Jul 222016
 

Review Hodgepodge

As you can see from my reviews below, I had some really good reads this month from historical romance. Again, it was contemporary romance that was lacking for me. (Insert heavy sigh here.) But I have to be honest; I’m done talking a good game. I can’t give this genre up, so yeah. I’ll be back for more. Hopefully I’ll find a diamond in the rough to gush about soon!

~*~


The Autumn BrideThe Autumn Bride
by Anne Gracie
Book #1 in Chance Sisters
Genre: Historical Romance
Publication Date: February 5th, 2013

Synopsis from Goodreads: Governess Abigail Chantry will do anything to save her sister and two dearest friends from destitution, even if it means breaking into an empty mansion in the hope of finding something to sell. Instead of treasures, though, she finds the owner, Lady Beatrice Davenham, bedridden and neglected. Appalled, Abby rousts Lady Beatrice’s predatory servants and—with Lady Beatrice’s eager cooperation—the four young ladies become her “nieces,” neatly eliminating the threat of disaster for all concerned!

It’s the perfect situation, until Lady Beatrice’s dashing and arrogant nephew, Max, Lord Davenham, returns from the Orient—and discovers an impostor running his household…

A romantic entanglement was never the plan for these stubborn, passionate opponents—but falling in love may be as inevitable as the falling of autumn leaves…

Angie’s Review – 3 stars – B-

The Autumn Bride is a decent read if you can adjust your expectations before going in. Very little of this story is focused on the romance between Abby and Max, but rather on the bond growing between the five women circumstance has brought together. Abby is the one the rest of the girls look to for guidance, and when they are in dire straits, she must take matters into her own hands even if it isn’t quite legal. This is how Abby meets Lady Beatrice, and it’s not long before she has also taken responsibility for the older lady. I did love seeing the friendship develop between all the women and the different roles they each took on as they settled into their new home. For me, this was the highlight of the story. Though I must say, I think that’s because Max, Lord Davenham, wasn’t that likable when he was on the page. It was clear he loved his aunt and wanted to make sure she was well taken care of, but we rarely got a break from his gruffness. Add to that the fact that the only love scene in the book came too late and felt like it appeared at an awkward time, and I think that’s why the sisterly bond was more interesting to me than Abby and Max’s relationship. I think the book would have been better off without the intimate scene. I listened to the audio of this, and I did enjoy the narrator. Her voice sounded more mature than Abby’s 24 years, but she did the accent well and I liked her intonation. Because I did like Lady Beatrice, Abby, Jane, Damaris, and Daisy so much, I will be continuing with this series.

Rating: 3 Stars

Series Reading Order:
1. The Autumn Bride
2. The Winter Bride
3. The Spring Bride
4. The Summer Bride

~*~

 

My Highland SpyMy Highland Spy by Victoria Roberts
Book #1 in Highland Spies
Genre: Historical Romance
Publication Date: September 2nd, 2014
ARC Provided by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca

Synopsis from Goodreads: This Highland Laird won’t bow to the Crown

Laird Ruairi Sutherland refuses to send his only son away to be educated by the English. And he most definitely will not appear in Edinburgh to pay homage to a liege who has no respect for Scotland. So he does what any laird would do—he lies to the king. The last thing Ruairi expects is a beautiful English governess to appear on his doorstep.

But this lady spy might make him…

Lady Ravenna Walsingham is a seasoned spy who is sent to the savage Highlands to uncover a nefarious plot against the Crown. Playing the part of an English governess—a job easier said than done—she infiltrates the home of Laird Sutherland, a suspected conspirator.

If she doesn’t betray him first

Ravenna soon discovers that the only real threat Sutherland poses is to her heart. But will the proud Highland laird ever forgive her when he discovers the woman he loves is an English spy?

Angie’s Review – 4.5 Stars – A

Can we just take a second to bask in the beauty of this cover? A kilt and a stunning background? Yes, please! I can’t believe how long I let this book sit on my to be read list. I have really been missing out. I adored this story. The vernacular was much more modern that I would expect for the time period, but you know what? The author weaved such a wonderful tale that I ended up not even caring about that. I loved Ravenna and Ruairi. Ravenna was smart and compassionate, and Ruairi was a leader who cared about his people and would do anything to protect them. But when it came to Ravenna and his son, the man was a gentle giant. I enjoyed the suspense in this book. It wasn’t over the top, but it was enough to leave you wondering ‘whodunit?’ and what would come next. Torquil, Ruairi’s son, was a wonderful addition to the story. He showed us Ravenna’s softer side, and I didn’t feel at any point that he overwhelmed the story. Fagan was Ruairi’s right hand man; he loved to needle Ruairi about his son’s governess and cared about his laird and the people who depended on them. I can’t wait to find out more about him, so I’m excited that his book his next! My Highland Spy was a wonderful read that flew right by for me. I started listening to the audio of this story at work, but it was so good that I switched to print when I got home so I could finish it ASAP. If there was one thing I wish this book had, it would be just a bit more time spent with Ruairi and Ravenna once they found their way back together again.

Rating: 4.5 Stars

Thank you to SOURCEBOOKS CASABLANCA and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Series Reading Order:
1. My Highland Spy
2. Kilts and Daggers
3. Kill or Be Kilt

~*~


Her Wicked Sin
Her Wicked Sin by Sarah Ballance
Book #1 in Sins of Salem
Genre: Historical Romance
Publication Date: September 9th, 2013
ARC provided by Netgalley and Entangled: Scandalous

Synopsis from Goodreads: On a moonless night, he rides into the winter forest on his beast as black as midnight….
Dashing stranger, Henry Dunham, comes to Salem on a mysterious errand, but is thrown from his horse in the dead of night and rescued by the local Puritan midwife, Lydia Colson.

Haunted by her past, Lydia is running from her own dark secrets, avoiding intrusive questions by pretending her dead husband is simply…away. But when she and Henry are caught in a compromising situation, one punishable by Puritan law, he saves her from scandal by claiming to be her errant spouse…and claiming her bed.

Forced to fake a marriage, Lydia and Henry find their passion overwhelming and their vows a little too real. As their lies become truths, a witch hunt closes in on Lydia, threatening not only their burgeoning love, but her life.

Angie’s Review – 3.5 Stars – B-

The set up for this series is interesting and unique. The Salem Witch Trials are an untapped time in our history as far as settings go, and the author did a wonderful job capturing the intensity that surrounded these events. The cover, however, fails to mimic this, so if you’re interested in this book, I suggest sticking to the synopsis to make your choice. It’s disappointing, because the options for something eye-catching to draw a reader in are endless. Surprisingly, this book did include insta-lust and insta-love. I can see the draw of lust on both parts of the MC’s, but I’d expect the heroine to be a bit wary of tying herself so hastily to a man because of her past. I liked Lydia. She was living a life where, for multiple reasons, she was constantly looking over her shoulder, but she never let her convictions waver. Henry was a wonderful hero. He was well-travelled and intelligent, and he genuinely cared for Lydia. He was very careful with the secrets she shared with him, and his first instinct was always to make her comfortable. They dynamics in the Puritan community were interesting. Untamed gossip could lead to someone’s death, and it almost felt like ‘friends’ and neighbors were desperate to point the finger at someone else lest accusations and death find them. I thought the pacing of this book was pretty swift, but that’s to be expected from the length. I give the author props for sliding a mystery into the book that the reader isn’t even aware of until everything clicks into place. While Her Wicked Sin was an enjoyable read, it left me wanting more. I think this book would have benefited from a bigger word count and more exploration of the period in which it was set.

Rating: 3.5 Stars

Series Reading Order:
1. Her Wicked Sin
2. An Unexpected Sin
3. The Sins of a Few

Thank you to ENTANGLED: SCANDALOUS and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

~*~


Thrown DownThrown Down
by Tessa Bailey
Book #2 in Made in Jersey
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publication Date: April 4th, 2016
ARC Provided by Netgalley and Entangled

Synopsis from Goodreads: He has one last chance to deserve the girl of his dreams…

Overachiever River Purcell was never supposed to be a struggling single mom, working double shifts just to make ends meet. Nor was she supposed to be abandoned by her high school sweetheart, breaking her heart into a thousand jagged pieces. Now Vaughn De Matteo is back in town, his sights set on her…and River is in danger of drowning a second time.

No one believed Hook’s resident bad boy was good enough for River. Not even Vaughn himself. But he’ll fight like hell to win back the woman he never stopped loving, to keep the daughter he never expected, and convince himself he’s worth their love in the process–even if he has to rely on their fierce and undeniable sexual chemistry.

But even as River’s body arches under his hungered touch, the demons of the past lurk in the shadows. Waiting for Vaughn to repeat his mistakes one last time…

Angie’s Review – 1.5 Stars – D

I feel bad writing this review, because it’s not favorable at all, but I’ve resolved to write a review for every book I finish, so here we go…

If you’re someone who loves the second chance romance trope, I am right there with you. It’s probably tied with best friend’s older brother/older brother’s best friend for me in terms of how much I love it. But in order for me to be invested in a second chance romance story, I need to ‘buy’ their relationship the first time around, and I didn’t here. And I think that is in large part to how much I just didn’t care about the characters. I wanted to, and I even did manage to like parts of Vaughn. But as a whole, these were not likable people. Vaughn was a tough guy but allowed her father to run him off? Nope. Didn’t work for me. I did like that Vaughn was a tortured hero, but he spent way too much lamenting for my tastes, and by the time I got to know River, I was very sad that he didn’t think he deserved better for himself. And why do I say that? Well…spoiler alert.

Hey people? This is a spoiler--Fair Warning!

Vaughn was way too wrapped up in his own guilt to even be mad at River for what she did. I would have liked some tension surrounding those events. Her decision was life altering, and then she could never even be bothered to tell him they had a child. And her reasons weren’t compelling enough to be believed. It made it really hard to like her. And now, I feel like I’m just beating a dead horse here, but this was a woman who was working two jobs to make a life for her and her child. Now, she had a rock star brother who offered to give her money to help her out, but she refused! I think I was supposed to be like ‘Oh, River. Look at how hard she works to support her daughter. Isn’t she such a good person?’ But, of course, I went the other way straight into ‘WTF? Her brother loves her and wants to help her out, giving her an opportunity to spend more time with her daughter and she refuses?’ Yeah. That didn’t endear her to me at all. I thought it was a selfish decision. Hot dirty talkin’ heroes are something I’ve come to expect from Tessa Bailey, and this aspect of the book fell short for me as well. Some of the things Vaughn said made me shudder, and not in the good way. And I get wanting to be original in descriptions, but when you mention ‘corrugated abs,’ all I can picture is the Tin Man with a six pack. And the final nail in the coffin for this one was that while Vaughn may have returned to town because he found out about his daughter, it was clear getting River into bed was priority number one for him. It wasn’t until 72% that her really became interested in learning about his daughter. So she was basically the forgotten catalyst. Overall, Thrown Down was a miss for me, but as I’ve enjoyed previous works from this author, I’m hoping this was a fluke.

Rating: 1.5 Stars

Series Reading Order:
1. Crashed Out
2. Thrown Down
3. Worked Up (Expected Publication: August 1st, 2016)

Thank you to ENTANGLED and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

~*~

Wicked IntentionsWicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt
Book #1 in Maiden Lane
Genre: Historical Romance
Publication Date: August 1st, 2010
ARC provided by Netgalley and Grand Central Publishing

Synopsis from Goodreads: A man controlled by his desires…

Infamous for his wild, sensual needs, Lazarus Huntington, Lord Caire, is searching for a savage killer in St. Giles, London’s most notorious slum. Widowed Temperance Dews knows St. Giles like the back of her hand— she’s spent a lifetime caring for its inhabitants at the foundling home her family established. Now that home is at risk.

A woman haunted by her past…

Caire makes a simple offer—in return for Temperance’s help navigating the perilous alleys of St. Giles, he will introduce her to London’s high society so that she can find a benefactor for the home. But Temperance may not be the innocent she seems, and what begins as cold calculation soon falls prey to a passion that neither can control—one that may well destroy them both.

A bargain neither could refuse.

Angie’s Review – 2.5 Stars – C-

This author has been on my to-be-read list forever, so when this book recently popped up on Netgalley, I didn’t hesitate to snag it. And I wanted to love it. I really really wanted to love it. But I didn’t. The biggest issue here for me was there was just too much going on. Between Caire and Temperance, King Locked Heart, and Silence and her husband, it was overflowing with information. And I’ll be honest – when I’m reading a story, I want the author to make me fall so in love with that story, that I am compelled to pick up the next book by them. I don’t want POVs from characters who have an upcoming book. And this is what we got here. Silence is given way too much page time in this book, and quite frankly, it was so frustrating that I couldn’t even be invested in her character. I don’t give one wit what happens to her in the future. Add to that that I’m given an epilogue that features only her, and I was so pissed I might have thrown a physical book across the room. (My unhealthy love for my Kindle won’t allow me to do that.) I feel like I was robbed of an epilogue for Temperance and Caire, who had overcome a great deal to be together.

It was one thing when Temperance put herself in dangerous situations over and over again, but when her brothers found out and still allowed this to happen (gallivanting about with a man known to be semi-crazed, I might add,) it was too much to be believed. I know she was a widow, but she was trying to find a proprietor for her foundling home, and I would think that would motivate her to keep some sense of decorum, especially for the time period and how harshly nobility judged those they viewed as lesser. Add to that that when Lord Caire fell in love with Temperance he was ‘cured’ from his sexual proclivities, it was all just too much. Though he was my favorite part of the story, even if the issues with his mother were resolved way too hastily and without any buildup whatsoever. I loved his history and his gruff demeanor. While Wicked Intentions was a miss for me, there was some good writing here, and Caire was an interesting character. For now, I won’t be continuing with this series, but it may be something I return to in the future.

I went back and forth on the audio of this book, and the narrator was wonderful. She did a good job with the accent and intonation.

Rating: 2.5 Stars

Series Reading Order
1. Wicked Intentions
2. Notorious Pleasures
3. Scandalous Desires
4. Thief of Shadows
5. Lord of Darkness
6. Duke of Midnight
7. Darling Beast
8. Dearest Rogue
9. Sweetest Scoundrel
10. Duke of Sin
11. Duke of Pleasure (Expected Publication: November 29th, 2016)
12. Duke of Desire (Expected Publication: 2017)

Thank you to GRAND CENTRAL PUBLISHING and Netgalley for providing a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Bookmark and Share
Jul 212016
 
New Release Review: Paper & Fire by Rachel Caine

New Release Review: Paper & Fire by Rachel Caine Release Date: July 5, 2016 Genre: Young Adult, Steampunk, Fantasy Book 2 in The Great Library Book provided by: NetGalley and NALSynopsis from Goodreads:Ink and Bone introduced a world where knowledge is power, and power corrupts absolutely. Now, the story of those who dare to defy the Great Library—and rewrite history—continues. . . .With an iron fist, The Great Library controls the knowledge of the world, ruthlessly stamping out all rebellion, forbidding the personal ownership of books in the name of the greater good.Jess Brightwell has survived his introduction to the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 202016
 
"Waiting On" Wednesday: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by JK Rowling

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. Here’s one I’m obsessively checking the calendar for! ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, a new play by Jack Thorne, is the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. It will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on 30th July 2016 It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 192016
 
New Release Review: Rise by Mira Grant

Rise by Mira Grant A Newsflesh Collection Genre: Post-Apocalypse Horror Publication Date: June 21st, 2016 Publisher: Orbit Books Synopsis from Goodreads: Collected here for the first time is every piece of short fiction from New York Times Bestseller Mira Grant’s acclaimed Newsflesh series, with two new never-before-published novellas and all eight short works available for the first time in print. We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we created something new, something terrible that no one could stop. The infection spread, a man-made virus taking over bodies and minds, filling them with one, unstoppable command…FEED. Countdown [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 182016
 
New Release Review: The Servants of the Storm by Jack Campbell

The Servants of the Storm by Jack Campbell Series: The Pillars of Reality #5 Genre: Fantasy/Science Fiction Release Date: Jul 1, 2016 Audiobook Narrated by: MacLeod Andrews A Storm that will wreck a world threatens Dematr. Only Mari, one of the Mechanics who control all technology through their Guild, has a chance to stop it. She and Mage Alain have survived numerous attempts to kill them and have gained many more followers, but the Storm of chaos, born of centuries of enslavement, grows ever closer. Mari leads an army now. She and Alain must fight together to bind back the [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 152016
 
Blog Tour | Interview & New Release Review: Smoke & Mirrors by Charlie Cochet

I’m having a love affair.  Me and about 6-8 men.  Scandalous! I’ve fallen in love with the members of the THIRDS, but mostly the men (and ladies) of Destructive Delta. A big thank you to Charlie Cochet for including us in our Smoke & Mirrors blog tour, and joining us here today. Genre: Paranormal Gay Romance Series: THIRDS Length: Novel Published: July 8th, 2016 Publisher: Dreamspinner Press Cover Artist: L.C. Chase Ebook ISBN-13: 9781634773871 Paperback ISBN-13: 9781634773874 ADD TO GOODREADS READ CHAPTER ONE Synopsis from Goodreads: Life for Dexter J. Daley has never been easy, but he’s always found a way [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 142016
 
A Year of Sarah Dessen | Dreamland

I’m still going strong with my Sarah Dessen reads! This month continues with Dreamland. While this book wasn’t able to capture me the way previous ones were, it was a decent read and hasn’t hindered my excitement for my next book from the author! Dreamland by Sarah Dessen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: May 11th, 2004 Synopsis from Goodreads:  Wake up, Caitlin Ever since she started going out with Rogerson Biscoe, Caitlin seems to have fallen into a semiconscious dreamland where nothing is quite real. Rogerson is different from anyone Caitlin has ever known. He’s magnetic. He’s compelling. He’s dangerous. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 132016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: The Angels' Share by J.R. Ward

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book are we anticipating so much it’s making our reader hearts skip a beat? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ In Charlemont, Kentucky, the Bradford family is the crème de la crème of high society—just like their exclusive brand of bourbon. And their complicated lives and vast estate are run by a discrete staff who inevitably become embroiled in their affairs. This is especially true now, when the apparent suicide of the family patriarch is starting to look [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 122016
 
Release Day Review & Giveaway: Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton

Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton The Hudson Valley Series #2 Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: July 12th, 2016 Publisher: Gallery Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Alice Clayton brings her trademark blend of funny and sexy to this second contemporary romance in the brand-new Hudson Valley series! Manhattan’s It Girl, Natalie Grayson, has it all: she’s a hot exec at a leading advertising firm, known industry-wide for her challenging and edgy campaigns. She’s got a large circle of friends, a family that loves her dearly, and her dance card is always full [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 112016
 
AH's Mini Reviews

It’s summertime up here in the Great White North and when you live in a wintry climate, you learn to embrace summer and enjoy every precious moment of warmth and sunshine. I never complain when it’s hot and humid – I head out to my outdoor deck, lemonade (or glass of wine) in hand, and my Kobo in the other. Here’s some of my picks for a light summer read: Pick #1 Cream of the Crop by Alice Clayton Series: Hudson Valley #2 (can be read as a standalone book) Genre: Contemporary Romance, humor Release date: July 12, 2016 All [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 102016
 
Blog Tour - New Release Review & Excerpt: Into the Blue by Chanel Cleeton

From the moment I read the final Troubleshooters (Suzanne Brockmann) I’ve been searching for a new military style contemporary romance that would fill the void.  I’m not going to lie, my dislike of CR has made me very picky. It’s no surprise that I was very curious about the Flying Aces series.  It’s military, but detours from the usual Navy SEAL story by giving us men in the Air Force, YUM! So, a thank you to Chanel Cleeton for asking us to join the review tour and giving us the opportunity to read Into the Blue! ♥♥♥ Into the Blue by Chanel Cleeton Wild Aces #2 [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 082016
 
Interview, Review, + Giveaway: What Remains by Garrett Leigh

Garrett Leigh slid onto our radar last March when Misfits was released, and we’ve been waiting with bated breath for every release since! With this latest release, she does not disappoint. What Remains put us into an emotional tailspin that we won’t soon be recovering from. We got a chance to interview Garrett and find out if her characters haunt her just as much as they do us! BBR: Hi, Garrett. Welcome to Badass Book Reviews! We can’t help but notice that you seem to favor writing protagonists who are haunted. What Remains was particularly poignant because the object of the memories plaguing [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 072016
 
Audiobook Review: All Chained Up by Sophie Jordan

All Chained Up by Sophie Jordan Book #1 in Devil’s Rock Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: March 29th, 2016 Synopsis from Goodreads: Some men come with a built-in warning label. Knox Callaghan is one of them. Danger radiates from every lean, muscled inch of him, and his deep blue eyes seem to see right through to Briar Davis’s most secret fantasies. But there’s one major problem: Briar is a nurse volunteering at the local prison, and Knox is an inmate who should be off-limits in every way. Knox feels it too—a shocking animal magnetism that drives him to risk his own life [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 062016
 
"Waiting on" Wednesday: Smoke & Mirrors by Charlie Cochet

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine, and it features an upcoming release you’re looking forward to. What book am I anticipating the most? ~ synopsis from Goodreads ~ Life for Dexter J. Daley has never been easy, but he’s always found a way to pick himself back up with a smile on his face. Taken from his home, and the arms of his boyfriend and THIRDS partner, Sloane Brodie, Dex finds himself in a situation as mysterious and lethal as the Therian interrogating him. Dex learns what he’s secretly believed all along: his parents’ [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 052016
 
Guest Post + Giveaway: Historical Romance Author Anne Gracie

Today marks the release of the final book in Anne Gracie’s Chance Sisters series, and Badass Book Reviews is happy to celebrate with her! As a reader, the feeling is bittersweet when a beloved series comes to a close. The same is true for the author, who has spent hours fine-tuning their plots and characters to bring things to a satisfying close for the audience. Today Anne Gracie shares with us the ups and downs of bringing a series to a close and the journey to starting a new one. Be sure to read to the end of the post and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 042016
 
Early Review: Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally

Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally Genre: YA Contemporary/Sports Romance Publication Date: July 5th, 2016 Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire   Synopsis from Goodreads: Captain of the soccer team, president of the Debate Club, contender for valedictorian: Taylor’s always pushed herself to be perfect. After all, that’s what is expected of a senator’s daughter. But one impulsive decision—one lie to cover for her boyfriend—and Taylor’s kicked out of private school. Everything she’s worked so hard for is gone, and now she’s starting over at Hundred Oaks High. Soccer has always been Taylor’s escape from the pressures of school and family, but it’s hard [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jul 012016
 
Should You Read This Series? Starbound by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

There are so many published series out there and I know you wonder…which ones are worth the read? In this feature, we tell you which series you should start and which ones you shouldn’t. As a ground rule, series in this feature must have at least 3 books published and the reviewer must have read at least 60% of the series. If you want us to feature a series in the future, please ask in the comments. SERIES: Starbound by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner GENRE: Young Adult Science Fiction BOOKS PUBLISHED: 3 SERIES STATUS: Finished D.G. HAS READ: 3/3 [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jun 302016
 
Early Review: Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn

  Heroine Complex by Sarah Kuhn Heroine Complex #1 Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: July 5th, 2016 Publisher: Berkley Publishing Group   Synopsis from Goodreads: Being a superheroine is hard. Working for one is even harder. Evie Tanaka is the put-upon personal assistant to Aveda Jupiter, her childhood best friend and San Francisco’s most beloved superheroine. She’s great at her job—blending into the background, handling her boss’s epic diva tantrums, and getting demon blood out of leather pants. Unfortunately, she’s not nearly as together when it comes to running her own life, standing up for herself, or raising her tempestuous teenage sister, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jun 292016
 
New Release Review: The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen

The Way to Game the Walk of Shame by Jenn P. Nguyen Genre: Young Adult Publication Date: June 7th, 2016 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group Synopsis from Goodreads: Taylor Simmons is screwed. Things were hard enough when her single-minded dedication to her studies earned her the reputation of being an Ice Queen, but after getting drunk at a party and waking up next to bad boy surfer Evan McKinley, the entire school seems intent on tearing Taylor down with mockery and gossip. Desperate to salvage her reputation, Taylor persuades Evan to pretend they’re in a serious romantic [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Jun 282016
 
Release Day Review and Giveaway: The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz

Release Date Review: The Bourbon Thief by Tiffany Reisz Release Date: June 28, 2016 Genre: Hmmm….Contemporary, Romance, Mystery Book provided by: NetGalley and Harlequin MIRA Synopsis from Goodreads: When Cooper McQueen wakes up from a night with a beautiful stranger, it’s to discover he’s been robbed. The only item stolen—a million-dollar bottle of bourbon. The thief, a mysterious woman named Paris, claims the bottle is rightfully hers. After all, the label itself says it’s property of the Maddox family who owned and operated Red Thread Bourbon distillery since the last days of the Civil War until the company went out [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share