Aug 292016
 

Pirate of Fathoms DeepThe Pirate of Fathoms Deep by Megan Derr
Tales of the High Court #2
Genre: M/M Fantasy
Publication Date: July 13th, 2016
Publisher: Less Than Three Press

Synopsis from Goodreads:

High Commander Lesto Arseni is the most feared man in the Harken Empire. None but the High King dares risk his wrath—and a pirate who once punched him in the middle of the imperial pavilion. A pirate who later snuck away with Lesto to an empty room, touched him in ways far more memorable. And then immediately bolted like a man who’d gotten what he wanted.

Shemal just wants to live a normal life, leave his pirating days behind him and prove that he’s respectable now. The last thing he needs is the two idiots who show up wanting his help with the noble they’ve kidnapped—the very man Shemal had been hoping to prove himself to, the man he hasn’t forgotten since Shemal punched him a year and a half ago.

Wendy’s Review

 

I was really looking forward to The Pirate of Fathoms Deep.  While the first book, The High King’s Golden Tongue, wasn’t my favorite I did enjoy it.  It wasn’t like anything I’d read before, and I liked that Sarrica and Allen didn’t fall immediately in love with each other.  I also liked Lesto.  I liked how he drove Sarrica crazy, and vice versa, and I was intrigued when Lesto would mention his pirate.

When I realized that the second book would be about Lesto and that very same pirate I was excited.  I thought this one was going to surpass the first, because there was already chemistry between the two main characters.  I was wrong.

It wasn’t that there was anything wrong with the plot, because it was set up so nicely.  Man has an encounter with a pirate that he can’t forget, pirate leaves and he thinks he’ll never see him again, until the day they come face to face.  Everything was there that would have made a really romantic, heartpounding, fantasy.  Even the characters themselves had interesting traits.  All the untapped potential in the story only makes the fact that it wasn’t very good that much worse.

Perhaps if we had gotten the opportunity to read the initial interaction between Lesto and Shemal it would have helped, or maybe if the pacing hadn’t felt so rushed… all I can say for sure is that Shemal came across as way too timid for a super awesome pirate.  He was suppossed to be strong, mischievious.  Sexy.  He read like fumbling, shy, and awkward.  I could have even excepted that to a degree, if it hadn’t been 90% of what we read.  In addition, Lesto was one angry stomping Lord man.  He yelled at Sarrica.  He yelled at Rene.  He yelled at his crew.  He even grumped at Shemal, and he was nicest to Shemal.  He did more yelling than he did anything romantic, and when he tried to be romantic it fell flat.  Probably because everything was rushed through.

When I say everything was rushed through, I mean even the reunion.  I was ready, into it, excited when Lesto realized who was in front of him.  The initial distrust was there.  Then bam, they have it out and Lesto and Shemal are kissing and they both want to be with each other, they’re in love… whirlwind!  Which, okay, so I can even get on board with that (if the story is good).  Except, that even when things should just be good, they’re both inventing issues.  Lesto is grumpy, which Shemal immediately assumes means he isn’t wanted there.  Shemal acts nervous, so Lesto immediately acts like it’s because Shemal doesn’t truly want him.

It was all so very frustrating!

None of my complaints has any bearing on the story overall.  I know who the next book is about, and disappointed as I am, there’s no way I’m missing it.  Does that make me a sucker?

 Thank you to Less Than Three Press via Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Rating: 2.5 Stars = D+

Series Reading Order

  1. The High King’s Golden Tongue
  2. The Pirate of Fathoms Deep
Bookmark and Share
Aug 262016
 
A Year of Sarah Dessen | This Lullaby

I am halfway through my ‘A Year of Sarah Dessen,’ and I have to say, this was a great place to start to make sure I get at least one YA read in a month. While I don’t always like everything about her books, I feel like the things I don’t care for are intentional on her part. She has made me rethink my ratings more than once over these six months. I’ve discovered some fantastic books with this feature, and I’m excited to see what the next half of the year of Sarah Dessen brings! This Lullaby by Sarah [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 242016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: Rented Heart by Garrett Leigh

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I anticipating so much it’s making my reader heart skip a beat? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ Ex-surfer-turned-businessman Liam Mallaney moved back to Holkham, Norfolk, to mourn the loss of his husband. Grief and loneliness keep him a solitary figure, and he likes it that way. There’s no room in his broken heart for anything else. Rentboy Zac Payne left London and most of his demons behind, but he still only knows one way to [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 232016
 
Early Review: Made for Sin by Stacia Kane

Made for Sin by Stacia Kane Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: August 30th, 2016 Publisher: Loveswept Synopsis from Goodreads: A lot of bad hands get dealt in Vegas, but E. L. Speare may be holding one of the worst: He’s cursed with the need to commit sins, and if he misses his daily quota, there’s hell to pay—literally. Fortunately, his hometown affords him plenty of chances to behave badly. But Speare’s newest case really has him going out on a limb. The right-hand man of a notorious crime boss has been found dead in a Dumpster—minus his right hand, not to mention [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 222016
 
Spotlight + Giveaway: The Gate to Futures Past by Julie E. Czerneda

To help celebrate the upcoming release of the next installment in Julie E. Czerneda’s Reunification trilogy, Badass Book Reviews (via the publisher) is giving away two sets of the first two books in this series. This trilogy will conclude The Clan Chronicles series, and here is how Goodreads describes it: I’d lived on a starship long enough to value the small sounds the Fox made: the whoosh of air through vents, the bone-deep growl of lift engines, and the reassuring almost-whine that meant not only gravity, but that we were moving through subspace under power. Sound meant we were safe [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 182016
 
New Release Review: Swear on This Life by Renée Carlino

Swear on this Life by Renée Carlino Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: August 9th, 2016 ARC provided by Netgalley and Atria Books Synopsis from Goodreads: When a bestselling debut novel from mysterious author J.Colby becomes the literary event of the year, Emiline reads it reluctantly. As an adjunct writing instructor at UC San Diego with her own stalled literary career and a bumpy long-term relationship, Emiline isn’t thrilled to celebrate the accomplishments of a young and gifted writer. Yet from the very first page, Emiline is entranced by the story of Emerson and Jackson, two childhood best friends who fall in [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 172016
 
"Waiting On" Wednesday: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Coloring Book

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I aching for?  Which one do my hands want so badly they tingle? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ Enter the world of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, the chosen one who wields the skill to fight vampires, demons, and the forces of darkness. Created by the multi-talented Joss Whedon and beloved the world over, your favorite characters and moments from the Buffy television series are all represented in this engrossing adult coloring book. Containing forty-five intricately-detailed [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 162016
 
Interview, Review, + Giveaway: The Sight by Chloe Neill

Devil’s Isle caught our interest last year when the series launched with The Veil. We loved every breathtaking moment and couldn’t wait to read the The Sight. We’re excited to celebrate the release of this latest installment with an interview from Chloe Neill. We picked her brain trying to get as much information as possible about Claire and Liam! Be sure to read to the bottom of the post so you don’t miss out on two exciting giveaways! ~ INTERVIEW ~ BBR: Thank you so much for taking the time to answer our questions today, Chloe! Can you start off by telling [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 152016
 
On the Hunt | Tracking an Epic Romance

  Isn’t there no better feeling than finding a book that’s like magic in your hands.  A story that, from page one, sucks you in and holds you hostage.  One that when you get to the end and you can feel your heart squeezing, and your soul aching, and you just clutch the book to your chest because you know that physically putting it down would be like ripping off the toughest of band-aids. I’ve felt that way about only a handful of books and the sad fact is that, despite rereads, I’ll never get that initial feeling again.  There is literally [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 122016
 
More Josh Lanyon Lovin!

This is my second installment of all Josh Lanyon reads.  The reason for this is simple, I love her style and when I find a good one I suddenly decide to binge read one after the other. If you are a mystery reader and enjoy the M/M genre, Josh Lanyon is a must read.  Dead serious.  Must read. The Mermaid Murders The Art of Murder book #1 Genre: M/M Contemporary Mystery Publication Date: August 1st, 2010 Synopsis from Goodreads: Special Agent Jason West is seconded from the FBI Art Crime Team to temporarily partner with disgraced, legendary “manhunter” Sam Kennedy when it appears [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 102016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: Leave Me by Gayle Forman

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I anticipating so much it’s making my reader heart skip a beat? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ For every woman who has ever fantasized about driving past her exit on the highway instead of going home to make dinner, for every woman who has ever dreamed of boarding a train to a place where no one needs constant attention–meet Maribeth Klein. A harried working mother who’s so busy taking care of her husband and twins, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 092016
 
Release Day Review: Reaper's Fire by Joanna Wylde

Reaper’s Fire by Joanna Wylde Book #6 in Reapers MC Genre: Contemporary/MC Romance Publication Date: August 9th, 2016 ARC Provided by Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: The club comes first. I’ve lived by those words my whole life—assumed I’d die by them, too, and I never had a problem with that. My Reaper brothers took my back and I took theirs and it was enough. Then I met her. Tinker Garrett. She’s beautiful, she’s loyal, and she works so damned hard it scares me sometimes . . . She deserves a good man—one better than me. I can’t take her yet because [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 082016
 
New Release Review: The Wrath of the Great Guilds by Jack Campbell

The Wrath of the Great Guilds by Jack Campbell Series: The Pillars of Reality #6 Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction Release Date: Aug 1, 2016 Audiobook Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews The Great Guilds, fearing the loss of their control of the world of Dematr, have gathered their power and joined it with the relentless legions of the Empire. The full might of that host will fall upon the fortress city of Dorcastle. If Dorcastle falls, the revolt led by Master Mechanic Mari and Mage Alain will fail, and their world will soon descend into chaos. Only Mari, believed to be the daughter [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 052016
 
Review Hodgepodge (#6)

Well, this is me, so as usual, I picked up one M/M book fully prepared to move on to something else when I was done. That rarely happens, and it sure as heck didn’t happen this time. I don’t know what it is about the genre (sub-genre?) that grips me. Once I’m in, it’s hard to find my way out. I find M/M to be brimming with emotions that don’t feel forced and filled with angst that is beautifully done. I found some really good (and funny) reads with this bunch. And one full-on bust. 🙁 Adulting 101 by Lisa [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 042016
 
New Release Review: Among the Wicked by Linda Castillo

New Release Review: Among the Wicked Release Date: July 12, 2016 Genre: Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Amish Book 8 in Kate Burkholder series Book provided by: NetGalley and the publisher   Synopsis from Goodreads: Chief of Police Kate Burkholder is called upon by the sheriff’s department in rural, upstate New York to assist on a developing situation that involves a reclusive Amish settlement and the death of a young girl. Unable to penetrate the wall of silence between the Amish and “English” communities, the sheriff asks Kate to travel to New York, pose as an Amish woman, and infiltrate the community.Kate’s [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 032016
 
"Waiting On" Wednesday: Made for Sin by Stacia Kane

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I aching for?  Which one do my hands want so badly they tingle? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ A lot of bad hands get dealt in Vegas, but E. L. Speare may be holding one of the worst: He’s cursed with the need to commit sins, and if he misses his daily quota, there’s hell to pay—literally. Fortunately, his hometown affords him plenty of chances to behave badly. But Speare’s newest case really has him [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 022016
 
Interview, Review, + Giveaway: A Season of Ruin by Anna Bradley

It’s Release Day for Anna Bradley’s A Season of Ruin! As huge fans of Anna’s, Badass Book Reviews is happy to celebrate by picking her brain and getting answers to some of the questions that have been plaguing us since we first read about the Sutherlands and Somersets. Her alpha heroes are swoon-worthy, and we want to share the love. Don’t forget to read to the bottom of the post for your chance to win the first two books in the Sutherland Scandals series! BBR: Thank you so much for taking the time to answer our questions today, Anna! Can you [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 012016
 
Review: How to Date Dead Guys by Ann M. Noser

How to Date Dead Guys by Ann M. Noser Under the Blood Moon #1 Genre: Post-Apocalypse Horror Publication Date: July 15th, 2014 Publisher: Curiosity Quills Press Synopsis from Goodreads: College sophomore Emma Roberts remembers her mother’s sage advice: “don’t sleep around, don’t burp in public, and don’t tell anyone you see ghosts.” But when cute Mike Carlson drowns in the campus river under her watch, Emma’s sheltered life shatters. Blamed for Mike’s death and haunted by nightmares, Emma turns to witchcraft and a mysterious Book of Shadows to bring him back. Under a Blood Moon, she lights candles, draws a pentacle on [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 292016
 
New Release Group Review + Excerpt: The Angels' Share by J. R. Ward

The Angel’s Share by J.R. Ward Book #2 in The Bourbon Kings Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 26th, 2016 ARC Provided by Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: In Charlemont, Kentucky, the Bradford family is the crème de la crème of high society—just like their exclusive brand of bourbon. And their complicated lives and vast estate are run by a discrete staff who inevitably become embroiled in their affairs. This is especially true now, when the apparent suicide of the family patriarch is starting to look more and more like murder… No one is above suspicion—especially the eldest Bradford son, Edward. The [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 272016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: Rookie Move by Sarina Bowen

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I anticipating so much it’s making my reader heart skip a beat? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ In high school they were the perfect couple—until the day Georgia left Leo in the cold… Hockey player Leo Trevi has spent the last six years trying to do two things: get over the girl who broke his heart, and succeed in the NHL. But on the first day he’s called up to the newly franchised Brooklyn Bruisers, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on July 27, 2016 at 7:00 am