Sep 282016
 

the-sinner1New Release Review: The Sinner by Amanda Stevens
Book 5 in The Graveyard Queen series
Release Date: September 27, 2016
Book provided by NetGalley and Harlequin MIRA
Genre: Paranormal, Horror, Urban Fantasy

Synopsis from Goodreads: I am a living ghost, a wanderer in search of my purpose and place…

I’m a cemetery restorer by trade, but my calling has evolved from that of ghost seer to death walker to detective of lost souls. I solve the riddles of the dead so the dead will leave me alone.

I’ve come to Seven Gates Cemetery nursing a broken heart, but peace is hard to come by…for the ghosts here and for me. When the body of a young woman is discovered in a caged grave, I know that I’ve been summoned for a reason. Only I can unmask her killer. I want to trust the detective assigned to the case for he is a ghost seer like me. But how can I put my faith in anyone when supernatural forces are manipulating my every thought? When reality is ever-changing? And when the one person I thought I could trust above all others has turned into a diabolical stranger?

AH’S Review – 4 stars

Can you imagine being a graveyard restorer as a profession? Who knew that people actually rehabilitate cemeteries? It’s probably not a good career choice for the faint at heart, or anyone easily spooked.

The Sinner is the fifth book in the Graveyard Queen series. It’s one of my favorite series and one of the reasons why I love it so much is that the author’s writing style can only be described as atmospheric – her writing has an immersive quality: she makes the reader feel the heat and humidity of the south, the sounds around the cemetery, and even the smells.

I also have to say that I’ve learned some new things as I read this book. I spent a little time googling mortsafes – who knew that people once caged their loved ones remains to prevent grave robbers from stealing the bodies? Gruesome, yet intriguing.

Amelia has been through so much and she has developed into a fascinating character. She’s easy to relate to and it’s so easy to feel sympathetic to her situations.

I loved the mystery of this book. The author really knows how to throw the reader for a loop. It’s a good ghost story, eerie and atmospheric but not horrifically scary – just scary enough. The Sinner is a fantastic read. There is another book planned in this series and I just can’t wait to get my hands on it.

AH’s Rating: 4 Stars

Series Reading Order:

  1. The Restorer
  2. The Kingdom
  3. The Prophet
  4. The Visitor
  5. The Sinner
  6. The Awakening (publish date TBA 2017)

The Graveyard Queen series is best enjoyed when read in order. There is also a prequel, called The Abandoned which may be read out of order.

Thank you to NetGalley and Harlequin MIRA for a review copy of this book. 

 

Bookmark and Share
Sep 272016
 
Early Review: Can't Hide From Me by Cordelia Kingsbridge

Can’t Hide From Me by Cordelia Kingsbridge Genre: M/M Romantic Suspense Publication Date: October 3rd, 2016 Publisher: Riptide Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: Charles Hunter’s team is on a mission to extract an unidentified ATF agent from an undercover job gone wrong. All they’ve got to go on is the rendezvous location—until Charles recognizes the ex he hasn’t seen in years. Their “simple rescue mission” is about to get a lot more complicated. For Ángel Medina, adjusting to life after his cartel nightmare is hard enough without confronting memories of a failed relationship. All he wants is a fresh start. But when a violent [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 262016
 
Release Day Review: The Goal by Elle Kennedy

The Goal by Elle Kennedy Series: Off-Campus #4 Genre: New Adult Release Date: Sep 26, 2016 ARC provided by the author via Nina Bocci PR She’s good at achieving her goals… College senior Sabrina James has her whole future planned out: graduate from college, kick butt in law school, and land a high-paying job at a cutthroat firm. Her path to escaping her shameful past certainly doesn’t include a gorgeous hockey player who believes in love at first sight. One night of sizzling heat and surprising tenderness is all she’s willing to give John Tucker, but sometimes, one night is [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 232016
 
Review: Suspect by Robert Crais

Suspect by Robert Crais Series: Scott James & Maggie #1 Genre: Mystery Release Date: Jan 22, 2013 Audiobook Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews LAPD cop Scott James is not doing so well. Nine months ago, a shocking assault by unidentified men killed his partner, Stephanie, nearly killed him, and left him enraged, ashamed, and ready to explode. He is unfit for duty—until he meets his new partner. Maggie is not doing so well, either. A German shepherd who survived two tours in Afghanistan sniffing explosives before losing her handler, her PTSD is as bad as Scott’s. They are each other’s last [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 222016
 
New Release Review: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen Book #1 in Brooklyn Bruisers Genre: Sports/Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 6th, 2016 ARC provided by Berkley and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: In high school they were the perfect couple—until the day Georgia left Leo in the cold… Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, Leo gets checked on both sides, first by the team’s coach—who has a long simmering grudge, and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 22, 2016 at 7:00 am
Sep 212016
 
New Release Review: Unraveled by Jennifer Estep

New Release Review: Unraveled by Jennifer Estep Book 15 in Elemental Assassins series Release Date: August 30, 2016 Book provided by NetGalley and Pocket Books Genre: Urban Fantasy Synopsis from Goodreads: After the shocking revelations of the previous book, Bitter Bite, the world of Ashland’s become even more sinister, and Gin Blanco (aka Ashland’s most fearsome assassin, the Spider) no longer knows who—or what—she can count on. Only one thing is for certain: danger and new enemies await Gin in Unraveled, Book 15 in the New York Times bestselling Elemental Assassin urban fantasy series that RT Book Reviews calls “unbeatable [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 202016
 
Release Day Group Review: Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews

We’ve been waiting on pins and needles for the next installment of the Kate Daniels series, and it’s a Badass consensus – Magic Binds was worth the wait! There’s just something about getting lost in this world that’s irresistible, and it’s not just the thought of Curran bursting out of his sweats. We’re sad to see this series nearing its end, but we are thrilled to find out what’s in store! Magic Binds by Ilona Andrews Book #9 in Kate Daniels Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: September 20th, 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and ACE Synopsis from Goodreads: Mercenary Kate Daniels knows all too well that [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 192016
 
New Release Review: Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton

New Release Review: Diplomatic Immunity by Brodi Ashton Release Date: September 6, 2016 Book provided by Edelweiss and Balzer + Bray Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary Synopsis from Goodreads: Aspiring reporter Piper Baird decides to write a scathing exposé on the overprivileged students at an elite Washington, DC, school, only for her life to change when she begins to fall for the story’s main subject, in this new realistic contemporary romance from Brodi Ashton, the author of the Everneath trilogy.Raucous parties, privileged attitudes, underage drinking, and diplomatic immunity…it’s all part of student life on Embassy Row. Piper Baird has always dreamed [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 162016
 
Early Review: Power Bottom by Rowan McAllister

Power Bottom by Rowan McAllister Genre: M/M Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 19th, 2016 Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Synopsis from Goodreads: Can a pickup line from a stranger completely change the way an ordinary man sees himself? Adrian wouldn’t have thought so, but after an ugly breakup where his self-esteem took a serious beating, he’s willing to try just about anything to repair the damage… even return to a secluded bar in rural Maryland and the intriguing stranger whose words have been on his mind since they met. Biker, bouncer, bartender, and tattoo artist, Wyatt is a rolling stone. After fifteen years, he [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 152016
 
New Release Review, Excerpt, + Giveaway: The One Real Thing by Samantha Young

The One Real Thing by Samantha Young Book #1 in Hart’s Boardwalk Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 6th, 2016 ARC provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: Welcome to Hartwell, a quiet seaside escape where uncovering old secrets could lead one woman to discover the meaning of a love that lasts… While Doctor Jessica Huntington engages with the inmates at the women’s correctional facility where she works, she’s always careful to avoid emotional attachments in her personal life. Loss and betrayal taught her that lesson long ago. But when she comes across a set of old love letters in the prison’s [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 15, 2016 at 7:00 am
Sep 142016
 
This Little Badass Plays Catch-up: The Kate Daniels Series by Ilona Andrews

It’s practically law that if you’re Badass (a Badass Reviewer, that is) then you’re also a fan of Urban Fantasy. While I definitely am, I’m a more recent convert than my fellow bloggers. This little Badass has a lot of series to catch up on, and since I read and enjoyed Burn for Me and there’s a new release right around the corner, what better place to start than with Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series? Since I’m pretty sure I’m one of the last people in the blogger sphere to read it, I’m not going to do a traditional review. There are already tons of them [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 14, 2016 at 7:00 am
Sep 132016
 
Review and Giveaway: Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci

Release Date Review: Roman Crazy by Alice Clayton and Nina Bocci Release Date: September 13, 2016 Book 1 in The Broads Abroad series Genre: Contemporary Romance Book provided by: NetGalley and Gallery Books  Synopsis from Goodreads: Avery Bardot steps off the plane in Rome, looking for a fresh start. She’s left behind a soon-to-be ex-husband in Boston and plans to spend the summer with her best friend Daisy, licking her wounds—and perhaps a gelato or two. But when her American-expat friend throws her a welcome party on her first night, Avery’s thrown for a loop when she sees a man she never [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 122016
 
Review + Giveaway: Rented Heart by Garrett Leigh

Three reads already this year from one of my favorite authors? Yes, please. And keep ’em coming. If you’ve visited Badass Book Reviews lately, I’m sure my love affair with Garrett Leigh’s books is something you already know about. When I read the synopsis for Rented Heart, I couldn’t wait to read it! As usual, this was an emotional roller coaster and left me breathless for more!   Rented Heart by Garrett Leigh Genre: LGBTQIA, Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 10th, 2016 ARC Provided by Riptide Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: Ex-surfer-turned-businessman Liam Mallaney moved back to Holkham, Norfolk, to mourn the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 092016
 
Review: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becki Albertalli Genre: YA Contemporary LGBT Publication Date: April 7th, 2015 Publisher: Balzer + Bray Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised. With some messy [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 062016
 
New Release Review: All We Have Left by Wendy Mills

All We Have Left by Wendy Mills Genre: YA Contemporary (with a dash of Historical) Publication Date: August 9th, 2016 Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens Synopsis from Goodreads: A haunting and heart-wrenching story of two girls, two time periods, and the one event that changed their lives—and the world—forever. Now: Sixteen-year-old Jesse is used to living with the echoes of the past. Her older brother died in the September 11th attacks, and her dad has filled their home with anger and grief. When Jesse gets caught up with the wrong crowd, one momentary hate-fueled decision turns her life upside down. The [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Sep 032016
 
Help Wanted

Real life is keeping us busy and we are presently looking for a few more bloggers to join the Badass Book Review Team. What’s the commitment? We’re pretty easy going – Ideally, we would like 1 review or article a week. Badass Book Reviews blog reviews all sorts of books, but mostly Romance, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult, Romantic Suspense, Horror and the like. What’s in it for you? Some free ebooks here and there and an occasional ARC or two. Oh and you get to hang out with us via email. What are we looking for? [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 3, 2016 at 1:26 pm
Sep 022016
 
Early Review: Connection Error by Annabeth Albert

Connection Error by Annabeth Albert Book #3 in #gaymers Genre: LGBTQIA, Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 5th, 2016 ARC provided by Carina Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s typical of video game programmer Josiah Simmons to be the last one on the plane on the way to the biggest meeting of his career. Though he’s (mostly) coping with his ADHD, he can’t handle another distraction. But he also can’t ignore his rugged seatmate—especially once he learns the military man’s a fan of his game. Ryan Orson refuses to let his severe injuries pause his career as a navy SEAL. He’s [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 292016
 
Review: The Pirate of Fathoms Deep by Megan Derr

The Pirate of Fathoms Deep by Megan Derr Tales of the High Court #2 Genre: M/M Fantasy Publication Date: July 13th, 2016 Publisher: Less Than Three Press Synopsis from Goodreads: High Commander Lesto Arseni is the most feared man in the Harken Empire. None but the High King dares risk his wrath—and a pirate who once punched him in the middle of the imperial pavilion. A pirate who later snuck away with Lesto to an empty room, touched him in ways far more memorable. And then immediately bolted like a man who’d gotten what he wanted. Shemal just wants to live a [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 262016
 
A Year of Sarah Dessen | This Lullaby

I am halfway through my ‘A Year of Sarah Dessen,’ and I have to say, this was a great place to start to make sure I get at least one YA read in a month. While I don’t always like everything about her books, I feel like the things I don’t care for are intentional on her part. She has made me rethink my ratings more than once over these six months. I’ve discovered some fantastic books with this feature, and I’m excited to see what the next half of the year of Sarah Dessen brings! This Lullaby by Sarah [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 242016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: Rented Heart by Garrett Leigh

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I anticipating so much it’s making my reader heart skip a beat? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ Ex-surfer-turned-businessman Liam Mallaney moved back to Holkham, Norfolk, to mourn the loss of his husband. Grief and loneliness keep him a solitary figure, and he likes it that way. There’s no room in his broken heart for anything else. Rentboy Zac Payne left London and most of his demons behind, but he still only knows one way to [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share