Jan 232015
 

should you read this seriesThere are so many published series out there and I know you wonder…which ones are worth the read? In this feature, we tell you which series you should start and which ones you shouldn’t. As a ground rule, series in this feature must have at least 3 books published and the reviewer must have read more than half the series. If you want us to feature a series in the future, please ask in the comments.

Red divider
SERIES: Feral Warriors by Pamela Palmer

GENRE: Paranormal Romance
BOOKS PUBLISHED TO DATE: 8 + 1 novella

desire untamedobsession untamedpassion untamedrapture untamedhunger untamedecstasy untameda love untamedwulfe untamed

SERIES STATUS: Finished but there will be a spinoff
D.G. HAS READ: 7/8
SHOULD YOU READ THIS SERIES? No

Red divider

What Is This Series About? From the author’s website “Eons ago, before the rise of human civilization, two immortal races battled the Daemons for control of the earth. The Mage, or magic ones, and the Therians, the mighty shape-shifters. Though traditional enemies, the Mage and Therians banded together to overcome the High Daemon, Satanan, ending his reign of terror and destroying his armies. The cost of victory was high. To win that ultimate battle, both races were forced to mortgage nearly all their power. Only one Therian among each of the ancient lines of shape-shifters was left with the power of his animal. Nine remain. They are the Feral Warriors.”

When the series starts, Satanan is trying to rise again but now has recruited the Mage to help him. The Feral Warriors are the only ones that stand in his way.

Why Shouldn’t You Read It? Lots of recycled plots. The following things come up in almost every book:
- The Villains kicks the Feral’s asses…until the last minute: These Feral warriors are so overmatched by the villains! The villains capture them easily and seem to have all the cards. It’s a miracle the Ferals win at the end, because their plans always suck and go terribly awry.
Kidnappings galore! I’ve lost counts of the kidnappings in this series. Almost every heroine has been kidnapped at some point by either the hero or the villains. And before you think only the women get kidnapped…think again! In book 3, the heroine grabs the hero and keeps him against his will. This was the worst kidnapping of them all because the guy was in chains and raped to boot (when a man says ‘no’, it’s NO, even if he has an erection.)
Heroines get horribly hurt: I’ve never read a series where the heroines get so badly hurt. In book 1, the heroine got bitten, stabbed, attacked by demons, terrorized by unseen forces, subjected to painful magic rituals and her throat sliced (I think I forgotten something.) In book 3, the heroine was used as a punching bag, she was molested by the villains, and had magic curses that sprang every night.
The Ferals want to kill the heroine (literally): At some point the heroine du jour does something that makes the rest of the Ferals want to kill her. Too bad this didn’t happen in the case of Mosquito Brain (this is my nickname for heroine #7) because she definitely needed some killing.
Unsexy public sex: If you have a sex scene where people watch, then at least make it sexy!
Annoying nicknames for heroines: One hero calls the heroine ‘Beauty’, even in dangerous situations (it made me think of her as a mare or a loyal dog) and another called his ‘Smiley’ (c’mon!)
Horrible covers: I’ve never seen a series with so many bad covers. In Passion Untamed, it’s clear he’s wearing a wig! And look at that pink cover! What is he doing…walking about whistling?
And let’s not forget the blue cover, with a cougar as the animal when the hero is a tiger shifter (I mean, really! I feel bad for the poor author.)

But D.G….if you don’t recommend this series, why are you still reading it? Hmmm…good question!
Two refreshing things about this series: bad things happen to Ferals who already got their HEA (just because you found your woman doesn’t mean that you’ll never get a scratch, like it usually happens in most series) and past heroines help when there’s trouble.

The audiobooks: The narration is great (see more about that below) and I like steamy PNR in audio. This series definitely fits the bill!

The cost: I get the audios free from the library.
- I take it easy: I don’t take this series very seriously so my emotions aren’t engaged – I usually laugh at the stupid shenanigans instead of being enraged.

The Audiobooks: Rob Shapiro, the narrator, has great male voices, just like how I like them. Raw and masculine, he really captures the feral nature of these men. There are many men in this series and the voices are different. Even better than that, I love how all the Ferals’ voices had stayed consistent from the beginning. Sometimes his narration sounds a bit dreamy because he doesn’t use a neutral narrator voice for the 3rd person POV but uses the heroine’s voice when we see things from her POV and the hero’s voice when we see things from his.

Series Tips: This series must be read in order.

Series Reading Order (links to my Goodreads reviews)
1. Desire Untamed
2. Obsession Untamed
3. Passion Untamed
3.5 Hearts Untamed
4. Rapture Untamed (my favorite of the bunch)
5. Hunger Untamed
6. Ecstasy Untamed
7. A Love Untamed (most hated heroine)
8. Wulfe Untamed

Prices:  Kindle ebooks in the series range between $4.74 to $7.59. Books 1-3 are Whispersync enabled so even if you don’t have an Audible membership, you could get them for $2.99-$3.49.

Series Rating: 2.5 Skulls

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 23, 2015 at 6:51 am
Jan 222015
 
Reviews: Viscount of Vice & Earls Just Want to Have Fun by Shana Galen

HISTORICAL ROMANCE REVIEWS Viscount of Vice by Shana Galen Book #0.5 in Covent Garden Cubs Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: January 6th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca Synopsis from Goodreads: Whispers and secrets are no match for love… Henry Flynn, the new Lord Chesham, still blames himself for the disappearance of his younger brother when they were children. That incident destroyed his family, and now he’s on a path of self-destruction that no one can interrupt… Lady Emma Talbot can’t stand watching the man she secretly loves destroy himself little by little. She’s determined to show him that [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 22, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 212015
 
Review: Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren

Sweet Filthy Boy by Christina Lauren Book #1 in Wild Seasons Genre: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: May 13, 2014 Publisher: Gallery Books   Synopsis from Goodreads: One-night stands are supposed to be with someone convenient, or wickedly persuasive, or regrettable. They aren’t supposed to be with someone like him. But after a crazy Vegas weekend celebrating her college graduation—and terrified of the future path she knows is a cop-out—Mia Holland makes the wildest decision of her life: follow Ansel Guillaume—her sweet, filthy fling—to France for the summer and just…play. When feelings begin to develop behind the provocative roles they take on, and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 21, 2015 at 8:10 am
Jan 192015
 
New Release Review: Transmuted by Karina Cooper

Transmuted by Karina Cooper Book #6 in The St. Croix Chronicles Genres: Steampunk Publication Date: January 26th 2015 ARC Provided by Carina Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: In this final installment of Cherry St. Croix’s adventures, only one thing could compel the disgraced countess to return to Society—the threat of immortality. All is not peaceful in the wake of the Midnight Menagerie’s ruin. Although the Karakash Veil has been forced to flee its stronghold, the mysterious head of the criminal organization is not content to fade away. Above the foggy drift, a priceless diamond vanishes. In the dangerous Underground, a murderous rampage demands [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 19, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 182015
 
New Release Review: The Deep by Nick Cutter

New Release Review: The Deep by Nick Cutter Release date: January 13, 2015 Genre: Horror, Science Fiction Book provided by NetGalley and Gallery Books Synopsis from Goodreads: From the acclaimed author of The Troop—which Stephen King raved “scared the hell out of me and I couldn’t put it down.…old-school horror at its best”—comes this utterly terrifying novel where The Abyss meets The Shining. A strange plague called the ’Gets is decimating humanity on a global scale. It causes people to forget—small things at first, like where they left their keys…then the not-so-small things like how to drive, or the letters [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 18, 2015 at 12:17 pm
Jan 162015
 
New Release Review: White Knight by Kelly Meade

White Knight by Kelly Meade Book #3 in Cornerstone Run Genres: Paranormal Romance Publication Date: January 20th 2015 ARC Provided by InterMix and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Kelly Meade, author of Grey Bishop and Black Rook, continues her Cornerstone Run saga… Checkmate… Despite a month of peace from hybrid attacks, the constant threat of violence has the loup garou on edge. Knight McQueen’s home feels like a military compound and his people have become battle-weary soldiers. And Knight’s tenuous grip on his own self-control has been further damaged by the disappearance of the only woman whose touch brings him peace. Held prisoner [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 16, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 152015
 
To Serial or Not to Serial: Don't Deny Me by Megan Hart

The Serialized Book – Is it Worth It? In June of last year, we brought you a new Badass feature: ‘To Serial or Not to Serial…’ We continue this feature today with Megan Hart’s Don’t Deny Me. For those of you who aren’t familiar with serials, it’s simply a book that’s broken up into multiple parts and released one at a time. This is typically done in quick succession so the reader isn’t left hanging for too long. But don’t despair if you prefer to read an entire book in one sitting; all of the serials I’ve read were later released [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 15, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 142015
 
New Release Review: Unforgettable by Shannon Richard

Unforgettable by Shannon Richard Book #4 in Country Roads Genres: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: January 13th 2015 ARC Provided by Forever Yours and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: One long, hot summer would never be enough… Attorney Hannah Sterling lives a life she’s worked hard for. So when she unexpectedly inherits an inn, Hannah decides to take that long overdue holiday and settle her eccentric grandmother’s estate. She knew there would be challenges, but what’s hardest about returning to Mirabelle, Florida, is facing the man who gave her the most passionate summer of her life-and then broke her heart. Nathanial Shepard never [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 14, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 132015
 
Early Reviews: When Good Earls Go Bad by Megan Frampton and Revealing Ruby by Lavinia Kent

HISTORICAL ROMANCE REVIEWS When Good Earls Go Bad: A Victorian Valentine’s Day Novella by Megan Frampton Book #1.5 in Dukes Behaving Badly Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: February 3rd, 2015 ARC provided by Edelweiss and Avon Synopsis from Goodreads: What’s a lovely young woman doing asleep in his bed? Matthew, Earl of Selkirk, is shocked to discover it’s his new housekeeper! She’s a far cry from the gray-haired woman he expected. Matthew is no fan of surprises, and Annabelle Tyne is pure temptation. Perhaps he shouldn’t have had her hired sight unseen. Annabelle, co-owner of the Quality Employment Agency, is no [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 13, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 122015
 
Review: The Boy with the Painful Tattoo by Josh Lanyon

The Boy with the Painful Tattoo by Josh Lanyon  Book #3 in Holmes & Moriarity Series Genre: M/M Contemporary Mystery Publication Date: October 03, 2014 Publisher: JustJoshin Publishing   Synopsis from Goodreads: It’s moving day at Chez Holmes. Somehow, against Kit’s better instincts, he and J.X. are setting up house together. But while J.X. is off at a writing conference, Kit unpacks a crate that should contain either old books or new china. It doesn’t Within the mounds of Styrofoam popcorn is a dead body. A very dead body. There goes the neighborhood. Wendy’s Review: 5 Skulls – A+ (Now, THAT cover is much better. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 12, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 092015
 
Early Review: Veronica Mars: Mr. Kiss and Tell by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham

Veronica Mars: Mr. Kiss and Tell by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham Book #2 in Veronica Mars series Genre: Mystery Publication Date: January 20, 2015 Publisher: Vintage   Synopsis from Goodreads: In the second book in the New York Times bestselling mystery series, Veronica Mars is back with a case that will expose the hidden workings of one of Neptune’s most murderous locations. The Neptune Grand has always been the seaside town’s ritziest hotel, despite the shady dealings and high-profile scandals that seem to follow its elite guests. When a woman claims that she was brutally assaulted in one of its rooms and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 9, 2015 at 11:47 am
Jan 082015
 
Early Review: Polaris by Mindee Arnett

Polaris by Mindee Arnett Book #2 in Avalon Genres: Young Adult Science Fiction Publication Date: January 20th 2015 ARC Provided by Balzer + Bray and Edelweiss Synopsis from Goodreads: Jeth Seagrave and his crew of mercenaries are pulled into one last high-stakes mission in this breathtaking sequel to Mindee Arnett’s fascinating and fast-paced sci-fi thriller Avalon. Jeth Seagrave and his crew are on the run. The ITA, still holding Jeth’s mother in a remote research lab, is now intent on acquiring the metatech secrets Jeth’s sister Cora carries inside her DNA, and Jeth is desperate to find the resources he needs [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 8, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 072015
 
A Different Kind of Reading Challenge: Quality over Quantity

As a new year starts, reading challenges pop up like resolutions. Blogs, Goodreads groups and even Goodreads itself start touting reading challenges for the year: read X books, read X series, read your TBR, etc. I confess I’ve been participating in those challenges ever since I joined GR in 2007, but this year, I’m taking a different approach to challenges: quality instead of quantity. This was the result of the horrible reading slump of 2014, where I barely read a couple of books in 3 months. I realized that over the last few years reading had become a chore, something [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 7, 2015 at 6:47 am
Jan 062015
 
Review: Dog with a Bone by Hailey Edwards

Dog with a Bone by Hailey Edwards Book #1 in Black Dog Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: October 31st, 2014 Synopsis from Goodreads: Half-bloods with Thierry’s skill set are given two options. They can join the conclave’s marshal program, or they can pack their bags. Turn down the job offer, and you’ve just shredded your residency pass for the mortal realm and booked yourself a one-way ticket to Faerie. Texas is the only home Thierry has ever known, and she’s not going anywhere. Even if it means following in her notorious father’s footsteps as a peacekeeper. But pinning on the badge opens [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 6, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 052015
 
Read with Caution - Early Group Review: The Witches of Echo Park by Amber Benson

The Witches of Echo Park by Amber Benson Book #1 in The Witches of Echo Park Genre: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: January 6, 2015 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Penguin Synopsis from Goodreads: Unbeknownst to most of humankind, a powerful network of witches thrives within the shadows of society, using their magic to keep the world in balance. But they are being eliminated—and we will all pay if their power falls… When Elyse MacAllister’s great-aunt Eleanora, the woman who raised her, becomes deathly ill, Lyse puts her comfortable life in Georgia on hold to rush back to Los Angeles. And once she [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 5, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 022015
 
Early Review: The Earl I Adore by Erin Knightley

The Earl I Adore by Erin Knightley Book #2 in Prelude to a Kiss Genre: Historical Romance Publication Date: January 6th, 2015 ARC provided by Netgalley and Signet Eclipse Synopsis from Goodreads: Sophie Wembley is about to discover two hard truths: When planning a rushed betrothal, one must not be picky; and when the perfect earl happens by, one must not be shy… After receiving word that her sister has eloped, even ever-optimistic Sophie has trouble staying positive. She needs to secure her future before the scandal destroys her prospects, although she doesn’t relish the idea of a hasty marriage. But [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 2, 2015 at 7:00 am
Jan 012015
 
Spotlight on January's New Releases

Welcome to 2015 and the newest edition of our monthly feature that looks at the books releasing this month and offers up our top picks. We have chosen 30 of the most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability.  Now, on to the books! A List of Things That Didn’t Kill Me by Jason Schmidt – Expected publication: January 6th 2015 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on January 1, 2015 at 2:48 pm
Dec 312014
 
Badass Best of 2014: Our Most Anticipated 2015 Reads

2014 was filled with wonderful reads, but we here at Badass Book Reviews are already looking forward to what 2015 has in store. Check out some of our Most Anticipated reads below! New Stand Alone Novels:              w w New Installments in Ongoing Series:                                 w w New Series Debuts:              Other Badass Best of 2014 Lists: Urban Fantasy Speculative Fiction General Fiction Romance (Part One) Romance (Part Two) YA & NA Romance YA & NA Speculative Fiction YA & NA Contemporary Fiction Our Literary Slambook Our Most Anticipated Reads of 2015

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on December 31, 2014 at 7:00 am
Dec 302014
 
Badass Best of 2014: Our Literary Slambook

The ladies of Badass Book Reviews all got together to gossip about our favorite characters and authors for 2014. Take a peek inside our Badass Literary Slambook!   Other Badass Best of 2014 Lists: Urban Fantasy Speculative Fiction General Fiction Romance (Part One) Romance (Part Two) YA & NA Romance YA & NA Speculative Fiction YA & NA Contemporary Fiction Our Best Discoveries Our Most Anticipated Reads of 2015

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on December 30, 2014 at 7:00 am
Dec 292014
 
Badass Best of 2014: Our Best Discoveries

Our Best Discoveries for 2014 are books that we read this year that weren’t published in 2014.  A lot of these books were gateways to authors’ newer release, but some were “just because” reads.  No matter the reason for reading, we fell in love with these books! Click on each book cover to be taken to either our review or Goodreads to learn more about the stories. ROMANCE:     ROMANTIC SUSPENSE:   FANTASY:       MYSTERY: HISTORICAL:     POST-APOCALYPTIC: PARANORMAL:    LITERARY FICTION: CONTEMPORARY:          NON-FICTION: SCIENCE FICTION:   Other Badass Best of 2014 Lists: Urban Fantasy Speculative Fiction General Fiction Romance [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on December 29, 2014 at 7:00 am