Sep 192014
 

should you read this series

If you are a fan of Dexter, Criminal Minds, CSI and other forensic shows, this series is something to take a look at. The Jasper Dent series has three books: I Hunt Killers, Game, and Blood of My Blood.

Some warnings:

1. This is a pretty gruesome reading. If you are the least bit squeamish, this is not the series for you. If you can handle an episode of CSI, then you’ll probably enjoy this series.
2. Make sure that you have all the books on hand and readily available because Game ends on quite the cliffhanger.

i hunt killersBook One – I Hunt Killers

In I Hunt Killers, we are introduced to Jasper Dent. Jasper (Jazz) is not your ordinary 17 year old. Jasper has a fascination with murder scenes. You see, Jasper’s father was the notorious Billy Dent, the most prolific serial killer ever. As a young child, Jasper “played” with his father’s trophies and Jazz was being “groomed” to join the “family business.” Consequently, Jazz has a lot of insight into the mind of a serial killer – he lived with one for 13 years.

Jazz is an interesting character – he’s always afraid that something will snap and make him become a killer like his father. He’s haunted by dreams that include a knife in the kitchen sink and he’s afraid to have sex with his girlfriend Connie, just in case sex sets off the killer he believes to be within him. Jazz lives with his crazy and barely lucid grandmother in a small town. She is supposed to be his legal guardian, but Jazz takes care of her.

“The dice had already been tossed, the cards shuffled and drawn. He was what he was, whether he knew it or not. Maybe he was just a guy with a crazy dad, like other kids with crazy dads or maybe he was something else.”

I Hunt Killers focuses on a serial killer in Jasper’s town, who kills a little too much like Jasper’s father. The killer calls himself The Impressionist. Jazz is sure that he can help the local authorities to solve the case.

This book was like nothing I’ve read before in the Young Adult genre. Seriously, Jazz could have been Dexter’s son all grown up. The book is intense and the author kept me guessing the identity of the killer throughout (and I was wrong!). What a way to end a book – I’m glad that I had a copy of Game readily available.

gold divider

gameBook Two: Game

Game is a little different from I Hunt Killers as it reads more like a crime procedural novel. In Game, a serial killer is stalking residents of New York City and it appears that he is playing some kind of demented board game. Even though Jazz is underage and not really qualified, Jazz is asked to consult on the case. Jazz and his girlfriend Connie make the trip to New York.

This book is intense. It’s dark, creepy, and will keep you up at night. Jazz continues to struggle to stay real, always fearing that he will fall into the abyss and become like his father. He is lucky to have people around him who believe in him – G. William, Connie, and Howie.  This is where we see the pure, demented genius of Billy Dent as he orchestrates a killing spree that follows all the rules of a game. Freaky, scary stuff. 

Oh, this one ends with a huge cliffhanger. Make sure that you have the next book readily available.

gold divider

blood of my bloodBook Three: Blood of My Blood

This book kept me reading late into the night, which probably wasn’t the best planning because, well, Billy Dent is one freaky scary evil serial killer. Every sound and creak in the house made me jumpy, but I just had to finish reading this book. I won’t go into all the details, it is really best to read this book with a clear mind. So here’s a spoiler free impression of this book:

Jasper (Jazz) Dent is the son of the most prolific serial killer Billy Dent. Jazz has a special understanding of what goes on in the mind of serial killers, after all, he was raised and groomed by Billy to become a killer. But Jazz does not want to become a killer and he struggles with his humanity – trying to keep a handle on the voice in his head. Luckily, Jazz has some great people around him – his girlfriend Connie – who believes in him, no matter what, and his goofy and hemophiliac best bud Howie. Sheriff G. William Tanner has also become a father figure to Jazz. Jazz does have a special talent – he thinks like a serial killer. He understands how they think. And his special talent is needed in New York City where a serial killer has been up to no good. 

Think Dexter’s son meets Criminal Minds and you have an idea of what to expect in this book. It’s not for the squeamish and perhaps younger young adult readers may be disturbed by the content. If you can stand the blood and gore, this is one addictive series. 

gold divider

Should You Read This Series?

Go for it! While the content is dark and disturbing, I found that Jazz’s internal struggles with his father’s legacy both fascinating and heartbreaking. It really makes you think about nature vs nurture and if a person can overcome a horrible childhood and become a well adjusted adult.

Highly recommended.

Series Rating:  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠  ☠ 

Thank you to NetGalley and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers for review copies of these books. 

 

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 19, 2014 at 7:34 am
Sep 182014
 
Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 6

Outlander: Episode 6 First off, Jesus H Roosevelt Christ!  That episode was fan-fricking-tastic in all it’s horrific brutality!  I don’t even know exactly where to start, it was so great. I think first off we should talk about the terrifying magnificence of Tobias Menzies.  It’s being said that he gave the performance of his career in episode six, and I could not agree more.  I couldn’t look away!  He was so scary; so sociopathic.  The way he delivered his lines was chilling.  Kudos to Sam Heughan and Caitriona Balfe because their excellent acting made it easier to believe the pure [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 18, 2014 at 8:41 am
Sep 172014
 
Series Farewell: The Hollows by Kim Harrison

  If you look around Badass Book Reviews, you will see that we all have a love of Urban Fantasy and strong female characters.  AH and I especially love long-running UF series and one of our favorites just recently came to an end.  Kim Harrison’s The Hollows series was our introduction to urban fantasy and it spawned a decade-long obsession…  not to mention an incredibly bloated to-read list.  There’s so much to love about this series, from the detailed world-building to the flawed yet relatable characters and the secrets and politics. If you aren’t familiar with the series, it takes place in an alternate version of [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 17, 2014 at 11:17 am
Sep 162014
 
New Release Review: Gun Shy by Eleri Stone

Gun Shy by Eleri Stone Book #2 in Reaper Genres: Western Paranormal Romance Publication Date: September 1st 2014 ARC Provided by Carina Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Before the cure, Lieutenant Lyle Dalton’s job was simple: kill the Reapers. Now, under orders to inject all captured flesh eaters with the serum that restores their humanity, his Rangers at Fort Dougan face entirely new dangers. Someone wanted the Reaper cure badly enough to spill blood for it, and Lyle needs to steal it back if he hopes to hold the border. Jane Fisher escaped Scraper crime boss Gideon Moore with only the clothes on [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 16, 2014 at 9:59 am
Sep 122014
 
New Release Review: Maplecroft by Cherie Priest

Maplecroft by Cherie Priest Book #1 in The Borden Dispatches Genres: Historical Horror Fantasy Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Roc Trade and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Lizzie Borden took an axe and gave her mother forty whacks; and when she saw what she had done, she gave her father forty-one…. The people of Fall River, Massachusetts, fear me. Perhaps rightfully so. I remain a suspect in the brutal deaths of my father and his second wife despite the verdict of innocence at my trial. With our inheritance, my sister, Emma, and I have taken up residence in Maplecroft, [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 12, 2014 at 12:20 pm
Sep 112014
 
Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 5

Outlander: Episode 5 Episode 5 was a slower episode.  It was a lot of travel and taking the rents, and packing the bag full of funds for Bonnie Prince Charles.  Claire struggled with the attitudes of the men.  But there were a few new or special things that I’d like to point out in this episode. First!  Ned Gowan joins the cast.  Good ole Ned.  I pictured him a little different in my head, but he did a great job and portrayed the character pretty much exactly like I imagined.  I found it interesting that the conversation about why Dougal [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 11, 2014 at 8:44 am
Sep 102014
 
Review: The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima

The Warrior Heir by Cinda Williams Chima Genre: YA Fantasy Publication Date: June 10, 2008 Publisher: Disney-Hyperion     Synopsis from Goodreads: Sixteen-year-old Seph McCauley has spent the past three years getting kicked out of one exclusive private school after another. And it’s not his attitude that’s the problem: it’s the trail of magical accidents – lately, disasters – that follow in his wake. Seph is a wizard, orphaned and untrained, and his powers are escalating out of control. After causing a tragic fire at an after-hours party, Seph is sent to the Havens, a secluded boys’ school on the coast of Maine. [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 10, 2014 at 8:33 am
Sep 092014
 
Release Day Review: Forest of Whispers by Jennifer Murgia

Forest of Whispers by Jennifer Murgia Genres: Young Adult Fantasy Publication Date: September 9th 2014 ARC Provided by Spencer Hill Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Raised by an old fortune-teller within the dark veil of the Bavarian Black Forest, Rune has learned two valuable lessons: only take from the forest that which you can use, and never, never look anyone in the eye in the village. For something terrible happened in the forest long ago… and now, the whispers of a long-dead mother with a vengeful secret have come haunting. Forced to flee all she has ever known, Rune soon [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 9, 2014 at 4:10 pm
Sep 082014
 
New Release Review: The Bullet-Catcher's Daughter by Rod Duncan

New Release Review: The Bullet-Catcher’s Daughter by Rod Duncan Book 1 of The Fall of the Gas-Lit Empire Release date: August 26, 2014 Genre: Steampunk, Alternate History Book provided by NetGalley and Angry Robot Synopsis from Goodreads: Elizabeth Barnabus lives a double life—as herself and as her brother, the private detective. She is trying to solve the mystery of a disappearing aristocrat and a hoard of arcane machines. In her way stand the rogues, freaks and self-proclaimed alchemists of a travelling circus. But when she comes up against an agent of the all-powerful Patent Office, her life and the course [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 8, 2014 at 7:00 am
Sep 052014
 
New Release Review: Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins

Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins Genre: YA Contemporary Romance Publication Date: August 14, 2014 Publisher: Dutton (Hardcover Purchased through Amazon.com)     Synopsis from Goodreads: Hopeless romantic Isla has had a crush on brooding artist Josh since their first year at the School of America in Paris. And, after a chance encounter in Manhattan over the summer break, romance might be closer than Isla imagined. But as they begin their senior year back in France, Isla and Josh are forced to face uncertainty about their futures, and the very real possibility of being apart. Set against the stunning backdrops of [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 5, 2014 at 8:00 am
Sep 042014
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 4

Outlander: Episode 4 While Episode 4 covered the course of the Gathering and the subsequent Scotch games and boar hunt, I think of this episode more as the Episode of Dougal.  Thus far we’ve gotten small glimpses into Graham McTavish’s version of Dougal MacKenzie.  He, at least I think, seems colder than he did in the books.  He never trusted Claire, but he was also mostly kind to her.  What he hasn’t lost, though, is that protective sense of Clan.  His idea’s may be different than his brothers, but their end goals are the same.  In this episode we see [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 4, 2014 at 8:19 am
Sep 032014
 
New Release Group Review: The Getaway God by Richard Kadrey

The Getaway God by Richard Kadrey Book #6 in Sandman Slim Genres: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: August 26th 2014 ARC Provided by Edelweiss and Harper Voyager Synopsis from Goodreads: Sandman Slim must save himself-and the entire world-from the wrath of some enraged and vengeful ancient gods in this sixth high-octane adventure in the New York Times bestselling series Being a half-human, half-angel nephilim with a bad rep and a worse attitude-not to mention temporarily playing Lucifer-James Stark aka Sandman Slim has made a few enemies. None, though, are as fearsome as the vindictive Angra Om Ya-the old gods. But their imminent invasion is [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 3, 2014 at 12:04 pm
Sep 022014
 
Spotlight on September's New Releases

Welcome to our monthly feature where we take a look at the new books releasing this month and offer up our top picks and opinions. We have chosen 42 of our most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability. Now, on to the books! The Paper Magician by Charlie N. Holmberg (#1 in The Paper Magician Trilogy) – Published September 1st 2014 by 47North Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas (#3 in [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on September 2, 2014 at 12:00 pm
Aug 282014
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 3

Outlander: Episode 3 30 second Episode recap: Claire has nightmares that she’s accused of witchcraft due to her time travel experience, which just cements the fact that she doesn’t believe she can tell anyone the truth.  She’s very likely right.  Claire decides to settle into life at Leoch in the hopes of proving to Colum how she is not a spy.  It appears to be working out because she hears through the grapevine that she’s done so well that he wants to keep her forever, especially after she saves a boy from ‘demon possession’, which was really just poison. Claire and Jamie [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 272014
 
New Release Review: Engraved by Karina Cooper

Engraved by Karina Cooper Book #5 in The St. Croix Chronicles Genres: Steampunk Publication Date: August 11th 2014 ARC Provided by Carina Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Cherry St. Croix returns to the fog-ridden streets of Victorian London, where the balance of power threatens all that she loves. I will not wither without laudanum. Sober and determined, I have chosen another way—alchemy, and the pursuit of wellness it embodies. My name is Cherry St. Croix, and though freedom is finally at my fingertips, I return to the blackened streets intent on righting the wrongs I’d left behind. All is not well in London low. Caught [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 27, 2014 at 10:55 am
Aug 262014
 
Help Wanted

Real life is keeping us busy and we are presently looking for 1 or 2 more bloggers to join the Badass Book Review Team. What’s the commitment? We’re pretty easy going – Ideally, we would like 1 review or article a week. Badass Book Reviews blog reviews all sorts of books, but mostly Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult, Romantic Suspense, Horror and the like. What’s in it for you? Some free ebooks here and there and an occasional ARC or two. Oh and you get to hang out with us via email. What are we looking for? [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 26, 2014 at 8:43 am
Aug 232014
 
New Release Review: Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead

Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead Genre: YA Urban Fantasy Publication Date: July 29, 2014 Publisher: Razerbill (Hardcover Purchased through Amazon.com) Synopsis from Goodreads: Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires.  They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.  In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists. Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 222014
 
Early Review: Wickedly Dangerous by Deborah Blake

Wickedly Dangerous by Deborah Blake Book #1 in Baba Yaga Genres: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Berkley and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Known as the wicked witch of Russian fairy tales, Baba Yaga is not one woman, but rather a title carried by a chosen few. They keep the balance of nature and guard the borders of our world, but don’t make the mistake of crossing one of them… Older than she looks and powerful beyond measure, Barbara Yager no longer has much in common with the mortal life she left behind long ago. Posing as an [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 22, 2014 at 10:45 am
Aug 212014
 
Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge: Paranormal - The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost

The Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge was Paranormal for August so we decided on the new series debut from fan-favorite Jeaniene Frost! This one worked a little better for AH than it did for me, but we both plan to continue on in the series. The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost Book #1 in Broken Destiny Genres: New Adult Paranormal Publication Date: August 26th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin HQN Synopsis from Goodreads: In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate. Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 21, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 202014
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 2

Outlander on Starz: Episode 2 (Aka, Episode ‘Jamie Shows All His Sexy’)   Alright, alright, let’s get serious… Episode 2, I thought, was even better than the first.  I hear others talking about ‘voice over’ but I barely noticed it in this second installment.  It wasn’t all Jamie, either.  I think a lot of it was just the pacing. In episode 1, I felt that the first half, though it was important and needed, felt like it was dragging.  As a long time fan of the book series let me say that this is actually reminiscent of the books.  When [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share