworms look like and references to their bodies.  Yuck!

Wendy: Yes.  And it’s hard reading about Sal who keeps reminding me that she’s a tapeworm wearing a human bodysuit.  It gives me the willies.

Regina: Blech.  Yes.  And talks about her true body.  And her fear of teeth.  Also, I don’t trust Nathan.  Is anyone that perfect?  I think he is a badly written character.  How could anyone just accept being with a tapeworm?!

Wendy: Yes!  So, every time she talks about sex or kissing with Nathan I get grossed out!

Regina: Yes, yes, yes!!  I also don’t think the entire world would fall.  I can’t accept that there are tapeworms in Africa, parts of Asia and South America.  The European Union would never have approved these.  :)

Wendy: Right!!! It’s disgusting.  I can appreciate the idea of acceptance but that is pushing it.

Regina: It really is.  And I keep thinking – so what if she gets pregnant?  And really how could a tapeworm operate a brain.  I think it was brilliant as a one book standalone but as a concept of chimera and evolution, it is too much.

Wendy: That bothers me less.  It’s as plausible as any zombie story, I suppose.  It’s just the idea of the ‘monster inside me’ that I hate.  If she wasn’t a tapeworm herself I might like it more.  Oddly enough… I like Sherman.  I liked him best in the first one too, and I still find myself liking him.  A funny villain tapeworm bugs me less than one that’s supposed to be the heroine.

Regina: Me too!  I like Ronnie as well.  The concept of memory and gender was interesting.

Wendy: It was interesting, especially Ronnie’s ability to know what gender he is regardless of his host.  Sherman reminds me a bit of Tansy, and I like her too.  I actually like Adam too.  I think it’s just Sal and Nathan that I struggle with.

Regina: Me too.  Agreed.  I like the Dad too.

Wendy: Sal’s Dad?  I did in the first book, but he wasn’t in this one much, I thought.

Regina: I’ll give it 4 skulls, even though I’m sort of irritated it is no longer a duology.

Wendy: I agree a duology would have been better.  In the end, though, I liked how well written it was, and as the story went on I was more invested so I’ll go with a 3.5.

Thank you Netgalley and Orbit Books for providing a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Regina Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Wendy Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  1/2

Series Reading Order

1. Parasite
2. Symbiont
3 .Chimera (publishing 2015)

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 21, 2014 at 8:22 am
Nov 202014
 
Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge: Science Fiction - A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

The Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge was Science Fiction for October (yes, we’re late!) and we decided to try a new-to-us author, Claudia Gray, and her newest novel, A Thousand Pieces of You. A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray Book #1 in Firebird Genres: Young Adult Science Fiction Publication Date: November 4th 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Harper Teen Synopsis from Goodreads: Every Day meets Cloud Atlas in this heart-racing, space- and time-bending, epic new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray. Marguerite Caine’s physicist parents are known for their radical scientific achievements. Their most [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 20, 2014 at 2:21 pm
Nov 192014
 
New Release Review: Gray Bishop by Kelly Meade

Gray Bishop by Kelly Meade Book #2 in Cornerstone Run Genres: Paranormal Romance Publication Date: October 21st 2014 ARC Provided by InterMix and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Some people need something to fight for… With the attacks on their homes escalating and human half-breeds seeking sanctuary among them, the loup garou are reaching their breaking point. Two, in particular. After failing to stop his little brother’s kidnapping years ago, Bishop McQueen angrily broods on his shame, though no one else blames him. Jillian Reynolds is still dealing with a tragic accident that took everything she ever wanted from life. And her attraction to Bishop [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 19, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 182014
 
Review: Hate is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub

Hate is Such a Strong Word by Sarah Ayoub  Genre: Realistic Cultural Fiction Publication Date: September 1st, 2013 Publisher: HarperCollins Australia   Synopsis from Goodreads: I hate being invisible. I hate that I still can′t fight my own battles. I hate that I can′t keep up with the demands of high school. Sophie Kazzi is in Year 12 at an all-Lebanese, all-Catholic school where she is invisible, uncool and bored out of her brain. While she′s grown up surrounded by Lebanese friends, Lebanese neighbours and Lebanese shops, she knows there′s more to life than Samboosik and Baklawa, and she desperately wants to find [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 18, 2014 at 8:02 am
Nov 172014
 
Early Review: The Duke's Guide to Correct Behavior by Megan Frampton

The Duke’s Guide to Correct Behavior by Megan Frampton Book #1 in Duke’s Behaving Badly Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: November 25, 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Avon Synopsis from Goodreads: All of London knows the Duke of Rutherford has position and wealth. They also whisper that he’s dissolute, devilish, and determinedly unwed. So why, everyone is asking, has he hired a governess? When Miss Lily Russell crosses the threshold of the Duke of Rutherford’s stylish townhouse, she knows she has come face to face with sensual danger. For this is no doting papa. Rather, his behavior is scandalous, and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 17, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 142014
 
New Release Review: Toxic by Carol Ericson

Toxic by Carol Ericson Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: November 3, 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin Synopsis from Goodreads: “That’s the way I like it – hot and wet.” Not something I’d typically say in a job interview, but it just kind of slipped out. I blame Ronnie Tatethe woman is sin in stilettos. As bosses go, the sexy ex-showgirl is way more appealing than the Miami billionaire who hired me to find his missing mistress. The girl’s trail ends at Ronnie’s bayside bar, so I’ve got to get close to the people there to find out more. And I [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 14, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 132014
 
New Release Review: Otherworld Nights by Kelley Armstrong

Otherworld Nights by Kelley Armstrong Book #3 in Otherworld Stories Genres: Urban Fantasy Anthology Publication Date: October 28th 2014 ARC Provided by Plume and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Rare and never-before published short stories featuring fan favorites from the New York Times bestselling series It’s been more than ten years since Kelley Armstrong began the Otherworld series and drew legions of fans to a realm roamed by witches, werewolves, necromancers, vampires, and half-demons. Many of the novels have become bestselling favorites, but not all of the Otherworld adventures have been easy to find. At last, Otherworld Nights shares short stories that have previously [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 13, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 122014
 
ARC Review: The Chase by Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg

The Chase by Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg Book #2 in Fox and O’Hare Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: February 25, 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Random House Synopsis from Goodreads: Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg, New York Times bestselling authors of The Heist, return in this action-packed, exciting adventure featuring master con artist Nicolas Fox and die-hard FBI agent Kate O’Hare. And this time around, things go from hot to nuclear when government secrets are on the line. Internationally renowned thief and con artist Nicolas Fox is famous for running elaborate and daring scams. His greatest con of all: convincing [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 12, 2014 at 4:00 am
Nov 112014
 
Steals and Deals for November!

Looking for a new book to snuggle up with on a budget or maybe you’ve had your eye on a series but were afraid to commit to the full price? Well, wait no longer! Steals & Deals brings you free and cheap yet quality reads we’ve spotted on Amazon.com for Kindle devices and apps. Ice Cold by Tess Gerritsen (Book #8 in Rizzoli & Isles) || Price: $1.99 || Buy Now In Wyoming for a medical conference, Boston medical examiner Maura Isles joins a group of friends on a spur-of-the-moment ski trip. But when their SUV stalls on a snow-choked mountain road, they’re [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 11, 2014 at 4:08 pm
Nov 102014
 
New Release Review: UnDivided by Neal Shusterman

UnDivided by Neal Shusterman  Book #4 in the Unwind Dystology Genre: Science Fiction Dystopian Publication Date: October 14, 2014 Publisher: Simon & Schuster   Synopsis from Goodreads: Teens control the fate of America in the fourth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Unwind dystology by Neal Shusterman. Proactive Citizenry, the company that created Cam from the parts of unwound teens, has a plan: to mass produce rewound teens like Cam for military purposes. And below the surface of that horror lies another shocking level of intrigue: Proactive Citizenry has been suppressing technology that could make unwinding completely unnecessary. As Conner, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 10, 2014 at 8:22 am
Nov 062014
 
Review: The Heist by Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg

The Heist by Janet Evanovich & Lee Goldberg Book #1 in Fox and O’Hare Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: June 18, 2013 Synopsis from Goodreads: FBI Special Agent Kate O’Hare is known for her fierce dedication and discipline on the job, chasing down the world’s most wanted criminals and putting them behind bars. Her boss thinks she is tenacious and ambitious; her friends think she is tough, stubborn, and maybe even a bit obsessed. And while Kate has made quite a name for herself for the past five years, the only name she’s cared about is Nicolas Fox—an international crook she [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 6, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 052014
 
Review: Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey

Jasper Jones by Craig Silvey  Genre: Realistic Fiction/Mystery Publication Date: March 31, 2009 Publisher: Allen & Unwin   Synopsis from Goodreads: Late on a hot summer night in 1965, Charlie Bucktin, a precocious and bookish boy of thirteen, is startled by an urgent knock on the window of his sleep-out. His visitor is Jasper Jones, an outcast in the regional mining town of Corrigan. Rebellious, mixed-race and solitary, Jasper is a distant figure of danger and intrigue for Charlie. So when Jasper begs for his help, Charlie eagerly steals into the night by his side, terribly afraid but desperate to impress. Jasper takes him [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 5, 2014 at 11:22 am
Nov 042014
 
Spotlight on November's New Releases

Welcome to our monthly feature where we take a look at the new books releasing this month and offer up our top picks and opinions. We have chosen 20 of our most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability. Now, on to the books! A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray (#1 in Firebird) – Expected publication: November 4th 2014 by Harper Teen Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier (#1 in Blackthorn and Grim) – Expected [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 4, 2014 at 7:00 am
Nov 032014
 
Release Day Review: Blamed by Edie Harris

Blamed by Edie Harris Book #1 in Blood Money Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: November 3rd, 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Carina Press Synopsis from Goodreads: Born into a long line of spies, sanctioned killers and covert weapons developers, Beth Faraday carried out her first hit-for-hire when she was still a teenager. That part of her life—the American spy royalty part—ended one year ago, with a job gone wrong in Afghanistan. The collateral damage she caused with a single shot was unfathomable and, for Beth, unforgivable. She’s worked hard to build a new life for herself, far away from the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on November 3, 2014 at 7:00 am
Oct 302014
 
New Release Review: The Understatement of the Year by Sarina Bowen

The Understatement of the Year by Sarina Bowen  Book #3 in The Ivy Years Genre: LGTB Contemporary Romance Publication Date: October 15, 2014 Publisher: Rennie Road Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: What happened in high school stayed in high school. Until now. Five years ago, Michael Graham betrayed the only person who ever really knew him. Since then, he’s made an art of hiding his sexuality from everyone. Including himself. So it’s a shock when his past strolls right into the Harkness College locker room, sporting a bag of hockey gear and the same slow smile that had always rendered Graham defenseless. For [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 30, 2014 at 11:36 am
Oct 292014
 
Review: Reap & Repent by Lisa Medley

Reap & Repent by Lisa Medley Book #1 in The Reapers Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: June 2, 2014 Synopsis from Goodreads: They see death. Can they share a life? Ruth Scott can read the energy of every person she meets–yellow is happy, green is peaceful, red is aroused. She can even see the brilliant white light that glows just before death. Then she meets Deacon Walker. She can see his ice-blue eyes, his black hair and his gorgeous face. But this beautiful stranger has no aura. Deacon is just as unsettled by Ruth–and, having spent more than two hundred years [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 29, 2014 at 7:00 am
Oct 282014
 
Release Day Group Review: Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews

Burn for Me by Ilona Andrews Book #1 in Hidden Legacy Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: October 28, 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Avon Synopsis from Goodreads: #1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire… Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 28, 2014 at 7:00 am
Oct 272014
 
New Release Review: Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater  Book #3 in The Raven Cycle Genre: YA YA Paranormal Fantasy Publication Date: October 21, 2014 Publisher: Scholastic Press   Synopsis from Goodreads: There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up. Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things though, is how easily they can [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 27, 2014 at 7:13 am
Oct 242014
 
Should You Read This Series? Riyria by Michael J. Sullivan

There are so many published series out there and I know you wonder…which ones are worth the read? In this feature, we tell you which series you should start and which ones you shouldn’t. As a ground rule, series in this feature must have at least 3 books published and the reviewer must have read more than half the series. If you want us to feature a series in the future, please ask in the comments. SERIES: Riyria by Michael J. Sullivan GENRE: Epic Fantasy, Sword & Sorcery BOOKS PUBLISHED: 6 (in 3 volumes) + 2 prequels SERIES STATUS: The [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 24, 2014 at 9:42 am
Oct 232014
 
New Release Review: The Headmaster by Tiffany Reisz

The Headmaster by Tiffany Reisz Genre: Gothic Romance Publication Date: October 6th, 2014 Synopsis from Goodreads: At the remote Marshall School, Gwen Ashby stumbles upon the job—and the man—of her dreams. Stern, enigmatic Edwin Yorke simmers with a heat Gwen longs to unleash. But Edwin knows all too well that forbidden love can end in tragedy…. Angie’s Review – 3.5 Skulls – B- The Headmaster was an interesting, spooky story about Gwen, a lonely woman who finds the man of her dreams while seeking employment at an all-boys school. It’s not long before Gwen realizes that loving Headmaster Yorke comes at [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on October 23, 2014 at 7:00 am