Jul 292014
 

Magic BreaksMagic Breaks by Ilona Andrews
Book #7 in the Kate Daniels series
Release date: July 29, 2014
Genre: Urban Fantasy
ARC provided by Ace Hardcovers and Netgalley

Synopsis from Goodreads: No matter how much the paranormal politics of Atlanta change, one thing always remains the same: if there’s trouble, Kate Daniels will be in the middle of it…

As the mate of the Beast Lord, Curran, former mercenary Kate Daniels has more responsibilities than it seems possible to juggle. Not only is she still struggling to keep her investigative business afloat, she must now deal with the affairs of the pack, including preparing her people for attack from Roland, a cruel ancient being with god-like powers. Since Kate’s connection to Roland has come out into the open, no one is safe—especially those closest to Kate.

As Roland’s long shadow looms ever nearer, Kate is called to attend the Conclave, a gathering of the leaders from the various supernatural factions in Atlanta. When one of the Masters of the Dead is found murdered there, apparently at the hands of a shapeshifter, Kate is given only twenty-four hours to hunt down the killer. And this time, if she fails, she’ll find herself embroiled in a war which could destroy everything she holds dear…

 

It’s no secret that the husband wife writing duo Ilona Andrews and their Kate Daniels series is a Badass Book Reviews favorite. We loved Magic Breaks so much we just had to share our love for it with you!  Rather than write a review, we’ve put together our impressions of the book and the series for you.

dotted divider

AH – The cast of characters is like no other in the urban fantasy world. Our lead couple Kate and Curran are both badass – Kate is absolutely amazing in her magical abilities and Curran is, well, let’s just say he takes my breath away. The huge supporting cast is wonderfully eclectic with all kinds of characters that add a twist of humor, danger, and even more badassery.  I liked how the book had a listing of the cast of characters at the beginning of the book. That, along with Barabas’ journal entries served as a very clever recap of the prior books.

Christal – I really enjoyed the recap at the beginning (loved Barabas’ voice!) and think it was perfect for new readers.  Don’t start here though; you’d miss out on so many fantastic stories in the previous books!  I loved Kate and Curran in this book.  They’ve grown together and matured in their relationship and this book was the perfect demonstration of that.  They support each other now without being too pushy and no one would call them co-dependent.  The supporting cast was wonderful as usual.  Andrea, Julie, and Doolittle are probably my favorites, but everyone adds something special to this series.

Regina – I liked the incorporation of the newer sidekicks. I don’t want to put spoilers but the entire beginning quest with the newer crew was great.  Their dynamic was funny and introducing new shifters to the inner crew grows the story.  Andrews is great at not just sitting back and relying on what they have done before.

AH- The writing team of Ilona Andrews has such an interesting sense of humor. I found myself chuckling throughout.

Christal – These books are always so funny, even when the characters are in life-and-death situations.  I was able to see Ilona and Gordon speak live and that same humor and wit come very naturally to them.  Ilona is not Kate, but you could definitely hear Kate in her voice from time to time.

ReginaMagic Breaks is funny. It is the kind of funny that comes from one liners based on situations and well written characters.

AH- I love how you can tell that the writers are parents themselves and they seem to understand their teenage characters so well. Loved that scene with Julie and how she was not doing well in school. Curran and Kate deserved an Oscar for that scene.

Christal – On the parenting issue, it was very intriguing to finally met Kate’s father.  I’m still not quite sure what to make of that situation, but it seems veeeeery interesting.  It did not play out like I thought it would; it was so much better!  And that is why I love the Andrews duo.

Regina – what I liked about this is that each book pushes the world and story building. I like how this book is a game changer.

AH-The world building is so incredibly detailed and unlike anything else I have ever read. I love how the authors research all sorts of myths and cultures and use that knowledge to create their own original world.

Christal – Yes, they always add to the mythology with each book and it’s amazing; I never know what to expect.  I liked how we met another member of Kate’s family in a completely unexpected way and learned a little bit more about where the power in her blood comes from.

AH- One of my favorite parts of this book was when the gang was in Mishmar. The nonstop action, scary monsters, ever changing corridors, and other freaky things made this a real page-turner.

Christal – Ah, Mishmar was the best!  I admit I teared up a little bit when Kate saw her rag-tag band of saviors.  I also have a newfound respect for Ghastek.  There were some really sad moments in this book, some really happy ones, and an ending that will be taking this series in a completely new direction.  I am so far on the Kate Daniels train that there is no getting off for me and I can’t wait to see what happens at the next stop.

Regina – it was interesting that Ghastek played such a large role in this book. Before he was just a character met along the way.  I like how Andrews builds on other books, things and situations don’t just happen.  Every development seems part of a larger story plot. I love that. It means we as readers are not being taken down side plots that do not matter and that the characters are never inconsistent.  I also really appreciate that Andrews is able to keep the books interesting without creating unnecessary problems for Kate and Curran.  So I am not sure anymore if I would categorize these books as urban fantasy.  I was alway ambivalent about that label for Kate Daniels. These stories seem to be more like fantasy. But it probably doesn’t matter, 5 years later every book is so darned good. 

Our verdict – Magic Breaks is a 5 Skull read!  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Series Reading Order:
Currently, there are 9 books planned for the series. The Kate Daniels series should be read in order. There are also a lot of short stories and novellas that fit in between each book. You can find a full listing of those on Goodreads and the author’s web site.

  1. Magic Bites
  2. Magic Burns
  3. Magic Strikes
  4. Magic Bleeds
  5. Magic Slays
  6. Magic Rises
  7. Magic Breaks

Thank you to Ace Hardcovers and Netgalley for providing a review copy of this book.

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 29, 2014 at 7:11 am
Jul 282014
 
Early Review: Unstoppable by Shannon Richard

Unstoppable by Shannon Richard Book #3 in Country Roads Genres: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 29th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Forever Synopsis from Goodreads: Some things you don’t dare let go . . . Melanie O’Bryan knows life is too short to be afraid of taking chances. And former Air Force sergeant Bennett Hart is certainly worth taking a chance on. He’s agreed to help her students with a school project, but she’s hoping the handsome handyman will offer her a whole lot more. Yet despite his heated glances and teasing touches, Mel senses there’s something holding him back . [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 28, 2014 at 11:10 am
Jul 252014
 
Should You Read This Series? Carsington Brothers by Loretta Chase

There are so many published series out there and I know you wonder…which ones are worth the read? In this feature, we tell you which series you should start and which ones you shouldn’t. As a ground rule, series in this feature must have at least 3 books published and the reviewer must have read more than half the series. If you want us to feature a series in the future, please ask in the comments. SERIES: Carsington Brothers by Loretta Chase GENRE: Historical Romance BOOKS PUBLISHED: 5 SERIES STATUS: Finished (supposedly) D.G. HAS READ: 5/5 SHOULD YOU READ THIS [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 25, 2014 at 9:44 am
Jul 242014
 
Release Day Review: Prototype by M.D. Waters

Prototype by M.D. Waters #2 in Archetype Genres: Science Fiction Publication Date: July 24th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Dutton Adult Synopsis from Goodreads: The stunning debut that began with Archetype— and has readers buzzing—concludes in Prototype, when a woman’s dual pasts lock onto a collision course, threatening her present and future. Emma looks forward to the day when she can let go of her past—both of them. After more than a year on the run, with clues to her parents’ whereabouts within her grasp, she may finally find a place to settle down. Start a new life. Maybe even [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 24, 2014 at 11:48 am
Jul 222014
 
Graphic Novels: Strong Female Characters

    Now is a great time to get into comics and graphic novels!  DC and Marvel both relaunched many of their titles with new #1 issues in the past few years, The New 52 and Marvel Now! respectively, and independently published comics are continuously producing profound and unique stories.  With SDCC right around the corner and Marvel’s announcement last week that a woman would be taking up the mantle of Thor, I thought it would be a perfect time to take a look at some graphic novels that feature strong female characters. These are some of my personal favorites, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 22, 2014 at 1:53 pm
Jul 212014
 
Review: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion Series: Don Tillman #1 Genre: Humor, Romance Release Date: May 1st, 2013 Don Tillman, professor of genetics, has never been on a second date. He is a man who can count all his friends on the fingers of one hand, whose lifelong difficulty with social rituals has convinced him that he is simply not wired for romance. So when an acquaintance informs him that he would make a “wonderful” husband, his first reaction is shock. Yet he must concede to the statistical probability that there is someone for everyone, and he embarks upon The [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 21, 2014 at 6:44 am
Jul 202014
 
Steals & Deals: Kate Daniels Series for $1.99 each! (Just today 7/20/14)

Just for today, the Kate Daniels series is on sale for Kindle – get all the ebooks for $1.99 each. If you are an audiobook fan, you can get Renee Raudman’s amazing narration for an additional $1.99 each ($3.49 for Magic Rises), thanks to the magic of the Whispersync discount. It’s an amazing bargain so now you have no excuse to start the series!  Magic Bites – Book 1 | Kindle $1.99 + $1.99 for Audiobook When the magic is up, rogue mages cast their spells and monsters appear, while guns refuse to fire and cars fail to start. But [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 20, 2014 at 9:28 am
Jul 172014
 
Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge: Adult - The Prime Minister's Secret Agent by Susan Elia MacNeal

The Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge was Adult for July so we decided on a historical mystery that was definitely meant for adult readers! Christal has loved the Maggie Hope Mystery series from the very beginning but now AH is a convert too. Read on to see why we think you should give this series a try. The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent by Susan Elia MacNeal Book #4 in A Maggie Hope Mystery Genres: Adult Historical Mystery Publication Date: July 1st 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Bantam Synopsis from Goodreads: World War II rages on across Europe, but Maggie Hope has finally found a moment of rest [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 17, 2014 at 7:00 am
Jul 162014
 
Release Day Review: Into the Shadows by Carolyn Crane

Release Day Review: Into the Shadows by Carolyn Crane Release date: July 16, 2014 Book 3 in The Associates series Genre: Romantic Suspense Book provided by the author Synopsis from Goodreads: He’s working undercover for the good guys. That doesn’t mean he’s one of them. HE’S A KILLER. Thorne McKelvey knows exactly how Nadia sees him—as a brute and a killer just kinky enough to play her sexy games. And that’s how it has to stay. Leaving her was the hardest thing he ever did, but his undercover mission could blow up at any second. No way will he drag [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 16, 2014 at 7:00 am
Jul 152014
 
New Release Review: The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno

The Half Life of Molly Pierce by Katrina Leno Genres: Young Adult Contemporary Publication Date: July 8th 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen Synopsis from Goodreads: You take it for granted. Waking up. Going to school, talking to your friends. Watching a show on television or reading a book or going out to lunch. You take for granted going to sleep at night, getting up the next day, and remembering everything that happened to you before you closed your eyes. You live and you remember. Me, I live and I forget. But now—now I am remembering. For all of her seventeen [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 15, 2014 at 7:00 am
Jul 142014
 
New Release Review: Child of a Hidden Sea by A. M. Dellamonica

New Release Review: Child of a Hidden Sea by A.M. Dellamonica Release date: June 24, 2014 Genre: Fantasy Book 1 of a 3 book trilogy Book provided by NetGalley and MacMillan-Tor/Forge Synopsis from Goodreads: One minute, twenty-four-year-old Sophie Hansa is in a San Francisco alley trying to save the life of the aunt she has never known. The next, she finds herself flung into the warm and salty waters of an unfamiliar world. Glowing moths fall to the waves around her, and the sleek bodies of unseen fish glide against her submerged ankles. The world is Stormwrack, a series of [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 14, 2014 at 7:00 am
Jul 112014
 
New Release Review: The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson Genres: Young Adult, Contemporary, Paranormal, Romance Publication Date: July 1st 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and HarperTeen Synopsis from Goodreads: Girls started vanishing in the fall, and now winter’s come to lay a white sheet over the horror. Door County, it seems, is swallowing the young, right into its very dirt. From beneath the house on Water Street, I’ve watched the danger swell. The residents know me as the noises in the house at night, the creaking on the stairs. I’m the reflection behind them in the glass, the feeling of fear in the cellar. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 11, 2014 at 4:00 pm
Jul 112014
 
Early Review: Dirty Wings by Sarah McCarry

Dirty Wings by Sarah McCarry Book #2 in All Our Pretty Songs Genre: Young Adult Magical Realism Publication Date: July 15th 2014 ARC Provided by St. Martin’s Griffin and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: A gorgeous retelling of the Persephone myth, Sarah McCarry brings us the story of Cass and Maia–the mothers from All Our Pretty Songs–and how their fates became intertwined. Maia is a teenage piano prodigy and dutiful daughter, imprisoned in the oppressive silence of her adoptive parents’ house like a princess in an ivory tower. Cass is a street rat, witch, and runaway, scraping by with her wits and her knack for [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 11, 2014 at 10:38 am
Jul 102014
 
Early Review: Black Rook by Kelly Meade

Black Rook by Kelly Meade Book #1 in Cornerstone Run Trilogy Genre: Paranormal Romance Publication Date: July 15th 2014 ARC Provided by InterMix and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: She never saw this coming… Brynn Atwood is a low-level Magus whose unpredictable precognitive powers have made her an outcast among her people—and an embarrassment to her highly-regarded father. After a frightening vision in which her father is murdered by a loup garou man, Brynn decides to prove herself by finding the killer, and stopping them at any cost. Her target is Rook McQueen, the son of a small-town loup garou Alpha. Despite being the youngest of three, Rook is first [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 10, 2014 at 10:45 am
Jul 092014
 
New Release Review: Shattered by Kevin Hearne

Shattered by Kevin Hearne Series: Iron Druid Chronicles #7 Genre: Urban Fantasy Release Date: Jun 17, 2014 For nearly two thousand years, there was only one Druid left walking the Earth—Atticus O’Sullivan, the Iron Druid, whose sharp wit and sharp sword kept him alive while pursued by a pantheon of hostile deities. Now he’s got company. Atticus’s apprentice Granuaile is at last a full Druid herself. What’s more, Atticus has defrosted an archdruid long ago frozen in time, a father figure (of sorts) who now goes by the modern equivalent of his old Irish name: Owen Kennedy. And Owen has [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 9, 2014 at 7:01 am
Jul 082014
 
Review: Threatened by Eliot Schrefer

Threatened by Eliot Schrefer Genre: Realistic Fiction/Animal Story Publication Date: February 25th 2014 Publisher: Scholastic Press Synopsis from Goodreads: Into the jungle. Into the wild. Into harm’s way. When he was a boy, Luc’s mother would warn him about the “mock men” living in the trees by their home — chimpanzees whose cries would fill the night. Luc is older now, his mother gone. He lives in a house of mistreated orphans, barely getting by. Then a man calling himself Prof comes to town with a mysterious mission. When Luc tries to rob him, the man isn’t mad. Instead, he offers Luc a job. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 8, 2014 at 2:30 pm
Jul 082014
 
Re-Release Review: The Trouble With Harry by Katie MacAlister

Re-Release Review: The Trouble With Harry by Katie MacAlister Book 3 in Noble series Re-Release date: July 1, 2014 Original Release Date: May 2004 Genre: Historical Romance Book provided by NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca Synopsis from Goodreads:  1. He is Plum’s new husband. Not normally a problem, but when you consider that Harry advertised for a wife, and Plum was set to marry his secretary, there was cause for a bit of confusion. 2. He has a title. Plum has spent the last twenty years hiding from the ton, and now Harry wants her to shine in society? Horrors! 3. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 8, 2014 at 12:04 pm
Jul 072014
 
7 Books Everybody Loved Except Me

Today I’m sharing with you a list of 7 books that I didn’t like at ALL but which are loved by a LOT of readers, as shown by the thousands of Goodreads members that rated them 4+ stars. Some I hate, others, I just dislike. Once you finish reading the list, please share in the comments books you didn’t like but everybody seemed to love. Divergent by Veronica Roth Genre: Young Adult Dystopia Avg. Goodreads Rating: 4.35 Rated by: 920,000+ Goodreads Members D.G.’s Rating: 2 stars Why I Didn’t Like It:  I don’t get it. I really can’t understand why [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 7, 2014 at 6:47 am
Jul 042014
 
New Release Review: (Don't You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn

(Don’t You) Forget About Me by Kate Karyus Quinn Genre: Young Adult Paranormal Mystery Publication Date: June 10th 2014 ARC Provided by HarperTeen and Edelweiss Synopsis from Goodreads: Welcome to Gardnerville. A place where no one gets sick. And no one ever dies. Except… There’s a price to pay for paradise. Every fourth year, the strange power that fuels the town exacts its payment by infecting teens with deadly urges. In a normal year in Gardnerville, teens might stop talking to their best friends. In a fourth year, they’d kill them. Four years ago, Skylar’s sister, Piper, was locked away after [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 4, 2014 at 7:00 am
Jul 032014
 
Group Review: The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu

**************************************************************** The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Publication Date: June 3rd 2014 ARC Provided by Roaring Brook Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Everyone has a lot to say about Alice Franklin, and it’s stopped mattering whether it’s true. The rumors started at a party when Alice supposedly had sex with two guys in one night. When school starts everyone almost forgets about Alice until one of those guys, super-popular Brandon, dies in a car wreck that was allegedly all Alice’s fault. Now the only friend she has is a boy who may be the only other person who [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 3, 2014 at 7:00 am