May 232015
 

ScienceFictionSaturday

 

Outlaw M.C. by James Cox:

Earth was considered a desolate planet and is used as a prison.  Humanity lives on Mars in a single but always expanding city.  Technology being what it is keeps humans breathing.  The government is ruled by a man named Max Wesmen.  He’s a twisted fuck and changed our entire structure.  Now it’s illegal to drink alcohol, do any drugs, have kinky sex, and, of course, smoke.  Homosexuality was a death sentence.  Women were to be kept for breeding.  Dark skinned men were used as slaves, like back in the darkest days of history.  The bad guys ruled the world and the good guys were the outlaws.  That’s why we created the MC.  We take our hover bikes and fight the injustice on Mars.  The battle is going to be bloody.

 

Wendy’s Review

Normally I don’t read Motorcycle Club romance’s.  I’m not sure exactly why.  I am a huge fan of The Sons of Anarchy, which would lead you to believe that it’s a concept I may enjoy, yet I never read them.  So, when it came to picking up Outlaw MC it wasn’t a decision made because the books were about an MC.  My decision was based on the concept that this was an MC that was on Mars, and that they rode hover bikes, and that they lived in a extremely corrupt society and as Outlaws they were actually the good guys.  It was the Sci-Fi aspect that hooked me.

I’m not going to lie, the stories are very erotic.  The members of the Outlaw MC are almost all a little bit pervy, but it fit in with the characters and the lifestyle, at least in my imagination.  The guys were pervy on SoA too.  The installments are all also short stories.  Not one of them hit 100 pages, which I actually didn’t realize when I chose to review them.  I don’t read a lot of short stories, so I got around that by reading them all back to back, so it felt more like each member’s story was a different ‘part’ of the whole.

Whatever course of action I took, I enjoyed the quick reads and thought the M/M, Sci-Fi, Dystopian Erotica’s would make an interesting topic for our Sci-Fi Saturday feature.

 

ufo

 

Chaos UnchainedChaos Unchained, Book #1

Chaos Unchained is Chao’s story.  He’s been busted drinking alcohol.  The penalty for his infraction is 6 months in the mining prison on Earth.  There he meets Beau, a prisoner with a goofy smile that he can’t seem to stop thinking about or seeking out.  The synopsis asks if they can survive the months apart after Beau is released, but I think that it was more about finding a connection even in the worst of places.

First off, I really loved the start of the first book.  The Prologue was incredibly intriguing with Chaos being sent to prison on Earth in a pod, where he was strapped down and zero control if anything happened to him as he was shooting through space toward prison.  It isn’t hard to imagine the fear that would consume you, all alone in a tiny space pod that I pictured as not much bigger than an MRI machine, feeling yourself hitting meteors and so sure that you’re going to be knocked off the path and left to float out there all alone.  Fricking terrifying.

Earth’s prison was pretty unique.  With the jailers not caring what happens on Earth, so long as the mining is finished, I can imagine that the set up and hierarchy would be pretty close to what Mr. Cox created.  Fight, fuck, or work in the mine.  Chaos, being the natural badass that he is obviously becomes a fighter, which is basically what you think.  If he wins a fight, those who bet on him win stuff.  Honestly, I liked the set up in prison a lot, so I was very nervous for future books and what would happen when the reader joined the other MC members on Mars.

Of all of the books, Chaos was definitely the MC member that I found ‘hottest’.  Beau was really cute, too.  The goofy things he would say, and how cute Chaos thought silly Beau was.  They were adorable.  I think that Mr. Cox was pretty good at keeping his characters in character no matter what was happening.  It’s not an easy feat, not losing yourself in the plot and having a character respond outside of the personality they were given.

The only thing is, and I knew this was a short story series before I started, I wished that this first book had been longer.  I would have enjoyed reading more about the Prison time, rather than have a jump from the first few weeks to three months in, then again to the final days at 6 months.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  = B+

ufo

 

Underneath His Armor, Book #2Underneath his Armor

Underneath his Armor is the story of Knox, or Outlaw as the club calls him, who is the President of the Outlaw MC.  His history led him toward a deep passion to bring down the corrupt government that rules Mar’s society.  His dedication is so great that he holds his VP, Liam AKA Lover and life long friend at arms length, refusing to give into the love that they both have for each other.  Again, in my opinion, the book isn’t quite about Liam getting hurt.  It’s more about allowing yourself a love you deserve, no matter how terrifying it may be.

The second installment brings us back to Mars, and really starts to get our hands dirty in the battle for revolution.  While I definitely liked the setting of the first book more, I did enjoy the parameters of the world on Mars too.  It’s where we first get a taste of the slaves and the breeders, and it’s a very very dark place.

I liked Liam (Lover).  I liked who he was for Knox (Outlaw).  I thought that their friendship, particularly how it all started was really kinda awesome.  Especially when the time came that Knox needed him more than ever, Liam stood for him and had his back.  Even though we didn’t get to read it, the fact that they were sent to Earth’s prison at the same time and protected and supported each other was a good representation of exactly what their friendship was about.

In this one, Underneath His Armor, I thought the strength of this story was in the friendship.  Things transpired in Liam and Knox’s past that made them the men that they are today.  It created the Pres and VP who created the Outlaws in the first place, and stoked that fire to give the people back their freedoms.

I think Knox and Liam are the true heart of the entire series.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  1/2 = B

ufo

 

Behavior ProblemBehavior Problem, Book #3

Behavior Problem tells the story of Deviant, the beast, as I thought of him while I was reading.  With a sister who became lost to him, his temper is pointed at anyone who dares mistreat a woman.  That gets him into some hot water with the club, and Outlaw sends him off to one of their contacts to act as a bodyguard for women who have escaped and to teach them how to ride their Hover Bikes.  The women want to start their own illegal MC, which they aptly name the Amazons.  There Deviant meets Tage, the extremely well dressed, well spoken, man who has helped to free the women.  The synopsis of this one is pretty spot on, because it’s about learning that love isn’t weakness.

This one was just as good as the first one.  The story definitely ups the ante in terms of the club’s endgame, which is saving the citizens from Wexmen.  It also focuses more on the ‘women for breeding’ aspect of the world.

I think my favorite aspect of this installment, however, was Tage.  I know I mentioned that in Chaos Unchained I liked goofy Beau, but Tage trumps him.  Tage is white collar, prudish, and shy.  Which makes for an interesting recipe when pared with the boys of the MC who are anything BUT prudish.  I chuckled along with Deviant every time he made the poor guy blush, which was just about all the time.

And, the best part, we got a tiny little happy ending in this one which was great.  Unfortunately that happy ending was balanced with the story taking a turn for the worst for Outlaw MC‘s heart, Knox and Liam.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  = B+

ufo

 

With Tongue and TeethWith Tongue and Teeth, Book #4

In the fourth and final installment, With Tongue and Teeth, Romeo has been busted doing the worst possible thing, having sex with a man.  The punishment, kill on sight.  Romeo has no options left but join up with the Underground MC, which is made up of those who have escaped slavery and are living in tunnels outside the city.   Romeo is devastated, until he meets Justice, the new MC’s president.

The Underground MC, along with the Amazon’s and Romeo’s own club the Outlaw MC, are all working together to dethrone Wexmen and free everyone who has been enslaved.  Justice has decided that it’s time to really push back against the government by one big attack of force, erecting walls, and declaring open war.  I’m not sure how many installments this series will have, but this book felt like it was creating the basis for the final stand between the rebels and the corrupt laws.

Honestly, of all of the installments I think this one was my least favorite.  There wasn’t anything in particular that bothered me, I just think that the previous books were more solid.  What I did enjoy was Romeo himself.  So far all of the MC members have been almost indestructible.  Sure at one point Deviant did something impulsive, but it was for a good reason.  Not Romeo, he makes stupid mistakes for stupid reasons, and that felt really believable.  It wasn’t just the first one either, getting busted having sex, it happened another time during the book too and I liked that he got called out for it.  That’s not to say he wasn’t tough in his own right, he makes heroic decisions too.  It was just nice to read about a character who was a bit irresponsible.  One who wasn’t always perfect.

Also, this book had the best dedication!  It made me laugh out loud when I read it.  “This is dedicated to the biters out there.  Keep life kinky.”  Awesome.

Rating: ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  = C+

ufo

 

Final Thoughts: Obviously the series isn’t over.  There are more characters that we haven’t gotten to, and I imagine that, following the pattern, they will get an installment also.  A few questions I have that I’ll be waiting for: What about Prospect?  Will he get a short story, or is he there as a side piece?  Will we ever find out anything concrete about Chaos’s father?  More of Justice’s history?

These are the questions that will keep me reading.

Thank you to James Cox for providing copies of Outlaw MC in exchange for honest reviews.

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 23, 2015 at 8:00 am
May 222015
 
Whittling Down the Freebie Pile: The Mistress of Trevelyan by Jennifer St. Giles

The Mistress of Trevelyan Series: Trevelyan #1 Genre: Gothic, Historical Romance Release Date: July 27, 2004 The manor behind the mists….The man behind the mystery. In 1873 San Francisco, spirited Ann Lovell takes a position no one else dares — as governess to the motherless sons of the enigmatic Benedict Trevelyan. It has long been whispered that Trevelyan Manor hides dark secrets and sinister deeds — including the murder of Benedict’s wife. But Ann refuses to pay heed to spiteful rumor. As she grows to cherish her young charges, Ann also finds herself powerfully drawn to the handsome Benedict, whose [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 22, 2015 at 9:04 am
May 212015
 
New Release Review: Revive by Tracey Martin

Revive by Tracey Martin Book #1 in Redzone Genre: Young Adult Science Fiction Thriller Publication Date: May 19th 2015 ARC Provided by Author and Samhain Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: What the mind forgets, the heart remembers. Alone in a train station bathroom, Sophia Hernandez has no memory of who she is or how she got there. All she’s certain of are three things: her college ID is a lie, bad people are coming for her, and no one can be trusted. The only clue to her past is the fellow student who finds her. Although Sophia’s gut tells her Kyle [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 21, 2015 at 11:03 am
May 202015
 
New Release Group Review: End of Days by Susan Ee

End of Days by Susan Ee Book #3 in Penryn & the End of Days Genre: Young Adult / Fantasy Publication Date: May 12th, 2015 Synopsis from Goodreads: After a daring escape from the angels, Penryn and Raffe are on the run. They’re both desperate to find a doctor who can reverse the twisted changes inflicted by the angels on Raffe and Penryn’s sister. As they set off in search of answers, a startling revelation about Raffe’s past unleashes dark forces that threaten them all. When the angels release an apocalyptic nightmare onto humans, both sides are set on a path [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 20, 2015 at 7:00 am
May 192015
 
Early Review: Vicious Cycle by Katie Ashley

Vicious Cycle by Katie Ashley Book #1 in Vicious Cycle Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: June 2nd, 2015 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Trade Synopsis from Goodreads: Deacon Malloy’s life is dedicated to the Hell’s Raiders motorcycle club. Tough, hard, and fast with his fists, he serves the group as sergeant at arms. But his devil-may-care approach to life is thrown for a loop when the five-year-old daughter he never knew existed lands on the club steps. Alexandra Evans is devoted to all her students—but there’s always been something about Willow Malloy that tugs at her heart. There’s an aura [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 19, 2015 at 7:00 am
May 182015
 
Early Review, Blog Tour and Giveaway: Behind the Mask (Associates #4) by Carolyn Crane

Behind the Mask (Associates #4) by Carolyn Crane Genre: Romantic Suspense Publication Date: May 19, 2015 ARC provided by Author (thank you!) Want to win a copy? Scroll down to enter and play!   TO SAVE HER PROSTITUTE TWIN SISTER SHE HAS TO SWITCH PLACES WITH HER… When her estranged sister is won in a card game by a brutal drug cartel, Zelda knows what she has to do: take her place. Save her. Focus on infiltrating the shadowy group–and try not to think about why she left the spying game years ago. She’s slept with dangerous criminals before; she can do [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 18, 2015 at 8:48 am
May 152015
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander, Episode 14

Outlander: Episode 14 The Search was one of the slower episodes, I thought.  The episode didn’t even contain Jamie!  Not even a little!  Not even a glimpse!  That’s not a complaint, because it wouldn’t have made sense to cut to Jamie onscreen.  They certainly didn’t in the book.  Still, when he’s not in an episode you certainly notice.  For all we love Claire, we looooove Jamie. Okay so let’s rundown: Jenny, hopping right up after giving birth to Maggie within the week, heads out on horseback to help Claire find Jamie.  Jenny tracks the Redcoats that have a carriage, appearing to hold something [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 15, 2015 at 8:00 am
May 142015
 
Early Review: A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin

A School for Unusual Girls by Kathleen Baldwin Book #1 in Stranje House Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: May 19th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Macmillan-Tor/Forge Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s 1814. Napoleon is exiled on Elba. Europe is in shambles. Britain is at war on four fronts. And Stranje House, a School for Unusual Girls, has become one of Regency England’s dark little secrets. The daughters of the beau monde who don’t fit high society’s constrictive mold are banished to Stranje House to be reformed into marriageable young ladies. Or so their parents think. In truth, Headmistress Emma Stranje, the original [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 14, 2015 at 8:20 am
May 132015
 
Review: First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen

First Frost by Sarah Addison Allen Series: Waverly Family #2 Genre: Magical Realism Release Date: January 20, 2015 It’s October in Bascom, North Carolina, and autumn will not go quietly. As temperatures drop and leaves begin to turn, the Waverley women are made restless by the whims of their mischievous apple tree… and all the magic that swirls around it. But this year, first frost has much more in store. Claire Waverley has started a successful new venture, Waverley’s Candies. Though her handcrafted confections—rose to recall lost love, lavender to promote happiness and lemon verbena to soothe throats and minds—are [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 13, 2015 at 6:57 am
May 122015
 
Review: Seven by Adrienne Wilder

Seven by Adrienne Wilder Book #1 in The Others Project Genre: M/M Sci-Fi/Paranormal Fiction Publication Date: September 23, 2013 Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin   Synopsis from Goodreads: A past that won’t let go… After losing his job, Chase Sarim finds himself living in a shit hole apartment. His new neighbor calls himself Seven, wears aluminum hats and carries around a ceramic rooster. He also seems to know what Chase is going to do or say before it happens, and talks about people named, Nine, Three, and Four. Chase knows better than to get involved with someone like that. But some men are just [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 12, 2015 at 8:00 am
May 112015
 
New Release Group Review: Sacrati by Kate Sherwood

Sacrati by Kate Sherwood Genre: M/M, Fantasy Publication Date: May 2nd, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Riptide Publishing Synopsis from Goodreads: As an elite Sacrati fighter in the mighty Torian military, Theos is blessed with a city full of women who want to bear his children, and a barracks full of men proud to fight at his side and share his bed. He has everything he needs—until he captures Finnvid on a raid. Finnvid is on a secret mission to prevent the Torian invasion of his homeland Elkat. Being enslaved by Torian soldiers wasn’t in his plans. Neither is his [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 11, 2015 at 7:00 am
May 072015
 
New Release Review: Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman

Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman Genre: YA Contemporary Fiction/Magical Realism Publication Date: April 21st, 2015 Publisher: HarperCollins   Synopsis from Goodreads: Caden Bosch is on a ship that’s headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench. Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior. Caden Bosch is designated the ship’s artist in residence, to document the journey with images. Caden Bosch pretends to join the school track team but spends his days walking for miles, absorbed by the thoughts in his head. Caden Bosch is [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 7, 2015 at 8:00 am
May 062015
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander, Episode 13

Outlander: Episode 13 Watching episode 13, The Watch this weekend made me feel soooo much better about where I’m at as a viewer.  I’ve been feeling like most of my Outlander Starz blog posts have been kind of negative, especially in the second half of the season.  I started to wonder if I’m not quite as understanding of adaptations as I thought I was… Good news guys, I was wrong! The Watch was almost entirely all new!  There were moments here and there that were pulled from the pages, such as Jenny telling Claire about how it was between Ian and Jamie growing up, but overall [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 6, 2015 at 8:03 am
May 052015
 
Early Review: Day Shift (Midnight, Texas #2) by Charlaine Harris

Day Shift (Midnight, Texas #2) by Charlaine Harris Genre: Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Publication Date: May 5, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Ace      Synopsis from Goodreads: In Midnight Crossroad, Charlaine Harris “capture[d] the same magic as the world of Bon Temps, Louisiana, and [took] it to another level” (Houston Press). Now the #1 New York Timesbestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse novels returns to the one-traffic-light town you see only when you’re on the way to someplace else… There is no such thing as bad publicity, except in Midnight, Texas, where the residents like to keep to themselves. Even in a town full [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 5, 2015 at 7:00 am
May 042015
 
New Release Review: Any Way You Slice It by Kristine Carlson Asselin

Any Way You Slice It by Kristine Carlson Asselin Genre: YA Contemporary Fiction Publication Date: April 21st, 2015 Publisher: Bloomsbury Spark   Synopsis from Goodreads: Penelope Spaulding just can’t catch a break. Between long hours at the family restaurant, homework, and her parents’ plans for her future, it’s hard to find a spare moment to breathe. But when she laces up her skates and steps on the ice, everything slips away… Racing around the rink allows her to blow off steam after yet another fight with her dad about going to culinary school. So when Jake Gomes, the bad boy who lives [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 4, 2015 at 8:00 am
May 022015
 
Mini Reviews: Midnight's Kiss by Thea Harrison, Jaguar Pride by Terry Spear, and Taking Fire by Lindsay McKenna

New Release Review: Midnight’s Kiss by Thea Harrison Book 8 in Elder Races series Release date: May 5, 2015 Genre: Paranormal Romance Book provided by NetGalley and Penguin Group Berkley NAL Synopsis from Goodreads: In the latest Novel of the Elder Races, two souls who have long buried their passions are about to be consumed… Ever since their scorching affair ended years ago, Julian, the Nightkind King, and Melisande, daughter of the Light Fae Queen, have tried to put the past behind them—and distance between them. But when a war breaks out between Julian and Justine, a powerful Vampyre of [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 2, 2015 at 7:00 am
May 012015
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander, Episode 12

Outlander: Episode 12 I’m sorry folks, but I can’t say that I was thrilled with this episode.  All of the things that I enjoyed before still stand, of course.  The acting was amazing.  The scenery is gorgeous.  Jamie is… so handsome and dynamic. Then of course there was the near rape scene, which became the BJR penis scene.  That was awkward at best.  I was having a hard time not laughing myself, watching Randall attempt to entice himself.  Honestly, it looked like a prosthetic.  Do they make those?  Prosthetic manhoods for acting purposes? However, probably the biggest topic to be [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on May 1, 2015 at 8:00 am
Apr 282015
 
Release Day Review: The Mistake by Elle Kennedy

The Mistake by Elle Kennedy Series: Off-Campus #2 Genre: New Adult Release Date: April 28, 2015 ARC provided by the author via Nina Bocci PR He’s a player in more ways than one…College junior John Logan can get any girl he wants. For this hockey star, life is a parade of parties and hook-ups, but behind his killer grins and easygoing charm, he hides growing despair about the dead-end road he’ll be forced to walk after graduation. A sexy encounter with freshman Grace Ivers is just the distraction he needs, but when a thoughtless mistake pushes her away, Logan plans [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on April 28, 2015 at 6:51 am
Apr 272015
 
Review: A Lot Like Love by Julie James

A Lot Like Love by Julie James Book #2 in FBI/US Attorney Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: March 1st, 2011 Synopsis from Goodreads: The FBI wants her cooperation… As the daughter of a billionaire and the owner of the city’s top wine store, Jordan Rhodes is invited to the most exclusive parties in Chicago. But there’s only one party the FBI wants to crash: the charity fundraiser of a famous restaurateur, who also happens to launder money for the mob. In exchange for her brother’s release from prison, Jordan is going to be there—with a date supplied by the Bureau. Agent McCall [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on April 27, 2015 at 7:00 am
Apr 242015
 
New Release Group Review: Falling by Barbara Elsborg

  Falling by Barbara Elsborg Book #1 in Fall or Break Genre: M/M, Contemporary Fiction Publication Date: March 24th, 2015 Synopsis from Goodreads:  Falling is easy. Landing without breaking your heart? Impossible. Harper is no longer behind bars, but it doesn’t feel like it. Ten years serving time for a crime he didn’t commit have left him shut down, numb, and a frozen wreck over the simplest of choices. He’s acutely aware of the dark-haired young man checking him out in the supermarket, but he’s too deep in panic mode to even meet the guy’s gaze. Afraid the slightest move will trigger [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on April 24, 2015 at 8:00 am