Aug 282014
 

page to screen

Outlander: Episode 3

The Way Out

30 second Episode recap: Claire has nightmares that she’s accused of witchcraft due to her time travel experience, which just cements the fact that she doesn’t believe she can tell anyone the truth.  She’s very likely right.  Claire decides to settle into life at Leoch in the hopes of proving to Colum how she is not a spy.  It appears to be working out because she hears through the grapevine that she’s done so well that he wants to keep her forever, especially after she saves a boy from ‘demon possession’, which was really just poison.

Claire and Jamie grow closer, which is awesome to watch.  The eye contact is so hot it makes my flat screen sizzle and Sam Heughan just gets sexier and sexier every week as the love of my life, Jamie Fraser.  Anyway, they tease each other and grow closer as they rescue a different little boy from further public humiliation and a lot of physical pain, discuss demon possession, and bat their lashes at each other while trying to maintain a decent emotional distance.

Claire also spends more time with Geillis Duncan, who is far creepier in the show than she was in the book, and you watch Laoghaire (Leery as is pronounced on the show) grow more and more unhappy with Claire’s presence in the castle.

The episode ends with the preparations for the big MacKenzie clan gathering and Claire decides she must escape no matter what.

dun dun dun

We all know that this episode so far deviated the most from what was written in the books.  I thought at first that that was what I would discuss in this week’s blog, because I have many a thought and opinion on that subject.  Instead, I think I’d rather use this opportunity to talk about what I believe is the biggest complaint about the show.

I am a member of many Outlander groups online.  I am part of groups on Facebook and Goodreads.  I love a good debate.  I love talking to people who have opposing views.  I think it’s healthy to have an intelligent discussion with someone even if it’s slightly heated, so long as you know when to laugh and let it end.  I like Frank.  Most fans do not.  I love to debate exactly why I like Frank and why I think he is a good man and I especially love to discuss this with someone who thinks Frank is only just a few steps better than Black Jack Randall.

To be clear, Discussions = Good.

What I do struggle with when I am reading other fans rants are the people who rip these poor actresses to shreds over their bodies.  Ladies, aren’t we judged physically too much  already?  Why would we ever choose words or phrasing like ‘too bony’ or ‘buck toothed’ when discussing anyone, let alone another woman?  Being judged by your body or looks hurts, regardless of whether your thin or not, and I have never met anyone who hasn’t faced it in some way.

I was in a group and someone actually said that Starz should have refrained from showing Claire without her clothes because the actress is ‘far too bony to be Claire’.  Far too bony… wow.  She said that she was ‘turned off and grossed out by the bones that stuck out’.  I know how I would feel if someone said that about me.  Would it have been as acceptable if that same person had said someone was ‘far too fat’?  Do people not realize that it’s just as terrible to ‘thin shame’ as it is to ‘fat shame’?  Or to use hurtful words about someone’s body in any context?

I know it’s easy to get caught up in people on screen as characters, but they’re not.  If the biggest complaint about Caitriona is that she’s ‘too bony’, then I’m sure she’s heard it and that is sad.

I get it.  In the books Jamie talks about Claire’s ’round arse’.  We’ve all latched onto that as one of our favorite things about the fictional relationships.  But, isn’t it possible that Jamie was mostly teasing Claire?  Husbands generally do that, as do wives. Is the size of Caitriona’s bum and boobs really that important?  Or if they put those big arse jokes in could it possibly be pulled off as  flirtatious joking, and not as a literal description?

Instead of expressing over and over what we perceive as flaws in someone else’s bodies, especially in such a mean way, let’s talk about why there was a possession rather than a changeling, or the scene in the supposedly haunted ruins.  Even better, what did you guys think about the bard’s story at the end of the episode… It was different from the books, but it was still hauntingly beautiful.  Or, how awkward it was to watch Claire massage Colum’s butt!

butt

I’d definitely love to hear your thoughts.

Till next week!

Bookmark and Share
Aug 272014
 
New Release Review: Engraved by Karina Cooper

Engraved by Karina Cooper Book #5 in The St. Croix Chronicles Genres: Steampunk Publication Date: August 11th 2014 ARC Provided by Carina Press and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Cherry St. Croix returns to the fog-ridden streets of Victorian London, where the balance of power threatens all that she loves. I will not wither without laudanum. Sober and determined, I have chosen another way—alchemy, and the pursuit of wellness it embodies. My name is Cherry St. Croix, and though freedom is finally at my fingertips, I return to the blackened streets intent on righting the wrongs I’d left behind. All is not well in London low. Caught [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 27, 2014 at 10:55 am
Aug 262014
 
Help Wanted

Real life is keeping us busy and we are presently looking for 1 or 2 more bloggers to join the Badass Book Review Team. What’s the commitment? We’re pretty easy going – Ideally, we would like 1 review or article a week. Badass Book Reviews blog reviews all sorts of books, but mostly Urban Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic, Young Adult, Romantic Suspense, Horror and the like. What’s in it for you? Some free ebooks here and there and an occasional ARC or two. Oh and you get to hang out with us via email. What are we looking for? [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 26, 2014 at 8:43 am
Aug 232014
 
New Release Review: Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead

Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead Genre: YA Urban Fantasy Publication Date: July 29, 2014 Publisher: Razerbill (Hardcover Purchased through Amazon.com) Synopsis from Goodreads: Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires.  They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.  In The Fiery Heart, Sydney risked everything to follow her gut, walking a dangerous line to keep her feelings hidden from the Alchemists. Now in the aftermath of an event that ripped their world apart, Sydney and Adrian struggle to pick up the pieces and find their [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 222014
 
Early Review: Wickedly Dangerous by Deborah Blake

Wickedly Dangerous by Deborah Blake Book #1 in Baba Yaga Genres: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Berkley and Netgalley Synopsis from Goodreads: Known as the wicked witch of Russian fairy tales, Baba Yaga is not one woman, but rather a title carried by a chosen few. They keep the balance of nature and guard the borders of our world, but don’t make the mistake of crossing one of them… Older than she looks and powerful beyond measure, Barbara Yager no longer has much in common with the mortal life she left behind long ago. Posing as an [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 22, 2014 at 10:45 am
Aug 212014
 
Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge: Paranormal - The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost

The Jumble Your Genres Reading Challenge was Paranormal for August so we decided on the new series debut from fan-favorite Jeaniene Frost! This one worked a little better for AH than it did for me, but we both plan to continue on in the series. The Beautiful Ashes by Jeaniene Frost Book #1 in Broken Destiny Genres: New Adult Paranormal Publication Date: August 26th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Harlequin HQN Synopsis from Goodreads: In a world of shadows, anything is possible. Except escaping your fate. Ever since she was a child, Ivy has been gripped by visions of strange realms just [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 21, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 202014
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 2

Outlander on Starz: Episode 2 (Aka, Episode ‘Jamie Shows All His Sexy’)   Alright, alright, let’s get serious… Episode 2, I thought, was even better than the first.  I hear others talking about ‘voice over’ but I barely noticed it in this second installment.  It wasn’t all Jamie, either.  I think a lot of it was just the pacing. In episode 1, I felt that the first half, though it was important and needed, felt like it was dragging.  As a long time fan of the book series let me say that this is actually reminiscent of the books.  When [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
Aug 192014
 
Release Day Review: Visions by Kelley Armstrong

Visions by Kelley Armstrong Book #2 in Cainsville Genres: Paranormal Mystery/Thriller Publication Date: August 19th 2014 ARC Provided by Dutton Synopsis from Goodreads: As #1 New York Times bestselling author Kelley Armstrong’s new Cainsville series continues, Olivia’s power to read omens leads to the discovery of a gruesome crime with troubling connections to her new hometown. Omens, the first installment in Kelley Armstrong’s exciting new series, introduced Olivia Taylor-Jones, daughter of notorious serial killers, and Gabriel Walsh, the self-serving, morally ambiguous lawyer who became her unlikely ally. Together, they chased down a devious killer and partially cleared her parents of their horrifying [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 19, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 182014
 
Young Adult Reviews:  Wanted: Dead or In Love and Jex Malone

YOUNG ADULT REVIEWS Today I’m reviewing two fun little young adult novels. One is a ghost story with a little twist on the Bonnie and Clyde story. The other brings back memories of staying up late at night reading Nancy Drew mysteries. New Release Review: Wanted: Dead or in Love by Kym Brunner Release date: June 30, 2014 Genre: Young Adult, Paranormal Book provided by Merit Press Synopsis from Goodreads: Impulsive high school senior Monroe Baker is on probation for a recent crime, but strives to stay out of trouble by working as a flapper at her father’s Roaring 20′s [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 18, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 152014
 
New Release Review: Upside Down by Lia Riley

Upside Down by Lia Riley Book #1 in Off the Map Genres: New Adult Contemporary Romance Publication Date: August 10th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Forever (Grand Central Publishing) Synopsis from Goodreads: If You Never Get Lost, You’ll Never Be Found… Twenty-one-year-old Natalia Stolfi is saying good-bye to the past-and turning her life upside down with a trip to the land down under. For the next six months, she’ll act like a carefree exchange student, not a girl sinking under the weight of painful memories. Everything is going according to plan until she meets a brooding surfer with hypnotic green eyes and [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 15, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 142014
 
New Release Group Review: Cursed Moon by Jaye Wells

Cursed Moon by Jaye Wells Book #2 in Prospero’s War Genres: Urban Fantasy Publication Date: August 12th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Orbit Synopsis from Goodreads: When a rare Blue Moon upsets the magical balance in the city, Detective Kate Prospero and her Magical Enforcement colleagues pitch in to help Babylon PD keep the peace. Between potions going haywire and everyone’s emotions running high, every cop in the city is on edge. But the moon’s impact is especially strong for Kate who’s wrestling with guilt over falling off the magic wagon. After a rogue wizard steals dangerous potions from the local [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 14, 2014 at 8:58 am
Aug 132014
 
Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell

Review: Landline by Rainbow Rowell *e-book purchased from Amazon* Regina’s Rating: 4.5 stars/Grade A Book Summary: Georgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems beside the point now. Maybe that was always beside the point. Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 13, 2014 at 6:00 am
Aug 122014
 
Early Review: The Sweetheart Secret by Shirley Jump

The Sweetheart Secret by Shirley Jump Book #3 in Sweetheart Sisters Genres: Contemporary Romance Publication Date: September 2nd 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Berkley Synopsis from Goodreads: The Sweetheart Sisters are ready for some good ol’ matchmaking… Colton Harper, Rescue Bay’s resident physician, gave up his wild ways years ago, in exchange for a straight and narrow life. But then a one-night stand comes back to haunt him when the intoxicating woman he left behind shows up in Rescue Bay. Once upon a time, fiery Daisy Barton was Colt’s wife—and still is, thanks to a paperwork glitch. Now she’s [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 12, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 112014
 
From Page to Screen: Outlander Episode 1

  Outlander on Starz: Episode 1     Regina: I admit to not being much of a TV watcher.  Books are my vice, when I have time away from my kids and work to do anything else.  I do watch a few shows, but mainly when I am working out.  So while I knew Outlander was being produced on Starz, I wasn’t focused on it or waiting for it.  Okay, well I have now watched the first episode twice — twice! It was amazing, perfect and well done.  The scenery is beautiful and lush; and the characters are just as Diana [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 11, 2014 at 8:00 am
Aug 082014
 
Early Review: Henna House by Nomi Eve

Early Review: Henna House by Nomi Eve Release date: August 12, 2014 Book provided by NetGalley and Scribner Genre: Historical Fiction Synopsis from Goodreads: An evocative and stirring novel about a young woman living in the fascinating and rarely portrayed community of Yemenite Jews of the mid-twentieth century, from the acclaimed author of The Family Orchard. In the tradition of Anita Diamant’s The Red Tent, Henna House is the enthralling story of a woman, her family, their community, and the rituals that bind them. Nomi Eve’s vivid saga begins in Yemen in 1920, when Adela Damari’s parents desperately seek a [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 8, 2014 at 1:39 pm
Aug 072014
 
Genre Book Showdown: The Girl From the Well vs Servants of the Storm

I’ve been looking for a spooky read lately and my perusal of Netgalley and Edelweiss turned up The Girl From the Well and Servants of the Storm.  While neither turned out to be the creeptastic read I was hoping for, I definitely preferred one book over the other.  Read on to see who won this installment of the Genre Book Showdown!   The Contenders: The Girl From the Well by Rin Chupeco Genre: Young Adult Horror Publication Date: August 5th 2014 ARC Provided by Netgalley and Sourcebooks Fire Synopsis from Goodreads: You may think me biased, being murdered myself. But my state of being [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 7, 2014 at 9:00 am
Aug 062014
 
Getting Over a Reading Slump

Since I found Goodreads in 2007, reading has become my main hobby. Over the years, I’ve discovered more and more new genres until most of my free time has been taken by reading. I read during my commute, at the gym, walking in the streets, doing chores and at night in bed. Most of the time, I’d rather stay home and read than go out with friends or do anything else. So imagine how strange it feels not to be reading any more. For the last month, I’ve barely read a word. It all started with a book hangover – [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 6, 2014 at 7:11 am
Aug 052014
 
New Release Review and Giveaway: The Truth About Leo by Katie MacAlister

New Release Review and Giveaway: The Truth About Leo by Katie MacAlister Book 4 in Noble series Release date: August 1, 2014 Genre: Historical Romance, Humor Book provided by NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca Synopsis from Goodreads: The much-anticipated, brand-new Regency romance from New York Times bestselling author Katie MacAlister. Can Dagmar flee Denmark Dagmar Marie Sophie is a poverty-stricken Danish princess whose annoying royal cousin is about to have her stuffed away in a convent. When she finds a wounded man unconscious in her garden, she sees a way out of her desperate situation. By Lying to Leo? Leopold Ernst [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 5, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 042014
 
Early Review and Giveaway: Hero of a Highland Wolf by Terry Spear

Early Review and Giveaway: Hero of a Highland Wolf by Terry Spear Book 14 of Heart of the Wolf series (may be read as a stand alone book) Release date: August 5, 2014 Genre: Paranormal Romance Book provided by: NetGalley and Sourcebooks Casablanca Synopsis: The MacQuarrie werewolf clan has overseen the Playfair family’s Ardmore Castle for three centuries. So when a Playfair granddaughter from abroad inherits the estate, clan chief Grant MacQuarrie has to train her to manage it—and he’s not happy about having her in his way. Until the prim old lady he’s expecting turns out to be a [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 4, 2014 at 7:00 am
Aug 012014
 
Spotlight on August's New Releases

Welcome to our monthly feature where we take a look at the new books releasing this month and offer up our top picks and opinions. We have chosen 30 of the most anticipated new releases. The release dates are on a best known basis and are not guaranteed. Books may get delayed or sometimes even released earlier so please check with your favorite store to ensure availability. Now, on to the books! The Truth About Leo by Katie MacAlister (#4 in Noble) - Expected publication: August 1st 2014 by Sourcebooks Casablanca A Slither of Hope by Lisa M. Basso (#2 in Angel [ Read More of this Review ]

Bookmark and Share
 Posted by on August 1, 2014 at 7:00 am